Page 1 of 1

Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 3:14 am
by OBB
So what's up with screencap from X8 & X9 suddenly...

Have been trying capture some of my own graphics today on both of my W10 machines and when I start it, it will get to the countdown & then it just shuts off & makes no file...

What I'm capturing are all my own files. Hand drawn from from the ground up... Starting from Painter-15, then manipulated in coreldraw X8 (frame by frame) & then pasting each frame into corel-photo-paint X8 and then exported as an animated .gif & then played back through WMP or WPV ...And ... nothing ... load screencap, fit to frame, I get the normal 3,2,1 countdown & then screencap simply shuts off... no warning, no error... I have been doing this without issue for years...

What's the heck is going on here....

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here

Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 5:30 am
by canuck
W10 updates? Other video programs updated?

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 3:53 pm
by OBB
Both machines did get an update about a week ago, and on the X8 machine I also added an Elgato Capture device that I used to transfer about 40-50 old 8mm & VHS tapes I've had laying around for years so I could throw them away of which were all saved to my NAS device (of which both machines do share my network)...

And while the capturing from the Elgato device was finished on the X8 machine, at the same time I was still working & capturing via screencap on the X9 machine simultaneously and had no issue doing both at the same time... ...I had a few other jobs (non-video related) that I needed to finish and then after those were finished, I went back to my current project & went to finish capturing the animated gifs yesterday and that's when the problem started...

The first thing I tried was uninstalling & then re-installing X9 on the main machine (as I have done in the past many times when minor quirks show up & usually works) but, after re-install the problem still exists...

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 4:09 pm
by lata
My PC received an update over the past few days, now fully up to date

I tested LSC X10 version which should be identical to X8 and X9 and no problems with LSC

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Sat Sep 12, 2020 7:36 pm
by OBB
Ugh... I hate when this happens, really... Yes I show a W10 update was done on (both) 9/5 but this issue just started yesterday as I was working with the graphic & screencap after & until yesterday morning...

Went thru basically this exact same scenario when my Logitech 920-Pro cam would crash 8 & 9 on open to do live captures with...

For that I did everything under the sun & had no positive result & then without explanation it suddenly worked 5 days later like nothing was ever wrong (which I checked that and that is still working fine on both 8 & 9)... Maybe with a little luck, I'll have the same luck (fingers crossed)...



Side question (as I sort the above issue: How is the new VS2020-U... I'm thinking about it but, all I seem to read is mostly negative... anyone have some real world opinions here?

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:29 am
by Davidk
I use the "standalone" version of screencap, which is called LSC in X10: only difference is that the X10 version is integrated, uses the X10 files, whereas the standalone version is just that - same files, but not integrated. (how it came to be - long story, won't bore you with it). Right now, there isn't a VS version on my win10 desktop, which is at v2004 and fully patched as of last wednesday. So, ran the installed screencap program and captured a mask tutorial for VS2020 from the youtube VS channel. The capture worked fine. But because it produces a .wmv file, it won't play using the installed win10 media player (every other sort of video file format -mp4, mod- will play, as do audio formats like mp3, wav, wma, mid, but wmv? any file of that format - nope). However, that captured wmv file plays fine using the VLC player, and it imports into an alternative video editor and plays fine.

So, since your issues seem to be with the integrated version of screencap (note that before 2019 there was one such version for every release of VS), give the VS version it's integrated with a workout to establish if you can just which version is causing problems and what else in that version may have stopped working.

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 9:05 am
by lata
Hi
I do not believe the stand alone version and the Video Studio versions of LSC are any different
The only way the LSC is integrated as such is that it is installed when installing Video Studio
The LSC can then run without having video studio running, same as a stand alone.
And now miraculously OBB has the LSC working, strange things computers

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 4:28 pm
by OBB
It's only happening here with the stand alone version of screencap... it'll open normally, choose the target and/or resize the bounding box to match whatever but, once I hit record I get the normal 3,2,1 countdown & then poof, screencap simply disappears & closes and captures nothing...

It's just got me scratching my head again as usual... And yeah, confounded computers...

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Sun Sep 13, 2020 5:50 pm
by lata
Hi OBB

I have tested both stand alone and the programs version of LSC and both seem to do the same thing.

Although I do have a problem………….

If I am recording the Video Studio program I would set the LSC screen to 1280 x 720 a standard video size
Then resize Video Studio to fit the selection
I see the selection as a blue-ish line around the perimeter
Now when I press record that selection disappears and that may be interpreted that the capture has failed.
When I finally hit F10 to stop recording then the lines appear again.

I always get a file saved to the selected folder, in fact Windows Explorer pops up showing the file and save location.

If I select a random area when pressing record the selection disappears making it difficult to use.
Of course recording a full screen does not really need the blue line selection.

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 1:56 am
by Davidk
This post is really to clarify what I meant "integrated with VS"
I once tried to create screencap as an separate/individual app, just using the VS installation files. By copying the VSS file (cited by the LSC shortcut) to a working location (not in the VS folder path), executing it, and when it stopped citing a cannot find file, locating that file in the VS folder, copying it to the work location, and repeating. After about 7 cycles of this it just jammed up: hung, no message, and no LSC window on screen either, needed task manager to kill it - and I infer that was when a non-VS file eg a redistributable was called. So yes, the integrated screencap works even when VS is not running, but a non-integrated version - as I now use - works when VS is not even installed.

And I still think LSC is an under-rated gem, despite MCCL and an alternative screen recorder. I use it whenever I need it.

And on a passing note, the notify messages are indeed working again, after 10 weeks. My first indication was the sudden absence of the red warning note at the top of the forums main page, and then saw several similar comments from other users. I bet the admins had a glass or 2 when that feature restoration occurred.

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:55 am
by Ken Berry
Davidk wrote:I bet the admins had a glass or 2 when that feature restoration occurred.
It's only been a couple of days. Happened Saturday night our time David, with a full update of the phpBB. But yes, you might say we are happy!! :mrgreen: :lol:

Re: Screencap using X8 & X9 ... Is there a sudden issue here ???

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 3:40 pm
by OBB
And low & behold, Screencap (stand-alone) works as it should this morning...

Somethines I hate technology... But on the other hand it still beats pencil, paper & stamps . . .

:lol: