Sputtering Audio

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
User avatar
kdog509adam75+
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:06 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gateway H57M01
processor: 2_93 gigahertz Intel Core I3 530
ram: 6072 Megab
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2500 Gi
Monitor/Display Make & Model: VIZ E280-B1 [Monitor] (27.7"vis)
Corel programs: PSP 7.04, PSP 2021, VS PRO X4, VS 2020
Location: Ritzville, WA

Sputtering Audio

Post by kdog509adam75+ »

When I edit video in Video Studio Pro 2020, the audio stutters terribly. I'll open a video and select Multi Trim. I'll mark the cut in point where I want the edited video to begin. Then hit play to run the video to the point I want to mark the cut out. During that time, while the video is playing the audio sputter or stutters, hard to explain it any other way. Is that normal?? Seems to me it's not, but......When video is played normally, the audio is fine as is the edited video clip after I'm done trimming. It's only during the actual trimming process that the audio goes a little catty wonkers.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12731
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Sputtering Audio

Post by lata »

If you are using Smart Proxy files then it does appear that those are not applied to clips when using MultiTrim
Several posts refer ---- this one shows a response from Corel Support
https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?p ... #p379290is

You do not say what type of video you are using nor if you are using Smart proxy
Regards Trevor
User avatar
kdog509adam75+
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:06 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gateway H57M01
processor: 2_93 gigahertz Intel Core I3 530
ram: 6072 Megab
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2500 Gi
Monitor/Display Make & Model: VIZ E280-B1 [Monitor] (27.7"vis)
Corel programs: PSP 7.04, PSP 2021, VS PRO X4, VS 2020
Location: Ritzville, WA

Re: Sputtering Audio

Post by kdog509adam75+ »

I'm just editing GoPro video from some of my motorcycle rides. I'm not sure what Smart Proxy is.
User avatar
kdog509adam75+
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:06 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gateway H57M01
processor: 2_93 gigahertz Intel Core I3 530
ram: 6072 Megab
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2500 Gi
Monitor/Display Make & Model: VIZ E280-B1 [Monitor] (27.7"vis)
Corel programs: PSP 7.04, PSP 2021, VS PRO X4, VS 2020
Location: Ritzville, WA

Re: Sputtering Audio

Post by kdog509adam75+ »

OK, I found Smart Proxy in my settings and turned it on, but it didn't make any difference.
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

Re: Sputtering Audio

Post by Pepi »

Could it be so that the audio codec on the video is something not so standard? GoPro is still quite big vendor that very much unlikely so. Have you tested with other formats on GoPro or a shorten videos? If you made own video with sound, can get the same problem when you try to trim that then?

What are your video's properties:
VS-Forum-VideoFormat.gif
VS-Forum-VideoFormat.gif (8.87 KiB) Viewed 381 times
(Right click clip on the video track and select properties)

Have you monitored your CPU usage while sound is breaking, is that higher than normal?
--
Don't Panic
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12731
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Sputtering Audio

Post by lata »

kdog509adam75+ wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 3:54 am
OK, I found Smart Proxy in my settings and turned it on, but it didn't make any difference.
Just turning on Smart Proxy is not enough, Smart Proxy files have to be created
First view Preferences (F6) – Performance tab, tick enable Smart Proxy
I allocate a folder on my D Drive to hold the proxy files, keeping my C drive clean. your choice

Back to the time adding any HD video will start the proxy process, Settings Smart Proxy Manager – Queue Manager will show the progress, once complete the clip will show a small icon as attached image
If the clips are already on the timelines then we have to manually create the proxy file, right click the clip for Create Proxy files, can be done from the library clip.
They do take a while to create but once done should improve timeline playback.
click image for larger view
click image for larger view
Regards Trevor
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21458
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Sputtering Audio

Post by Ken Berry »

Pepi wrote:Could it be so that the audio codec on the video is something not so standard? GoPro is still quite big vendor that very much unlikely so. Have you tested with other formats on GoPro or a shorten videos?
Just for the record, the GoPro -- at least the latest Hero 9 Black and other recent versions of the camera -- use MPEG AAC audio which is of course quite standard. I just bought a Hero 9 Black last week, so could check that quickly.
Ken Berry
User avatar
kdog509adam75+
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:06 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gateway H57M01
processor: 2_93 gigahertz Intel Core I3 530
ram: 6072 Megab
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2500 Gi
Monitor/Display Make & Model: VIZ E280-B1 [Monitor] (27.7"vis)
Corel programs: PSP 7.04, PSP 2021, VS PRO X4, VS 2020
Location: Ritzville, WA

Re: Sputtering Audio

Post by kdog509adam75+ »

OK guys, got it working fine now. Thanks for all the help, you all rock.
gewb
Posts: 367
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:29 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI X470 Gaming Plus
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
ram: 16GB
Video Card: AMD R9-270
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 24MK430
Corel programs: 2018, 2020 & 2021 Ult.
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Sputtering Audio

Post by gewb »

Can you please post what you found and how you solved your problem? It would help others in the future.
Post Reply