Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Moderator: Ken Berry

mangurian
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T
Location: Connecticut USA

Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by mangurian »

All I tried to do was trim a video (keep the first 44 seconds). I tried all sorts of settings including "use the original video."
I then went to Windows 10 free built in editor (photos) and it did a great job. I can only think I am doing something wrong and I need your help.

Here is a link to the original: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NdcfkV ... sp=sharing

Here is the nice output of Windows Photos: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1P9fgUC ... p=sharing
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21435
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by Ken Berry »

It would certainly help if you explained in more detail exactly what you tried.
Ken Berry
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by tletter »

mangurian wrote:I can only think I am doing something wrong and I need your help.
What are your files of 826MB and 383MB in size supposed to show? They don't have the same data rate, duration, frame rate or even show identical scenes. That being said, they look about the same with the major problem of both being the rapid panning which makes large parts unwatchable.
mangurian wrote:VS Pro 2020 completely failed
How exactly did VS2020 fail?

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
mangurian
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T
Location: Connecticut USA

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by mangurian »

If you read my original post, I did not post any of VS Pro's output. Each VS Pro attempt was unwatchable and filled with artifacts.
As I said, the links are to the original video and to the trimmed output of Microsoft's free Photos program. That looks fine.

For VS pro, I tried mp4, H2.64, mov, mts, avi and the input video parameters as well as some other resolutions. They are all crappy.

I have been using VS since before it was VS and I upgrade every year. I am not sure what's gone wrong.

I would just like someone to take a shot at making a good first 44 seconds and the tell me how they set it up.
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by tletter »

mangurian wrote:If you read my original post,
You seem hostile to those who try to help despite your confusing first post.

In any event, VS has no problems rendering your 'Video_6553605_DJI_5_mp4_866178882_198000_2020129132014_video_original.mp4' using the "Same as First Video Clip" option (see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fE9AeIRrE9Q). However, the rapid panning makes it generally unwatchable.

Note: The YT video will be deleted in a day.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
Last edited by tletter on Fri Dec 11, 2020 8:36 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
RobertOZ
Advisor
Posts: 2037
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:50 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION 2A86 1.04E01
processor: 2.80 gigahertz Intel Core i7 930
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 5770
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 32" IPS LED (Main) HP 23fi IPS LED
Corel programs: VSX4-X10 VS 2018/2019/2020 & MS 3D
Location: Mornington, Vic. Australia

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by RobertOZ »

Completely agree with tletter, there is no problem with rendering your videos, except too fast and too much panning, not an enjoyable viewing experience
Dell 7567,Win 10(2004) i7-7700HQ, 16GB DDR4 Ram, Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB GDDR5, drives, 1 TB SSD + 1 TB HDD, Samsung 28" 3840x2160 UHD 4K LED Monitor
PS24 Ultimate, PSP 2020, PhotoMirage, Painter 2020, VS 2018 Ult, VS2021 Ult MultiCam Capture XL
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by lata »

Using the sample video in VS 2020 did not match the video properties as there is no audio stream
I manually set the project properties to use Mpeg4 1920 x 1080 x 29.97fps x 20000kbps

Although I had no problems in rendering the sample using Share Same as First Clip playback using VS 2020 ( Full Screen) was quite disturbing seemingly showing jagged edges indicating an interlacing issue, but then the original was similar, strange as the video is progressive.
We do know that project playback is not as good as the completed rendered file.

However playback using any of my Media Players looked good as was the original, a few artifacts and a little strobing when I really concentrated.

I don’t know why my Video Studio is poor playing this video

I then tried using Smart Proxy files which DID make a difference with project playback in reducing the jagged edges / interlace effect and strobing
Definitely an improvement in project / clip playback

Panning was a little fast but as you were controlling that remotely I guess there is no slower rate
Regards Trevor
mangurian
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T
Location: Connecticut USA

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by mangurian »

I just rendered using Trevor/lata settings. Definitely inferior result when compared to W10 PHOTOS. (Look at the trees when the camera is not panning).
I bumped the data rate to 80000 and still not as good.

Can anyone use VS Pro to get a video as good as the one I posted of the first ~44 seconds ?
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by tletter »

mangurian wrote:I bumped the data rate to 80000 and still not as good.
VS can't make gold out of dross, i.e. your video clip has a bit rate of 34,982kbps (see image) so rendering at 80,000kbps isn't going to make it better.
erase.jpg
mangurian wrote:Can anyone use VS Pro to get a video as good as the one I posted of the first ~44 seconds ?
As shown to you, VS makes a video as good as your original. However, your rapid panning makes it generally unwatchable.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
mangurian
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T
Location: Connecticut USA

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by mangurian »

I wonder if someone can post this VS Pro output which is as good as the original.
Sorry, but just saying it is as good as the original doesn't cut it.
User avatar
RobertOZ
Advisor
Posts: 2037
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:50 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION 2A86 1.04E01
processor: 2.80 gigahertz Intel Core i7 930
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 5770
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 32" IPS LED (Main) HP 23fi IPS LED
Corel programs: VSX4-X10 VS 2018/2019/2020 & MS 3D
Location: Mornington, Vic. Australia

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by RobertOZ »

Members are only trying to help you, yet you insult them because they can achieve what you can not, just for your information here is a link to your video rendered in VS and as you can see it is as good as the original, will let you work out how to do it

https://www.dropbox.com/s/kj2jgonvvl32e ... p.mp4?dl=0
Dell 7567,Win 10(2004) i7-7700HQ, 16GB DDR4 Ram, Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB GDDR5, drives, 1 TB SSD + 1 TB HDD, Samsung 28" 3840x2160 UHD 4K LED Monitor
PS24 Ultimate, PSP 2020, PhotoMirage, Painter 2020, VS 2018 Ult, VS2021 Ult MultiCam Capture XL
mangurian
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T
Location: Connecticut USA

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by mangurian »

I apologize. I have tried so many combinations of rendering with no success, that I let frustration get to me.

BTW I made my first use of DaVinci Resolve (also out of frustration). A very opaque program, but it worked.
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by tletter »

Curiously, you posted files of 826MB and 383MB in size, yet posted neither the VS output file showing your "issue" nor your small VSP that would show how you're using VS.
mangurian wrote:I then went to Windows 10 free built in editor (photos) and it did a great job.
mangurian wrote:BTW I made my first use of DaVinci Resolve (also out of frustration). A very opaque program, but it worked.
There are people who occasionally flame-post here claiming that VS has failed them and trumpet how another NLE worked great. They are generally hostile and ignore the responses that they receive, whilst never explaining what they're doing or posting a file showing the "issue" which is curious to say the least.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
mangurian
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T
Location: Connecticut USA

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by mangurian »

Firstly, I have been a happy user of VS for many years. I upgrade every year. I do the same with PaintShopPro.
So........I am not flaming VS.

Here is one of my results. Not the worst.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T126EU ... sp=sharing

If someone would be kind enough to post some successfull parameters, I would be happy to try them.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Can you help? VS Pro 2020 completely failed

Post by lata »

Hi mangurian
I notice the properties of your sample to use 15000kbps this I assume is the default profile used in Share Mp4
Reducing the original data rate from 34999 Kbps will impact on quality
If you use same as first clip then the same properties will be used and should retain the original quality
Your original using these settings:-
MPEG-4 Files
24 bits, 1920 x 1080, 29.97 fps
Frame-based
H.264 High Profile Video: 34999 Kbps, 16:9

With your video inserted to the top timeline go to Share and select Same as First Clip, I think you may have missed this option.
Easily done as it is a little hidden away there

As image
Attachments
click image for larger view
click image for larger view
Regards Trevor
Post Reply