Wishlist for VS 2021

zehavi
Posts: 222
Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:22 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel[R] Core[TM] i7-8700 CPU 3.20 GHz
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 465 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG
Location: Israel

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by zehavi »

It will great if corel will do something about the silent crash problems
1jhill
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:35 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus Strix X570-E
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 3800x
ram: 32gb
Video Card: Nvidia RTX 2060s
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1tb
Corel programs: Video studio 2019 ultimate

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by 1jhill »

Start utilizing modern hardware. It’s pretty ridiculous that a video editor today still doesn’t utilize modern CPU core count. I’m a little optimistic maybe they will in 2021 as I just got pinnacle studio 24 and while I usually use video studio because of its simplicity I had pinnacle 23 and it was similar in speed of rendering yet it was slower to work with than video studio because video studio has the ability to use proxy videos. Well guess what, finally with pinnacle 24 it uses more CPU cores, even hits 100% cpu usage, renders faster and can now handle 4K without any massive slow down. From here on I guess I’ll be forcing myself to get better with pinnacle because it just runs much quicker and I don’t need to wait for a proxy to be made before I can actually start a project.
schmitzyp174
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2020 7:59 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Ryzen 3200
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Radeon something I think - integrated
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Unlimited
Corel programs: Videostudio X9 and Videostudio 2020 pro

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by schmitzyp174 »

I admit I greatly enjoy working in this software much more than with Vegas Movie Studio.

But one thing Vegas Movie Studio Platinum does do much better is audio. The waveforms are displayed better, without toggling, and the audio filters are far more useful and powerful.

This would be my sole suggestion for this wish list, more audio control. Otherwise Corel is my favorite!
TonyP
Posts: 895
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:38 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabtye X570 Elite
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core 24threads
ram: 32GB 3200
Video Card: MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 27" IPS 4k, Acer 24" 1920x1080
Corel programs: VS2020, PSP2019, Aftershot 3
Location: Lublin, Poland

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by TonyP »

@schmitzyp174, that was my request back in June. To have the waveforms as part of the video when it's placed on the timeline. To have to toggle is an inconvenience.
Making use of the current hardware is something I too have asked. There is NO AMD graphics support for HEVC, effectively eliminating 25% of GPU's out there. Yes, I have a Ryzen 9 3900X processor, but the GPU will always be faster.
Hardware advancements have proceeded faster than software development in NLE's. It used to be the other way around when Intel produced nothing but 4core CPU's for years. There was no need to code for more than that. Now? Multi-core CPU's are the norm. NLE's are starting to catch up, but slowly. Whether CVS does anything about this (don't hold your breath), is anyone's guess.

Outside of that, CVS does a credible job of video editing offering enough features to keep someone busy learning for a long time. Yes, there are things that can be improved upon that other editors have, but as a whole, it's a very capable editor for the weekend video editing warrior. It has always been the person using the software that determines the quality of the video.
TonyP
Posts: 895
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:38 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabtye X570 Elite
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core 24threads
ram: 32GB 3200
Video Card: MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 27" IPS 4k, Acer 24" 1920x1080
Corel programs: VS2020, PSP2019, Aftershot 3
Location: Lublin, Poland

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by TonyP »

I would like the ability to be able to scrub through a clip while I have the Color tab open and using the scopes.
Right now, if I move the playhead, the Color tab closes and reverts back to Media. Not good at all .....
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12272
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by lata »

TonyP wrote:
Sat Oct 17, 2020 12:59 pm
I would like the ability to be able to scrub through a clip while I have the Color tab open and using the scopes.
Right now, if I move the playhead, the Color tab closes and reverts back to Media. Not good at all .....
Hi Tony
I do not really understand, what do you mean by “ Color tab open and using the scopes”, what is scopes?
With the Solid Color library showing I can scrub the timeline or individual clip without affecting the library.
Regards Trevor
TonyP
Posts: 895
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:38 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabtye X570 Elite
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core 24threads
ram: 32GB 3200
Video Card: MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 27" IPS 4k, Acer 24" 1920x1080
Corel programs: VS2020, PSP2019, Aftershot 3
Location: Lublin, Poland

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by TonyP »

Hey Trevor,
You have a clip on the timeline, make sure it is highlighted.
Click on "Show Options Panel" located in the lower right of the Media window.
Click on Color. I usually have "Show Video Scope" RGB Parade selected.
Make sure you that you Clip and not Project selected in the Preview window.
Clicking the Play button, the clip plays back and you can watch the RGB Parade and see the changes in color as the playhead progresses.
Pause the play and then move the playhead with the mouse pointer.... it goes right back to Media window.
I am unable to scrub through the clip or move the playhead to a particular location.
Attachments
VS2020 Color Playhead.jpg
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12272
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by lata »

Hi Tony
Thanks for the extra info, I must have been blind as I have not see that option “Show Video Scopes” just shows how much my videos need a colour change, not often. I wonder if Video Scopes was added with the latest service pack, I must pay more attention.
Scrubbing the timeline, to move play head immediately changes to “project view” which views all timeline clips, and that has always happened
If you drag the white bar below the preview screen then the clip remains selected and the Color tab remains in view

I did notice that it did not update whilst dragging, only after releasing the mouse, so click the white bar rather than dragging, can be a little awkward with a long clip.
But we can nudge through frames by pressing the F key ( forward) and D key ( Backwards)
Regards Trevor
TonyP
Posts: 895
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:38 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabtye X570 Elite
processor: AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core 24threads
ram: 32GB 3200
Video Card: MSI Gaming X RX480 8GB
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 10TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 27" IPS 4k, Acer 24" 1920x1080
Corel programs: VS2020, PSP2019, Aftershot 3
Location: Lublin, Poland

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by TonyP »

It's so much easier and faster to drag the playhead to the desired location.
Yes, you can move the Scrubber in the preview window, and it doesn't update the scope while scrubbing, but it's just "natural" to move the playhead on the timeline.
And this seems to work only with you are using Clip. Go to Project, I am not able to color correct/grade for the movie, moving from clip to clip on the timeline.
Every editor that I have that has scopes, I click play and can watch to see what clips are "hot", what aren't, and make adjustments.
It also makes "color matching" easier for me.
Snake11
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2015 4:11 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by Snake11 »

Only one request:

It is very common situation when I render movie at night, so it would be great if corel could shut down my PC after the process is complete. I saw this feature in pinnacle studio, so why not in videostudio?
Quietly
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by Quietly »

pvreditor wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 1:42 am
Blackmagic Design's DaVinci Resolve is a lot more daunting to get started with than VideoStudio, but one thing Resolve does is head and shoulders better than the competition. I call them "fade handles." When a video, audio or text clip is on the timeline, you can linger the mouse pointer over the upper corner of the clip and a little grab handle appears. At the beginning of the clip, dragging the fade handle to the right causes the clip to smoothly fade in. At the end of the clip, dragging the fade handle to the left causes the clip to fade out smoothly. And it works exactly the same for audio, video and text clips on the timeline. It makes simple fades in/out so much simpler and easier to control.
+100 This is so essential and so simple I just cannot understand why this has never been implemented. Not only that but put a node between the two points of the fade so you can change the straight line to a convex or concave curve if you want. This is not rocket science and is commonly used in audio editing software. Another option is to create a fade in or out palette with all the different options for you to drag and drop onto the audio or video as required of course with the option to lengthen or shorten them.
asik1
Posts: 3058
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:07 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: H170M-E D3
processor: i5-6600
ram: 8gb
Video Card: GTX1050
Hard_Drive_Capacity: No hoarder
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 19" + samsung 19"
Corel programs: VS-X9.2
Location: Israel

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by asik1 »

Quietly , like this?
fade.jpg
Vegas movie studio has that.
Quietly
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:41 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by Quietly »

asik1 wrote:
Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:41 am
Quietly , like this?
fade.jpg

Vegas movie studio has that.
Yes exactly, however it so much simpler as pvreditor originally said just grab top right or top left corner node and pull the fade across as short or long as you want it. We live in hope. :lol:
asik1
Posts: 3058
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:07 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: H170M-E D3
processor: i5-6600
ram: 8gb
Video Card: GTX1050
Hard_Drive_Capacity: No hoarder
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 19" + samsung 19"
Corel programs: VS-X9.2
Location: Israel

Re: Wishlist for VS 2021

Post by asik1 »

Quietly wrote:
Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:58 am
asik1 wrote:
Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:41 am
Quietly , like this?
fade.jpg

Vegas movie studio has that.
Yes exactly, however it so much simpler as pvreditor originally said just grab top right or top left corner node and pull the fade across as short or long as you want it. We live in hope. :lol:
just grab top right or top left corner node and pull the fade across - this is how it's done in VMS.
Post Reply