Page 1 of 1

AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 3:12 am
by alanball
Hi, Im just looking at up - grading to a new computer. My existing computer has 16gb, would I gain much of a speed change if I had 32gb on my new computer?
Can VS access that memory?
Thanks.

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:38 am
by asik1
for 4K maybe.....
for HD hardly.

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:51 am
by alanball
Thanks very much asik1 for your comment. I don't think I will be getting into 4K.

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Thu Jul 02, 2020 6:17 pm
by tletter
alanball wrote:My existing computer has 16gb, would I gain much of a speed change if I had 32gb on my new computer?
You won't gain any speed of VS rendering as that is almost totally dependent on your CPU. What 32GB will give you is the ability to comfortably concurrently run memory-hog programs along with VS, e.g. Chrome.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 2:52 am
by alanball
Thanks tletter, yes I often have chrome and MS word open as I'm shocking at getting spelling mistakes which my wife always picks up of course. :D

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 6:18 am
by tletter
alanball wrote:looking at up - grading to a new computer.
Rather than a HDD, you should definitely get a SSD and ideally a NVMe SSD rather than a SATA SSD. As well, you ought to look in the AMD Ryzen 3000 series of CPUs as currently they tend to offer the best bang for buck.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 10:18 pm
by alanball
Thanks tletter for your suggestions. I will look into those as I'm not the best at being update on computer components. I've used computers since the mid 80's but always on the outside of the box. :D

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2020 12:20 am
by pepegota
If you want a good system and a good price try: https://www.avadirect.com
Excellent customer service and a tremendous selection of components-build your own. They will give you guidance if requested. I just purchased an I9 system from them and it's better than Dell. They now have Intel i10 systems and the best AMD Ryzen systems also.

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2020 1:02 am
by Ken Berry
Unfortunately Avadirect are apparently in the US and Alan lives in New Zealand. Even if they ship internationally, I've found that transport costs from the US tend to make purchases prohibitive...

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:27 pm
by alanball
Thanks pepegota, as Ken says I'm in NZ where we don't have as many options on availability and even less due to Covid19.
Ken, I'm not getting notifications, is there still a problem?
Thanks

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2020 11:58 pm
by Ken Berry
Yes, total meltdown of the system, and Corel are simply not replying to the pleas for help which we've been sending for a week or more! At least they're not just telling us to reinstall!! :roll: :cry:

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 6:47 am
by asik1
Ken Berry wrote:Yes, total meltdown of the system, and Corel are simply not replying to the pleas for help which we've been sending for a week or more! At least they're not just telling us to reinstall!! :roll: :cry:
For the forum interest I see this "non notification" issue as a bonus.
It will enforce the members to visit more often and not just when a reply will pop.

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 3:38 pm
by excalibur1814
You will see absolutely zero improvement with 32Gb ram. You'll see next to no difference moving from a single SSD to a fancy Raid 0 setup. You'll see nearly no difference, when working, between a Surface Pro 7 vs a hefty 9700k cpu.

I've tried all of the above, as it's what I like to do, with next to no differences. You'll still need to enable proxy editing and the program will still crash in the exact same places. can't wait for 2021!

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2020 2:05 am
by tletter
excalibur1814 wrote:You will see absolutely zero improvement with 32Gb ram.
As explained, what 32GB will give you is the ability to comfortably concurrently run memory-hog programs along with VS, e.g. Chrome.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter

Re: AdvIce on amount of computer memory

Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:28 am
by excalibur1814
tletter wrote:
excalibur1814 wrote:You will see absolutely zero improvement with 32Gb ram.
As explained, what 32GB will give you is the ability to comfortably concurrently run memory-hog programs along with VS, e.g. Chrome.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
Cool, Thanks for explaining what you'd explained previously. :)