Rendering only using part of CPU

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
sclg
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:18 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus mobo
processor: Intel i5
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Om mobo
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Lots
Corel programs: VideoStudio Ultimate 2020

Rendering only using part of CPU

Post by sclg »

Just started with VS and I notice when rendering that it's only using a bit less than 25% CPU.
My previous editor (and Handbrake) utilise nearly 100% when rendering.
Is there some setting I haven't found to make it use more of the CPU and thus go a bit faster?
Thanks
Steve
cybernick
Posts: 180
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 7:44 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Video Card: GTX 1060
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB nvme
Corel programs: Video Studio 2020&2021 Ultimate

Re: Rendering only using part of CPU

Post by cybernick »

It depends of the codec and/or source file you are using. For example for WMV output GPU almost never used.
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Rendering only using part of CPU

Post by tletter »

sclg wrote:Just started with VS and I notice when rendering that it's only using a bit less than 25% CPU.
VS isn't able to fully leverage available hardware as you've seen. You could try playing with VS's hardware performance setting, e.g. hardware acceleration or running VS at the Realtime priority level, although these can result in VS crashing.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
sclg
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:18 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus mobo
processor: Intel i5
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Om mobo
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Lots
Corel programs: VideoStudio Ultimate 2020

Re: Rendering only using part of CPU

Post by sclg »

tletter wrote:
Wed Nov 25, 2020 6:20 pm
sclg wrote:Just started with VS and I notice when rendering that it's only using a bit less than 25% CPU.
VS isn't able to fully leverage available hardware as you've seen. You could try playing with VS's hardware performance setting, e.g. hardware acceleration or running VS at the Realtime priority level, although these can result in VS crashing.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
Thanks.
As it already occasionally crashes, I think I'll leave it alone!!
User avatar
jparnold
Advisor
Posts: 991
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:45 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 UD
processor: Intel Pentium i7-9700 3.6Ghz
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Gigabyte RTX2060 OC 6GB
sound_card: Onboard Realtec ALC887
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2048Gb mix
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung S27C450B
Corel programs: Videostudio X10, Paint Shop Pro X8
Location: Blue Mountains, NSW, Australia

Re: Rendering only using part of CPU

Post by jparnold »

Not sure if unlocking all CPU cores would have an effect but have a look at the following -
https://www.techjunkie.com/enable-all-cores-windows/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X8SrbRQpiXA
John a
VS X10 Ultimate, Paint Shop Pro X8, Audacity, Panasonic HC-X920M, Nikon Coolpix S8100
sclg
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:18 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus mobo
processor: Intel i5
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Om mobo
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Lots
Corel programs: VideoStudio Ultimate 2020

Re: Rendering only using part of CPU

Post by sclg »

jparnold wrote:
Thu Nov 26, 2020 8:40 am
Not sure if unlocking all CPU cores would have an effect but have a look at the following -
https://www.techjunkie.com/enable-all-cores-windows/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X8SrbRQpiXA
They seem to be all enabled already. As I mentioned, Handbrake will happily register over 90% on the CPU meter!
tletter
Posts: 909
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Rendering only using part of CPU

Post by tletter »

jparnold wrote:Not sure if unlocking all CPU cores would have an effect
A red herring to be sure.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
Post Reply