VS2020 no video preview only lines

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
shoeytennis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2020 12:34 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i9 9900k
ram: 64gb
Video Card: 5700xt

VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by shoeytennis »

https://imgur.com/a/x3CWBcZ

Here is my issue. I built a new PC and upgraded from 2018. This was my very first time trying to edit a video.
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21435
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by Ken Berry »

Welcome to the forum. However, to be able to even begin to help you, we need more information: what kind of video is in the project? Right click a clip in the Video Studio timeline and copy its Properties here. What are the Project Properties? What are you trying to produce i.e. what format and what are its Properties?
Ken Berry
shoeytennis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2020 12:34 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i9 9900k
ram: 64gb
Video Card: 5700xt

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by shoeytennis »

mpeg 4 XAVC
h264
I'm just trying to edit the video. Haven't got to the end game yet but will also be 4k. 2018 had zero issues with my formats. Corell said i need to edit all my files but that doesn't work either. No video format will work.
TonyP
Posts: 921
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:38 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabtye X570 Elite
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core 24threads
ram: 32GB 3200
Video Card: MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 27" IPS 4k, Acer 24" 1920x1080
Corel programs: VS2021, PSP2021, Aftershot 3
Location: Lublin, Poland

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by TonyP »

You are mentioning no issues with 2018, are you using the same hardware?
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by Pepi »

With AMD's GPU I'm getting following:
VS-Forum-hardware.gif
When having following selected:
VS-Forum-Hardware2.gif
When I clear that, the preview looks again normal.
--
Don't Panic
TonyP
Posts: 921
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:38 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabtye X570 Elite
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core 24threads
ram: 32GB 3200
Video Card: MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 27" IPS 4k, Acer 24" 1920x1080
Corel programs: VS2021, PSP2021, Aftershot 3
Location: Lublin, Poland

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by TonyP »

There is no AMD support in VS2020. Look at what you have in the Hardware Acceleration>Type:.... Intel Quick Sync Video is what you have selected. You would use that only if you had an Intel CPU with iGPU. I don't have Hardware Acceleration check marked at all.

See the AMD card I am using? So far, it has displayed everything that I edit. My cameras are all Panasonic that record to UDH 4K, 50/25/24P and display with no issues. Using the latest graphics drivers.
Also game footage recorded displays as it should.

@Pepi, if you could upload a short video original sample, I'd test it on my computer. You do not give any description of which AMD card you are using.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by lata »

Tony if you notice Pepi is using a sample from the video media library

I also use AMD although on board graphics
I usually deselect the acceleration options, at the moment is selected as Intel option
I do not have a problem with viewing and playing that video sample

In fact I do not believe I have ever seen that effect on my of my VS programs.
Regards Trevor
TonyP
Posts: 921
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:38 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabtye X570 Elite
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core 24threads
ram: 32GB 3200
Video Card: MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 27" IPS 4k, Acer 24" 1920x1080
Corel programs: VS2021, PSP2021, Aftershot 3
Location: Lublin, Poland

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by TonyP »

Still do not know what AMD graphics are used and if drivers have been updated, or the poster has Intel graphics.
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by Pepi »

Tony, my pictures were only examples what I get when I do select that as lata told. If shoeytennis have AMD card and that is selected, there could be similar behavior. Normally I'm running VS with both option unselected.
--
Don't Panic
TonyP
Posts: 921
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:38 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabtye X570 Elite
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core 24threads
ram: 32GB 3200
Video Card: MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 27" IPS 4k, Acer 24" 1920x1080
Corel programs: VS2021, PSP2021, Aftershot 3
Location: Lublin, Poland

Re: VS2020 no video preview only lines

Post by TonyP »

Pepi, as you can see by my computer description, I am using an AMD graphics card.
Personally, I've never had any display issues. I also do not have Hardware Acceleration check marked. All the processing is done by my CPU.

As for the other poster, there is still no additional information about which/what AMD graphics card they have and whether the drivers are up to date.
Post Reply