smartsound and sonicfire??

smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby Davidk » Mon Jun 22, 2020 7:41 am

Cleaning up my PC, I've noted software in the Programs and Features page, and also program files (x86), for Smartsound Common and Smartsound Sonicfire pro 6.0 dating from may 2017. I cannot recall ever even trialling such software. An independent execution reveals an insistence on a license key. A google search shows associations with Boris Fx, which puts it squarely in the plug-ins for Video Studio camp, and the date puts it right in the installation time zone for X10. A look at the downloadables for x10 show Boris plugins for title studio and graffiti. Yet I cannot find any reference to any Boris fx items in the program, let alone smartsound.

Can anyone explain just what this smartsound stuff actually is, and is it still required for Video studio X10, or later???
User avatar
Davidk
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte H97M-D3H
processor: Intel core i3 3.7ghz dual core processor
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: on-motherboard Intel HD 4400 graphics chipset
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.8Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP E240c video conferencing monitor
Corel programs: VideoStudio X9,X10,2018,2019,2020

Re: smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby lata » Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:30 am

Hi David
Smart Sound in earlier versions was used via the program Auto Music option, Smart Sound was dropped after X7.
Lots of cries of disbelief that Corel could drop this option especially as many had purchased their own Smart Sound files

For Corel Video Studio Smart Sound was replaced by Score Fitter Music.

There were so many complaints that Corel provided Sonic Fire which does Support SmartSound Files.

Sonic Fire is a stand alone program so was not connected to the timelines, but at least we can use the program to create an audio file to any fixed length.
As Sonic Fire supports Smart Sound so we can now use our own Smart Sound files, and indeed Smart Sound files from earlier VS installations.
The only issue, the files are of a set length and cannot be resized on the timelines.

X10 was the only version to provide Sonic Fire
X10 installation files ------ \Common\SmartSound
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVS7, 9, 10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D

Re: smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby Ken Berry » Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:24 am

I actually bought Sonic Fire 6 (and predecessor versions) several years ago, before a version of it appeared in X10. SF6.4 appears to still be the active version, and I still have it on my main computer. I am also one of the lucky ones since about 12 or 13 years ago I bought a large library (100+) of SmartSound discs being sold by one of my local TV stations in Canberra. They came pretty cheap compared to the horrendous price SmartSound usually charges per song, let alone disc. So it remains a valuable commodity for me. But it is only useful if you have a fairly substantial library of SmartSound discs...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 21177
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby Davidk » Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:01 am

I recall the fuss re scorefitter . . .
But if sonicfire is supplied with VS and available to use but not linked in the program, it should be separately executable. So why the license key screen??(Screenshot).
sonic fire6.jpg
User avatar
Davidk
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte H97M-D3H
processor: Intel core i3 3.7ghz dual core processor
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: on-motherboard Intel HD 4400 graphics chipset
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.8Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP E240c video conferencing monitor
Corel programs: VideoStudio X9,X10,2018,2019,2020

Re: smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby RobertOZ » Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:06 am

David, when Sonicfire Pro 6 was included with VS, it was only a full version for a very limited time, then reverted to a trial version with many features then disabled

I use Sonicfire Pro6 and SmartSound regularly, I do own the full version and about 150 SmartSound tracks
Dell Inspiron 7567,Win 10(1903) Intel Kaby-Lake i7-7700HQ, 16GB DDR4 Ram, Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB GDDR5,dual drives, 1 TB SSD + 1 TB HDD, Samsung 28" 3840x2160 UHD 4K LED Monitor
PS23 Ultimate, PSP 2020, PhotoMirage, Painter 2019, VS 2020 Ult
User avatar
RobertOZ
Advisor
 
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:50 am
Location: Mornington, Vic. Australia
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION 2A86 1.04E01
processor: 2.80 gigahertz Intel Core i7 930
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 5770
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 32" IPS LED (Main) HP 23fi IPS LED
Corel programs: VSX4-X10 VS 2018/2019/2020 & MS 3D

Re: smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby lata » Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:49 am

Sonic fire is a stand alone program and runs from the windows Start list - Smart Sound - sonic fire.

I have had that version installed for as long as i can remember, yes it is running as a trial but the trial does not have a time limit, it has always been available for me to use.

All plugins / programs that Video Studio provide are a cut down versions, I don't think they have ever provided a full version.

Post updated

David
Its been a long time since I first used / installed Sonic Fire
But I did have a existing Smart Sound account created after purchasing some audio files
I have just accessed my Smart Sound account -- which incredibly is still active.
There is a link to My Software where I see “Sonic Fire Pro 6 Free” listed including a serial number, clearly i have registered this free version at some time in the past.

If you wish to use Sonic Fire I would suggest trying to create an account from the Sonic Fire programs Evaluation panel.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVS7, 9, 10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D

Re: smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby Ken Berry » Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:38 am

And just to be clear, I actually bought Sonic Fire 5 and then 6 (and probably 4 too before those). Moreover, bought 6 before it became free in its Lite form some time ago. Thus I have a separate SN for it, and the full version rather than the cut-down version the originally full version reverted to. Mind you, I think the Lite version is still probably more than enough for good usage within VS...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 21177
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby Davidk » Tue Jun 23, 2020 11:46 am

It was more of a case of what is this? than a desire to use it.
And since trevor's advice was that it was superseded after X7, I thought, I can delete this as - in the cleanup - I'm only interested in X10 and 2020. So I un-installed it: in P&F, deleted in explorer and cleaned up using cclean.

So, when I next installed X10, there it was, back again.
User avatar
Davidk
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte H97M-D3H
processor: Intel core i3 3.7ghz dual core processor
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: on-motherboard Intel HD 4400 graphics chipset
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.8Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP E240c video conferencing monitor
Corel programs: VideoStudio X9,X10,2018,2019,2020

Re: smartsound and sonicfire??

Postby lata » Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:44 pm

Davidk wrote:So, when I next installed X10, there it was, back again.


Yes the program is part if the X10 installation files.
As mentioned it is a stand alone version so not associated with the X10 program other than a check for eligiblity provng you own X10
If that makes sense
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVS7, 9, 10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests

cron