Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
DayO
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP 18E7
processor: Intel Core i5 4750 CPU 3 20 GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel HD Graphics 4600 1024 MB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3932 GB
Corel programs: Video Studio Pro X9
Location: East Coast USA

Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by DayO »

Recently I set up a new Desktop PC (See my revised Profile), running under Windows 10 Pro.

I added an HDD from the old PC that contained all my digital and video files. And re-installed VS Pro X9.

When I opened a previous VS Pro X9 video file, the program could not Re-Link the various sequences.

It seems like my new setup can't allow that, despite those HDD files showing up OK in Win 10 Pro.

Is there any way to solve this problem?
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by tletter »

DayO wrote:When I opened a previous VS Pro X9 video file, the program could not Re-Link the various sequences.
X9 will relink if 'Relink checking' is enabled and you point the Relink function to the new location of the files. As well, the 'Smart search' option will relink multiple files in the new location.

Is there an error message when you point the Relink function to the new location of the files?

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
DayO
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP 18E7
processor: Intel Core i5 4750 CPU 3 20 GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel HD Graphics 4600 1024 MB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3932 GB
Corel programs: Video Studio Pro X9
Location: East Coast USA

Re: Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by DayO »

I will enable RC to the new file locations and try that out, Thanks.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by lata »

When you installed the HHD to the new PC it would have been allocated a drive letter, you should make sure that letter is the same as the original use on the old PC.
Re-linking should work better, I would think most files would re-link automatically.
Now may be a little late in the day to do that unless you have a lot of re-linking to do.

An Auto re-link should show as soon as you open the project, finding that file will allow the Smart Re-link to work by linking other files within the same folder, if all clips are not relinked selecting another may only re-link to that particular file.
I normally open the same project again, of course save first, then if there any more relinks to do the Auto re-link will find them.

Easy to reopen the Project File – at the bottom will be your project file.

With a little thought creating Smart Packages of your projects would have been the best way to transfer those projects to the new PC.

It does seem as though you are in for a bit of work re-linking to allow you to edit your projects.
Regards Trevor
DayO
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP 18E7
processor: Intel Core i5 4750 CPU 3 20 GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel HD Graphics 4600 1024 MB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3932 GB
Corel programs: Video Studio Pro X9
Location: East Coast USA

Re: Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by DayO »

Thanks.

Foolishly, we didn't allocate the same drive letter when re-mounting that drive to the new PC.

When I opened a Project file with missing links, both Relink and Smart Search were already checked, but the missing links didn't appear.

Does look like I've got some serious manual re-linking to do.

At least the original video sequences are still intact on that HDD.
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by tletter »

DayO wrote:When I opened a Project file with missing links, both Relink and Smart Search were already checked, but the missing links didn't appear.
Because that's not the way relinking works. If you've moved the file to another storage device then you have to point relinking to the new path(s).
DayO wrote:Does look like I've got some serious manual re-linking to do.
With the 'Smart search' option enabled, manual relinking doesn't take long unless your source files are scattered files across the storage device.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by lata »

If you have a lot of re-linking to do then i dont see any problems in changing the Drive letter now
Assuming the old letter is not being used by another drive and was not the C Drive.

Once you have changed the letter to the original most files should re-link, of course any files you have already relinked will need redoing.

So it really depends on how many files need relinking

When you select a clip and see the re-link panel, take note of the Original File location
You must re-link to that file, if it is an image then it is possible to select the wrong file and that will mess up the project
Same for Video although the length does come into affect, even so we can select the wrong file.
Regards Trevor
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by tletter »

lata wrote:You must re-link to that file, if it is an image then it is possible to select the wrong file and that will mess up the project
Make a copy of your VSP before relinking.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
DayO
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP 18E7
processor: Intel Core i5 4750 CPU 3 20 GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel HD Graphics 4600 1024 MB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3932 GB
Corel programs: Video Studio Pro X9
Location: East Coast USA

Re: Re-Linking Not Functioning in New PC Setup

Post by DayO »

I'll give due consideration to changing back the drive letter.

But I do have some recently-installed programs on that drive, too.
Post Reply