Encountered an Improper Argument - VS Ultimate X 20

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
AlexKrycek
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:20 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC P8P67 Rev 3xx
processor: 3-40 gigahertz Intel Core i7 2600K
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Asus Ceberus GTX1050 Ti
sound_card: Digital Audio SPDIF High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Hanns.G HH251D
Location: Sheffield, England, UK

Encountered an Improper Argument - VS Ultimate X 20

Post by AlexKrycek »

Hi. The other day I was editing a video and I kept getting this error message - Encountered an Improper Argument. As soon as it appeared, there was no way (I thought) to save the project. I tried re installing the program by first of all repairing the program, and then a re install by uninstalling. Neither worked.

As it happens I was then trying to put my PC back to a previous state - and it crashed! Ended up doing a brand new install of Windows 10 - and then loading VS Ultimate X 20 from scratch. The error came back! - as I was in the Sound Mixer. When I turned the sound mixer off, the error message went? My drivers for my video card and bang up to date - as is the whole PC as I have done a fresh install after formatting the drive.

I was wondering what might be the issue and has anyone else had this problem?
"The Truth is Out There!"
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21435
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Encountered an Improper Argument - VS Ultimate X 20

Post by Ken Berry »

I'm wondering what your audio format might have been because Corel for some reason known only to themselves have dropped support for Dolby 5.1 audio in Windows 10. They still support Dolby dual channel stereo, however. So an "improper argument" could have been Dolby 5.1...
Ken Berry
dawad
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2020 11:57 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7 10750h
ram: 16gb
Video Card: gtx 1660ti
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1tb ssd
Corel programs: videostudio 2019 2020

Re: Encountered an Improper Argument - VS Ultimate X 20

Post by dawad »

i get that message when ripple editing and sometimes have to deselect the other tracks before cutting and it still cuts all the tracks
strange!
david
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Encountered an Improper Argument - VS Ultimate X 20

Post by lata »

Encountered an Improper Argument has raised its head over the years with different versions of Video Studio
Unfortunately the error description does not help in identifying the problem.
In many cases it is impossible to replicate, but where we can we should give explicit details of what we are doing, the files used and the order we navigate or edit the project, mouse clicks etc.
if we can replicate the error then Corel should be able to do the same with a better possibility of fixing.
Regards Trevor
sclg
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2020 11:18 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus mobo
processor: Intel i5
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Om mobo
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Lots
Corel programs: VideoStudio Ultimate 2020

Re: Encountered an Improper Argument - VS Ultimate X 20

Post by sclg »

I get the same thing when I try and split a particular clip. Eventually had to delete the clip and reimport it from the source.

I only bought VS 3 days ago and although it's fairly easy to use, it's crashed on me three times already :-(
Steve
AlexKrycek
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 11:20 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC P8P67 Rev 3xx
processor: 3-40 gigahertz Intel Core i7 2600K
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Asus Ceberus GTX1050 Ti
sound_card: Digital Audio SPDIF High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Hanns.G HH251D
Location: Sheffield, England, UK

Re: Encountered an Improper Argument - VS Ultimate X 20

Post by AlexKrycek »

Hi Trevor

Apologies for my lack of detail. I am quite a novice!

Today I can confirm I was in the music manager working with MP3's - and the error message has appeared multiple times. I am simply fading in fading out, and adjusting my music to fit the video. If I turn off the music manager, then at least I can save the project.

Project is a Blu Ray.
"The Truth is Out There!"
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12688
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Encountered an Improper Argument - VS Ultimate X 20

Post by lata »

Hi Alex
It is quite difficult in finding the reason for this error and when we do it’s a matter of avoiding or changing the way we edit.
OK
MP3 audio can use a Lame Codec, that has caused problems when using some MP3 audio, the solution is to convert the audio to Wav to see if those files cause the crash.
If as you describe you need to view the wave form then you have to use the Sound Mixer to show that.
So converting your files should be your first option.

There are of course other ways to adjust the volume levels of our clips without using the Sound Mixer ( I assume that is what you are referring to as Sound Manager)
From the timelines if you double click any Video or Audio file it will open the Options Panels, to the top left I see a volume option as 100%, adjusting this will change the clips volume, there is also an option to apply a Fade-In / Fade – Out.
If you wish to change the levels of part of the clip simply use the scissors / split Clip (keyboard S) to isolate a section.
There is also an option by right clicking a clip for “Adjust Volume”
If editing on the main timelines does not show the error, at least an improvement.

Of course I have tried to replicate the error using the Sound Mixer but so far works ok for me.
Again try converting the MP3 to Wav to see if that helps.
Regards Trevor
Post Reply