Page 2 of 2

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 11:12 am
by Bolosun
Thanks for trying. Need to figure out how to reinstall Mercalli

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 12:21 pm
by lata
Make sure your Project Properties match your video files properties as far as Frame Size and Frame Rate
When you choose a render profile use one that has the same frame rate
If the project is using 50i aka 25fps and you render to 50P (Progressive) then will probably cause this problem.

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:00 pm
by Bolosun
Did you check it just using the preview or an external p0layer, like VLC? In the preview mine looks fine, but when I play it through VLC, Windows Media Player, then I get the problem.

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:08 pm
by Bolosun
Thanks for the pointer, reset the project properties to match the AVC render, which forced the FX to ask to re-analyze and all is good :)

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:15 am
by SeanK
Hi
I had the same problem with VS-Ultimate-2020. My source files are 1920x1080x60fps and I usually render to MPEG-4 (1920x1080, 30fps) but when I do, the Mercalli Analyze banner shows and the image is not stabilized. But if I render to XAVC S MP4 HD (1920x1080, 60p) everything is OK. So to make it work at 30fps,I render the source file to 30fps, reload it to the project and then add the Mercalli effect. Could it have something to do with rendering a 60fps source to 30fps?

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:24 am
by tletter
SeanK wrote:My source files are 1920x1080x60fps and I usually render to MPEG-4 (1920x1080, 30fps) but when I do, the Mercalli Analyze banner shows and the image is not stabilized.
Ensure that your project properties match those of your rendered file.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 4:33 am
by SeanK
Further to my understanding of the User Manual, my project properties matched the source files (60fps) rather than the rendered file (30fps). When I changed the Project Properties to match the rendered product (at 30fps) it worked - Thanks.

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 11:13 am
by lata
Yes it is related to rendering a 60fps project to 30 fps
Mercalli stabilises all frames, so a 10 second 60 fps project has 600 frames all stabilised together
Render that to 30 fps and you are effectively dropping 300 frames and that interferes with Mercalli

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:54 pm
by SeanK
Thanks for confirming that Trevor. Other than when using Mercalli, is it generally better to set the Project Properties to match the source format or the product format? Is there a noticeable impact on rendered product quality (smoothness, sharpness etc.)? I know I could just render at 60fps but it takes more space and 60fps won't display on some equipment (like older TV's).
Sean

Re: Mercalli problem

Posted: Thu Jan 21, 2021 11:18 am
by lata
Recordings using 60P will give improved playback especially for faster video where panning and zoom are used, the equivalent 30p recordings not being as smooth.
Working with MTS and 50p seemed easier for the program that working with 25 fps interlaced, just my own observations.

So if your recordings are 60p then rendering to 60P will retain the smoothness, sharpness or the original video.
Rendering to 30P is effectively removing 50% of your frames

From Share there is an option top left ( tick the box) for Same as Project Settings, this can be changed for Same as First Clip, is probably the best option in retaining properties, you should also find this quite fast as it uses the Smart Render option.