Page 1 of 1

Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 10:53 am
by zaphodikus
I just created a few "diagonal" custom frame masks, I recall struggling to do this in the past.
Image

I am using paint.NET to save an 8-bit no dithering bitmap. And then adding it into studio, but it appears as if the frame mask is approximately 50% opaque in the white areas. I expected it to be 100% opaque (ie preserve all white pixels)
So my home made masks are not working like the built in ones which are 100% opaque in the white area.
Image

I am sure it was something to do with how I save the bitmap - my custom bitmaps have worked in the past, but not sure of the format to save them in.
Image

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 11:17 am
by zaphodikus
Found part of my problem. It is transparency related.

If I save the mask as an 8 bit PNG, it works much better, but the mask is still about 75% opaque , it needs to really be 100% opaque surely? I want to preserve pixels completely, my footage now looks rather dull......

I tried using TIF 8 bit no dithering too.

BUT if I pop the overlay masked track down 3 more times, which bumps it to about 90% or better it's now passable. Would still like to know how to save this mask correctly to get 100% opaque frames.
Image

I am pretty sure I managed 100% opaque custom masks in the past, I have had to mess (workaround) with this so much to get it to look correct, thanks in advance.

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 11:29 am
by lata
Hi
I do not know why saving as BMP does not work

Save the mask as a jpeg, then importing to VS will convert to BMP for you

Missed your reply saving as png should also work as the program will convert
but you should be able to use the png in the timelines without going to Chroma masks

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 11:53 am
by BJC
I did not think that saving as a .bmp preserves transparency - all the frames I make are .png with 32 bit depth that has always kept transparency for me

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 1:17 pm
by lata
BJC wrote:I did not think that saving as a .bmp preserves transparency - all the frames I make are .png with 32 bit depth that has always kept transparency for me
The BMP black and White images are used in Chroma Key - Frames masks and not directly on the timelines as you would PNG

When we insert an image to Chroma Mask Frames the program converts the image to BMP

We could use Video Studio to create a B/W image, then import to Chroma and it should work

The attached was created using 2018, colour clips and take a snapshot
Post updated
here you will find a load of BMP's used by the program
C:\Program Files\Corel\Corel VideoStudio 2018\Samples\Image

Now whats up with the image sizes?
insert as chroma mask frame
insert as chroma mask frame
image from 2018.BMP (1.69 MiB) Viewed 612 times

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 2:26 pm
by zaphodikus
"use the png in the timelines..."

How do I do that. I am following one of the VS9 Corel Tutorials [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YK_8jJDqwNE[/youtube]

Do you mean create 2 opposite/inverted transparent PNG files, and put them below each track what I want masked? Not sure how to accomplish that. I am pretty sure it has to do with the bitmap file format of my mask.I'm not after "transparent", just want to play 2 clips next to each other. I am using black and white in the masks, no transparent pixels.

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 3:27 pm
by lata
Hi
If you wish to play your video within a frame then you can use a PNG, part of which will be transparent
The youtube shows using a “picture in picture” effect where three videos play on the same screen, that should be easy to do
However
Your image shows creating a diagonal split screen where two videos play together.
For this you can use the Split Screen Templates Creator – righthand icon on the tool bar
Simply draw a diagonal line – drag your video clips to each section
Hit OK to return to the timelines

You can also use Chroma Frames, this is where we started, I do not know why your masks are not fully transparent
I have had no problems in creating fully transparent masks
Your image shows 4 videos, you only need to use the top two tracks.
Are the other 2 overlays affecting the display?
Please try using the Mask Creator to see if that does what you want.

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 3:41 pm
by zaphodikus
Will post a link to clip once it renders, it's a bit dithered along the edge, but the opacity is now correct. I had to use normal Windows paint.exe to save the image as a monochrome bitmap. corel then asks to and converts it to 8-bit.
Image

If the bitmap is 256 color, it must NOT be indexed. Paint.net saves "indexed bitmaps" when saving 8-bit, which gives the slightly transparent effect I show in the screenshots. I assume there is paint.net plugin to save other formats. That may help.
[youtube]https://youtu.be/8LoOoKp5_QI[/youtube]
There is also a bug in the mask selection dialog, when multiple clips have masks, clicking on the clips will indicate the incorrect mask (it shows the last used mask instead of the one applied to the clip) in the properties panel.

THanks Lata , I did not want picture in picture because I wanted a diagonal split. Yes I was going to use Split Screen templates. Have used them once before, and found them a bit fiddly for what should have been a simple masking job. By now, the split screen would have been quicker result.
4 videos, this was my first workaround, the mask being semi-opaque, meant I could add the same masked clip 4 times to get it opaque enough, each layer made it less see-through. I might jsut try mask creator, it seems to only create video masks, and I recall a bug in video masks where the mask length has to be longer than the raw un-edited clip length else it only applies to the 1st part of the clip. I have things working, but will try the mask creator - did not have much joy with it a year or two ago due to the length issue, which I believe is now resolved.

My biggest issue with the split screen creator, is that it's really hard to trim a video clip for these purposes and get the time codes in sync before adding your clips. I have 2 tracks, and trimmed them up already. But you cannot drag a timeline clip into the split-screen template, only a library clip can be added into the template. It's long been a wish, to convert a trimmed clip already in the timeline into a library clip. The user manual says you can do this http://help.videostudiopro.com/videostu ... 3ww1398007 , but there is no such menu option in the app.

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Fri May 01, 2020 5:03 pm
by zaphodikus
The mask creator (to create a still mask) was in reality the easiest and although it takes a while playing with it, it also works. I have never used it, but I watched a tutorial, and suddenly I love it.
[youtube]https://youtu.be/8LoOoKp5_QI[/youtube]
So much easier once you know how. Having spent time to editied and trim up in the timeline and fiddly clip timings alignment means the mask creator was my best option. New skill. Thanks.

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:45 pm
by zaphodikus
(for next time I have to do this)

It turns out that if I use paint.net to save the image as an 8bit bitmap, and make the transparent areas black, that the mask imports correctly.

Re: Custom frame masks

Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2020 10:50 am
by lata
Hi zaphodikus
If you create a Black and White Jpeg image or a standard BMP, use that to add a mask, the program will convert the image to a 8bit BMP for you
lata wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 11:29 am
On the 1st of May
Hi
I do not know why saving as BMP does not work

Save the mask as a jpeg, then importing to VS will convert to BMP for you

Missed your reply saving as png should also work as the program will convert
but you should be able to use the png in the timelines without going to Chroma masks
B/W 100 x 100 jpeg sample
Mask.jpg
Mask.jpg (18.04 KiB) Viewed 237 times