Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Moderator: Ken Berry

JFlairty
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:21 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Phenom II X6 3.20 GHz
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1920x1080 screen res samsung desktop monitor
Corel programs: VS Pro X9

Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by JFlairty »

Hi, apologize in advance for possible newbie questions but recently downloaded X9 because X4 stopped working with my Win7 PC.
I tried to make a quick 3min slideshow mainly photos, a .mp3, and a short .mp4 with credits to end the video. The .mp4 glitches and pixelates with scrolling credits and music. How can I stop this? I have it smart proxied, though it's so small I don't think that's the issue?

Thank you in advance for your help!
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21490
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ken Berry »

Welcome to the forum! :D

First off, we need to know the properties of the problematic mp4. Please right click on it either in the X9 timeline or library window and copy all its Properties here or take a screen shot of the Properties box and upload it here as an Attachment. You might also tell us where it came from. Some smartphones these days use a variable frame rate when filming their mp4 video, and this can cause problems in VS.
Ken Berry
JFlairty
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:21 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Phenom II X6 3.20 GHz
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1920x1080 screen res samsung desktop monitor
Corel programs: VS Pro X9

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by JFlairty »

Thank you for your reply.
Here's the screenshot of the mp4 properties.
I recorded it on an iphone 5s. It doesn't seem to be an issue with win7 movie maker, but obviously I want to make my video with X9. :)
Attachments
mp4 shot.JPG
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21490
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ken Berry »

Thanks for that. That seems absolutely normal mp4 so it should not be causing any problems. I would also have thought that your computer should not need to use SmartProxy with it.

However, I should also have asked exactly what you are intending to produce your slide show as: a DVD? A Blu-Ray disc? Or just a final file which you can play on your computer or via a USB drive attached direct to your TV or DVD/Blu-Ray player?

We also need to know your Project Properties: go to Settings > Project Properties and tell us what is set there.
Ken Berry
JFlairty
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:21 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Phenom II X6 3.20 GHz
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1920x1080 screen res samsung desktop monitor
Corel programs: VS Pro X9

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by JFlairty »

I'm trying to publish it as a video file for playback on mobile/PC as a mpg4 these are the Project Properties for mobile:
MPEG-4 Files
24 bits, 1440 x 1080, 29.97 fps
Frame-based
H.264 Baseline Profile Video: 2368 Kbps
48000 Hz, 16 Bit, Stereo
MPEG AAC Audio: 192 Kbps
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21490
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ken Berry »

Well those Project Properties seem to match those of the original video, which is good. Did you manually set those Properties or did it result from having "Show message when inserting first video clip into timeline" ticked in Preferences > General? In other words, did you get a message when you inserted the first mp4 into the timeline asking if you wanted Project Properties to match those of the clip, and you clicked OK on that?

Have you tried using the mp4 without SmartProxy enabled? Have you actually rendered the project into its final format or does the pixelation also occur there? Is there no pixilation when you don't have background music or rolling credits?
Ken Berry
JFlairty
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:21 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Phenom II X6 3.20 GHz
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1920x1080 screen res samsung desktop monitor
Corel programs: VS Pro X9

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by JFlairty »

I did click yes to that message box that popped up once before.
Playing it alone - in a new project, It is fine if I play it as a clip but it glitches if played as a project even without any other items in the timeline.
In the original project, if I leave in the credits and the music, AND the sound on the mp4 I play the clip - No glitch. If I try to play the project, it glitches.
If I mute the mp4, it glitches in project and in clip.
If I take out the credits and the music, play the clip it's fine. I mute the video play the clip, it glitches, same in project play.
Not sure why muting the clip would have an effect on it?
Actually now I take this all back...I went back to the software and tried it again and not nothing changes it. It glitches all the time. No matter what I do or change. It seems the more I mess with it the more temperamental it gets.

I actually didn't notice the glitch until I rendered the final video and watched it back.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12796
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by lata »

Hi
Just to add…

As the quality issue shows on the final rendered video it could be any of your clips that is causing the problem.
You mention mp3, I assume that to be audio, the “mp3 lame codec” has been known to be problematic, we would advise converting the audio to Wav.

When you Share – deselect Smart Render to force a full render, will take longer to complete, see if that improves quality.
Regards Trevor
JFlairty
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 4:21 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD Phenom II X6 3.20 GHz
ram: 8GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 5700
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1920x1080 screen res samsung desktop monitor
Corel programs: VS Pro X9

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by JFlairty »

Hello, tried WAV as you suggested, no change. When I double click on the thumbnail and it pulls up the single clip trim, the video plays fine but if I pull the scrubber manually it pixelates.
Ilene
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:10 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Thimphu intel Z 170
processor: i7-6700K quad core
ram: 16GB DDR4
Video Card: 6GB NVidia GeForce GTX 980Ti
sound_card: envy audio AV - band and olfson 5.1 channel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 550SSD+
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell Ultra Sharp 25" 2560x1440
Corel programs: VSX8 32 And VSX9 64 and VSX10 32
Location: new york

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ilene »

I may be having a similar audio issue... fading one music clip out into another. It's smooth and clear in the timeline, but when I render there is a little glitch/static sound between the clips. one track fades out and the other fades in. I have always done it this way. I'm using mp3 but I also tried wav and same result. I tried separating the clips and still same result, I tried just have them touch, and same result. VERY FRUSTRATING... I'm stumped!

I tried attaching the file but I cannot attach this file type.. tried a few formats.

the sound is a static glitch..
Ilene
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:10 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Thimphu intel Z 170
processor: i7-6700K quad core
ram: 16GB DDR4
Video Card: 6GB NVidia GeForce GTX 980Ti
sound_card: envy audio AV - band and olfson 5.1 channel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 550SSD+
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell Ultra Sharp 25" 2560x1440
Corel programs: VSX8 32 And VSX9 64 and VSX10 32
Location: new york

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ilene »

just did another test... took same clips and put on timeline in VSX8... rendered out the audio --- NO GLITCH!
Re-opened X9, rendered the audio and there is a glitch..

Any chance that this is related to my having installed X9 before X8? I have the weird set up of X9 64bit and then wanting to have X8 in 32 bit... ( reminder, using new blue transitions in 32bit in X8)

Or is this a 64 bit issue versus 32 bit??

BTW -- another test, when you remove the fade in/fade out, the glitch also goes away.
Ilene
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:10 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Thimphu intel Z 170
processor: i7-6700K quad core
ram: 16GB DDR4
Video Card: 6GB NVidia GeForce GTX 980Ti
sound_card: envy audio AV - band and olfson 5.1 channel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 550SSD+
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell Ultra Sharp 25" 2560x1440
Corel programs: VSX8 32 And VSX9 64 and VSX10 32
Location: new york

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ilene »

I also subbed the mp3 file for a wav file, and turned off the smart render. It didn't change the result -- this is really odd!
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
Posts: 21490
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2020; PSP 2020; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17
Location: Levin, New Zealand

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ken Berry »

Are you doing the fade in and out using the controls on the attributes window; or manually adjusting the overlapping audio lines in audio view using rubber banding?
Ken Berry
Ilene
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:10 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Thimphu intel Z 170
processor: i7-6700K quad core
ram: 16GB DDR4
Video Card: 6GB NVidia GeForce GTX 980Ti
sound_card: envy audio AV - band and olfson 5.1 channel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 550SSD+
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell Ultra Sharp 25" 2560x1440
Corel programs: VSX8 32 And VSX9 64 and VSX10 32
Location: new york

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ilene »

Both. Have tried all scenarios.

My next tests are gonna be
1) start new project file and see if still happens with same audio files. If so then..
2) try ripping same tracks in fr cd. This is my normal method. Then the format is ulead cd wav?

In all fairness i did use mp3 for this project. I dont normally... Sometimes one track on my timeline is mp3. The rest are ripped fr cd. In this project I have 7-8 mp3s on the audio track. Not sure if others audio files affect the output when im just rendering a 2 second clip betw tracks? Could this be the issue??
Ilene
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 3:10 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Thimphu intel Z 170
processor: i7-6700K quad core
ram: 16GB DDR4
Video Card: 6GB NVidia GeForce GTX 980Ti
sound_card: envy audio AV - band and olfson 5.1 channel
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 550SSD+
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Dell Ultra Sharp 25" 2560x1440
Corel programs: VSX8 32 And VSX9 64 and VSX10 32
Location: new york

Re: Videostudio X9 mp4 problem

Post by Ilene »

tests

I started a new project and laid down 2 mp3 clips that were rendering w skip -- no issue with audio on render when these were the only 2 clips on the time line

I went back to my project, burned a cd and ripped in all the tracks of that project --- replaced all the mp3 tracks with wav files.. the first 4 songs, I had no blips betw tracks... further into the project I started to get the blips again. no rhyme or reason. I've rendered many times, separating the tracks, trying fade in/out, crossing the tracks.. one fade out off, one fade in turned on.. every scenario and still a little static blip betw the tracks. To answer your earlier question, I am making fade selections from the audio panel, not adjusted on the timeline, although have tried that too.. if you open up the audio tracks they show fade in/out...

I did remove all fade in/out and renders without a blip if you turn off fade in/fade out -- doesn't make for the smoothest project

beyond puzzled -- this is a real issue!
Post Reply