Mercalli problem

Mercalli problem

Postby mikeandm » Thu Jun 04, 2020 3:13 pm

I have come across this problem before but cannot find it listed when I do a search.
The problem is when using mercalli on a video clip in 2019 it works perfectly, but if I then stabilise another clip that works fine but the original clip loses all the stabilisation information and asks me to redo the initial analysis.
Can anyone help.
Thanks
mikeandm
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:53 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Micro-Star International Co MS-1795
processor: Intel Core i7-6700HQ CPU
ram: 3936
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
sound_card: Realtek High definition
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1233GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP moniter
Corel programs: Videostudio 9.5

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby tletter » Thu Jun 04, 2020 4:23 pm

mikeandm wrote:The problem is when using mercalli on a video clip in 2019 it works perfectly, but if I then stabilise another clip that works fine but the original clip loses all the stabilisation information and asks me to redo the initial analysis.

You don't explain how you're applying Mercalli but the discussion in https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=62247 may help.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 715
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby Davidk » Fri Jun 05, 2020 11:52 am

Losing mercalli settings from one clip to another is new. Please explain just how that happened.

However, if you change the length of any clip that has mercalli applied - eg during an edit by left or right trimming etc, or by adding a transition between that mercalli'd clip and the one before it, the one after or both - that changes the length of the clip with the mercalli filter. And that will cause a mercalli message to re-analyse the clip when you play it.
I agree it can be irritating.
So, as a workpractice, make sure all your clip edits, transitions etc are done before you add the mercalli filter to a clip. And if you decide you have to make a change that impacts the length of a mercalli'd clip, expect the re-analyse message and do it before that happens.
User avatar
Davidk
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte H97M-D3H
processor: Intel core i3 3.7ghz dual core processor
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: on-motherboard Intel HD 4400 graphics chipset
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.8Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP E240c video conferencing monitor
Corel programs: VideoStudio X9,X10,2018,2019,2020

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby mikeandm » Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:27 pm

Hi Davidk
I have only just got the message about "https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=62247" and that is exactly the problem I have. I am now working my way through the post
I have a video clip that I filmed myself. I put this clip into videostudio 2019 and then started to edit it. This meant splitting the clip into several segments and trimming the segments as well as adding video tuneup plus filter. Some of the clips also needed mercalli and so once ready I select the clip, analyze it and then and then select OK. I then move on to the next clip and repeat the process before doing further stabilisation as required.
It is at this stage when I went back to check the first clips and found that it was stating that it was "first use" and needed analyzing once again.
I have tried saving the project after each use of Mercalli but it makes no difference.
.
Hope this helps
mike
mikeandm
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:53 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Micro-Star International Co MS-1795
processor: Intel Core i7-6700HQ CPU
ram: 3936
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
sound_card: Realtek High definition
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1233GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP moniter
Corel programs: Videostudio 9.5

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby Davidk » Mon Jun 08, 2020 8:49 am

The tutorial you said was exactly the problem you have mentions a number of things, among them split clips and variable frame rates.
So, review the frame rate item and fix that if needed. Then address the clip splitting issue.
A way around clip splitting problems with one clip is to use say 3 separate copies of the same clip (or as many as needed), and trim them each to suit what you want. Then apply mercalli to each one.
User avatar
Davidk
 
Posts: 1688
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:08 pm
Location: Brisbane Australia
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte H97M-D3H
processor: Intel core i3 3.7ghz dual core processor
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: on-motherboard Intel HD 4400 graphics chipset
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.8Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP E240c video conferencing monitor
Corel programs: VideoStudio X9,X10,2018,2019,2020

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby mikeandm » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:17 pm

My problem was really to do with the frame rate. Thanks for your help.
mikeandm
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:53 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Micro-Star International Co MS-1795
processor: Intel Core i7-6700HQ CPU
ram: 3936
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
sound_card: Realtek High definition
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1233GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP moniter
Corel programs: Videostudio 9.5

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby mikeandm » Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:32 pm

I have now done further tests to try to fix the problem but still have no success.
I have recorded the clips using videostudio 2019 as a MP4 clip. I have opened up a new project using this clip and set the project properties to be exactly the same as the clip, that is
MPEG-4 File 24 bits, 1920 x 1080, 25 fps Frame based H.264 High Profile Video: 14647 Kbps 16:9 44100hz, 16 Bit. Stereo MPEG AAC Audio: 126Kbps.
I have split the project into a few clips and then put Mercalli 4 onto the first. This worked fine and so I then put Mercalli onto the second clip. This also worked fine but when looking back at the first clip it tells me I have to "analyze" the clip again.
I have played around as discussed in "https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=62247" and had no success at all. I have also put in Mercalli 2 which I have from a previous edition of Videostudio and whilst this is working perfectly it is putting a "Blue cross" over the clip.
Can anyone think of anything else I can try?
mikeandm
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:53 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Micro-Star International Co MS-1795
processor: Intel Core i7-6700HQ CPU
ram: 3936
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
sound_card: Realtek High definition
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1233GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP moniter
Corel programs: Videostudio 9.5

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby lata » Sat Jun 20, 2020 4:25 pm

Hi Mike
As a test I used a MTS clip only 20 seconds long
Insert that to the timelines and was asked to match the properties, yes to that
I used the scissors to cut the clip several times to give 4 clips
Added Mercalli to all then analysed each starting with clip 1
All clips are now showing correctly with Mercalli applied , no clips are asking to be done again.

A little busy at the moment but later I will try with a MP4, how long is your video file.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVS7, 9, 10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby lata » Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:08 pm

Hi Mike

I have now applied Mercalli to Mp4 with the same results, no problems.
Also I have just tried Mercalli 2 on the last clip with again no problems.

Yes there is an issue where Mercalli 2 and Mercalli 4 are both available using CVS 2020 but using either has not caused any problems for me.

I do not understand why you should have the blue crosshair, that would indicate an activation conflict.
Have you ever tried to install Mercalli from its individual installation file, or do you only install through the main program files.
Have you installed Mercalli as a separate program or are you using the Mercalli that came with and installed with the Video Studio Program

Clear as mud
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVS7, 9, 10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby mikeandm » Sun Jun 21, 2020 1:22 pm

Hi Trevor,
thanks for the quick response.
I have installed Mercalli 2 using the original files that came with videostudio 2018. It maybe that 2019 is not giving the correct activation code. I would try moving the files direct from 2018 to 2019 but I do not know how to do that.
In addition is it possible to reinstall the Mercalli program into 2019. I ask because it all came as one download when I first bought it.
You asked how big the clip is, the main clip is 90 minutes but I have only used the first 10 seconds for the test.
I should add that I have been having an ongoing problem with 2019 which started when I first bought it. Corel is aware of my problem { uncalled for shutdowns} but have so far not been able to come up with a fix. All they can tell me is that it is no use for me to buy 2020 since it will not work on my system, that was at 12/03/20. I do not know if this could be contributing to the Mercalli problem.

Mike
mikeandm
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:53 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Micro-Star International Co MS-1795
processor: Intel Core i7-6700HQ CPU
ram: 3936
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
sound_card: Realtek High definition
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1233GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP moniter
Corel programs: Videostudio 9.5

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby lata » Sun Jun 21, 2020 2:49 pm

Hi Mike
What on earth is { uncalled for shutdowns} never heard of that before. Do they mean “silent crashes”

It may be that an individual install of ProDad Mercalli could mess up the activation, hence the blue cross / water mark, If you want to re-install Mercalli then the best way is to run the Bonus Features by double clicking the setup_Bonus.exe file.
I would re-install the program/s.
Make sure you have downloaded and saved the programs installation files, and if the VideoStudio stub allows you to download again I would do that now.
Then
Using Program and Features uninstall all versions Video Studio, choose to remove all personal settings.
Also look for any Prodad Mercalli and uninstall that.

I would then run the Cleanup tool, https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?f ... 64e44cb74a

If you wish to install both 2018 and 2019 then install the oldest version first, 2018

Running that program to see how the program copes with Mercalli
Then Install 2019 which should install Mercalli 4, you may also see Mercalli 2 in the filter FX library. Don’t worry to much about that.
Use Mercalli 4.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11942
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVS7, 9, 10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D

Re: Mercalli problem

Postby mikeandm » Sun Jun 21, 2020 3:01 pm

Hi Trevor,
I would think they may call it "silent crashes", I have been using the other name in my correspondence.
I will try what you have suggested and hopefully it will work for me.
Thanks
Mike
mikeandm
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 3:53 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Micro-Star International Co MS-1795
processor: Intel Core i7-6700HQ CPU
ram: 3936
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M
sound_card: Realtek High definition
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1233GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP moniter
Corel programs: Videostudio 9.5


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

cron