[VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

[VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by Pepi »

Hi,
I have asked help from support, but I like to know if others are facing the same issue:

1. Start VideoStudio
2. Open your task manager and on details tab scroll to VStudio.exe. At least when I'm starting it, it takes about 250MB. But that is not important.
3. On VS drag e.g. an image to the Video Track and start Mask Creator:
VS-Mask Creator.png
4. Select a mask brush and start drawing, just randomly.
5. Go to the task manager, how is the memory usage for VStudio.exe? After below drawings my VStudio is using 1GB
VS-MaskBrushAndRAM.jpg
When I continue drawing, soon it is using 10GB, 20GB, and finally the irresistible: VS is crashing. Especially if you are working with a bit longer mask case. When monitoring what is happening to the mask files itself, it looks that they are storing all drawings into memory and applying changes into mask files when accepting the changes by OK. If VS is crashing before [Ok], you are of course losing all changes. At first I thought this was so, what ever you draw each and every line/shape generate new image into RAM. And then you can do "undo" for all you have done. But "undo" seems to work nine steps back.

Even you stop mask creator, that is not releasing the RAM. Only option is to exit from VS and then start it again.

For me this is quite clear memory leak in there. If this is happening for others, I wish I get their attention to this.

And VS version is: 23.3.0.646
--
Don't Panic
asik1
Posts: 3133
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:07 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: H170M-E D3
processor: i5-6600
ram: 8gb
Video Card: GTX1050
Hard_Drive_Capacity: No hoarder
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 19" + samsung 19"
Corel programs: VS-X9.2
Location: Israel

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by asik1 »

Yes, you got a point.
I didn't went as high as 20G (I only have 8..) but I saw the ram increase.
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by Pepi »

Cool ! Thanks Asik1!
--
Don't Panic
pogonips
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 9:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Lenovo Legion Y740-17IRHg
processor: Intel Core i7-9750H 2_60GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GEFORCE RTX
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1_5 TB
Corel programs: Corel VideoStudio 2020 Ultimate

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by pogonips »

When I tried to use the "Mask Creator" function I got frequent 'silent crashes' too. I just stopped trying to use it.
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by Pepi »

@pogonips
In which phase it is crashing? Does it crash if you try with image file on video track at first? Or try with sample files at first, those which duration is around 10s.

Please, be aware, I open a change request to the Mask Creator, and you might be hit by that issue. When you click the mask creator it will start creating mask files for every frames you have on your clip. In my case, when I have 1s clip with 100fps, that generate 100 mask files. But if you clip is e.g. 30 min, that means pretty many files to be generated. So the "silent crash" could mean you have not waiting long enough. Try to see disk activity on task manager. The change I asked Corel to do was: if the video file is 60s with 100fps, but on video track I have only 1s clip from it. Still the mask creator generates 60s x 100frames/s = 6000 mask files. So the Mask Creator should generate the mask files only for the clip, not for the full video.
--
Don't Panic
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by lata »

Inserted image at 8 seconds
Following your instructions I repeated 5 times each time the mask was placed on the overlay tracks
After 5 attempts the memory had reached 2 Gb
No crashes

I am not experiencing the 20Gb level nor having any crashes.

From the overlay tracks selecting each in turn I can see the mask added to the Blending Matte Modes – Mask Frames
Closing the project did not reset the 2 Gb level which I found unusual?
I rebooted the program to test again using the Sample Lake video, (15 seconds) created 5 masks

Same results as above


By the way the actual png mask images are saved here
C:\Users\UserName\Documents\Corel VideoStudio Pro\23.0\Mask
Regards Trevor
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by Pepi »

@lata
You did not see the memory leak, even your memory usage reached 2GB from less than 400MB? My example was not causing a VS crash on your site, just ask if you can see the same memory increase. The crash is coming when you start doing a real work, You draw long brush lines, have lot of frames to be modified etc.. E.g. in my case 50 - 100 frames.
--
Don't Panic
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by tletter »

Pepi wrote:For me this is quite clear memory leak in there.
The 3D Title Editor also behaves the same way, i.e. it'll consume all available RAM and then frequently crash even though the VSP duration is only 7 seconds (see https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=65935)! As well the size of a VSP is enormous running up to a 1/2 GB for just 7 secs.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by lata »

Pepi wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 7:56 pm
@lata
You did not see the memory leak, even your memory usage reached 2GB from less than 400MB? My example was not causing a VS crash on your site, just ask if you can see the same memory increase. The crash is coming when you start doing a real work, You draw long brush lines, have lot of frames to be modified etc.. E.g. in my case 50 - 100 frames.
I do not know what else I can do, I thought I was replicating the process
When I create a mask to a jpeg image, contains multiple brush strokes to practically fill the screen, a single png is saved to the mask folder approx. 40 to 50kb
Yes the memory rises when I create the mask, repeat the process 5 times and it reaches 2Gb, but no crashes
If I use the Sample_lake.mp4, that is 15 seconds at 30fps having 450 frames
Applying the mask creates 450 png images again each at 40kb +
I repeat that process 5 times and end up with 5 folders each containing 450 images, again the memory rises to 2 Gb
So far my tests have created over 4000 png images

No crashes

Using a video 10 seconds, I have used the detect movement to all frames but still no apparent issues, Memory rose to 1.2Gb but if I do not see a crash I am not going to view the Task Manager
I do not know what I need to do to get the memory to use 20Gb
typical mask
typical mask
Regards Trevor
Pepi
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2013 10:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS TUF Z270 MARK 1
processor: Intel i7-7700K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2020; PaintShopPro 2019

Re: [VS2020] Do you have memory leak as well?

Post by Pepi »

Hi lata,
Oh, that is super interesting that you did not see more than 2 GB. This is how does it look for me:
VS-MaskCreator.jpg
I made a small adjustments to frames from start to around 50 frames and as you can see VS is using 9 GB. I have 32GB RAM so when doing more sharpen modification to masks (brush and rubber), the memory usage goes to sky.

But I tried the ways how you do did, and actually that works like you said, I manage to keep it less than 2 GB. I believe the differences with you I had the individual frame modification:
VS-MaskCreator Steps.png
I do modification per frame, as the indicator shows. Then "next frame", modification, next frame etc.

Once more I most likely explained this incorrectly, so you did modification to frame and then press ok to apply changes and NOT step to next frame to do more changes. In your case VS was able to keep memory usage low.
--
Don't Panic
Post Reply