Add multiple text lines

Post Reply
Boilers
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:00 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Add multiple text lines

Post by Boilers »

I want to show 10-20 text lines and make them visible one at a time as I speak. Start with 1 line and as I speak 10-20 lines are visible at the end of the video.

I can use 1 track for every line but with 20 lines of text, there are not many tracks left to video and sound.

I can make one textbox with multiple lines. But, as far as I can see, I can't make them visible one by one. I can animate each line, but the animation starts at the same time.

Does VSX8 have a better solution adding multiple text lines?
BrianCee
Posts: 5486
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10, 2018 , 2019
Location: London England UK

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by BrianCee »

you cam put multiple lines of text in a title and put them all in the same title line - no need to keep using separate tracks - this is a demo of 4 lines of text - but you can add more - although 20 will be quite small on screen

see here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hx2XvOMtpQs


view of the timeline
X8 multi titles.PNG



OR do you want the lines to keep going up like this - - - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4CKsSM4CHT4
Boilers
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:00 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by Boilers »

Ahh, of course - thanks :-)
Bill Aggie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 5:47 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by Bill Aggie »

I need this!!!! How do you keep the red text staying up while the subsequent next lines come up? I have a table with 6 items on it and I want to TITLE each item as I talk about which means over the course of about 90 seconds the text placements are put up one at a time until they are all up, then they all exit in the following new segment. I can't figure it out.
User avatar
RobertOZ
Advisor
Posts: 2018
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:50 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION 2A86 1.04E01
processor: 2.80 gigahertz Intel Core i7 930
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 5770
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 32" IPS LED (Main) HP 23fi IPS LED
Corel programs: VSX4-X10 VS 2018/2019/2020 & MS 3D
Location: Mornington, Vic. Australia

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by RobertOZ »

Bill, this post is nearly 6 years old, you will get a better response, if you start a new thread
Dell 7567,Win 10(2004) i7-7700HQ, 16GB DDR4 Ram, Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB GDDR5, drives, 1 TB SSD + 1 TB HDD, Samsung 28" 3840x2160 UHD 4K LED Monitor
PS24 Ultimate, PSP 2020, PhotoMirage, Painter 2020, VS 2018 Ult, VS2021 Ult MultiCam Capture XL
BrianCee
Posts: 5486
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10, 2018 , 2019
Location: London England UK

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by BrianCee »

Bill -- start a title and type the first line - - slide the title up into the title library where Videostudio will create a copy of it - drag that copy back down into the title timeline and add it at the end of the previous one - edit that second one and without touching the first line of text add the second row - again slide that one up into the title library where it will create a copy - drag that back down - etc. etc. etc.
Bill Aggie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 5:47 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by Bill Aggie »

I underand that but my scene is a clip explaining what the ingredients are and it's Boring to put all those boxes up at once, so I want to to them at different times, boxy 1, then in 12 seconds when i'm talking about the salt ingredient, I put up the salt, and on and on till I cover all 6. At the start, i have 1 text block, buy the last item 2 minutes later I've displayed the last of the 6 boxes.. i still have not figured a way to do this.
Bill
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12581
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by lata »

An excellent idea provided by Brian, I did not see a problem in extending the text boxes durations.

Lets say Box 1 shows at 6 seconds, the Title would also start at 6 secs
Box 2 shows at 15 seconds so Title 1 runs to 15 seconds where Title 2 is added
Box 3 now shows from 25 seconds, so Title 2 would run upto 25sec
Title 3 starts at 25sec upto the point that Box 4 appears, and so on

At least I think that would work
What version of Video Studio are you using
At what times do each box appear on screen, maybe we can provide a sample
Regards Trevor
BrianCee
Posts: 5486
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10, 2018 , 2019
Location: London England UK

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by BrianCee »

Bill - if all the text boxes are in the title timeline they will not all show at once - they will not show until the time you need them to - you can make each individual text box as long as you like - so if you want the first text to remain on show for 12 seconds then make the text block 12 seconds long - then add the second text block - which because it was made from the first one which is still showing the first line in the same position will look as though it has remained there - make the second text block however long that needs to be until you add the next block
have you watched the video on Youtube which I posted the link to in my first post above - then study the image in that post and imagine you are on a little bus driving along the timeline and can only see what is directly outside your window and you should be imagining what the Youtube video shows
have you just tried the idea - nothing like practical experimentation - if you do what I suggested what are seeing - if you don't know how / want to put up a video then take a couple of screen shots during your video and post them up here so we can see what you are getting - there is a post here which shows you how to add photos etc. to your post
https://forum.corel.com/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=57659
until you have actually done what I suggested and shown us what you get and explain why it is not what you want it is difficult to understand what your exact problem
Bill Aggie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 5:47 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by Bill Aggie »

Brian, I just got notice you wrote. Reading now.
Bill Aggie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 5:47 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by Bill Aggie »

Oh snap! I think I get it. I make the text block, copy it when I want the 32nd block, then add the next text, keep rehashing the idential text block on the timeline with each one having the prior contents along with the new content? I haven't proven it but I will. Thank you Brian!!!!!!
gewb
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:29 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI X470 Gaming Plus
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
ram: 16GB
Video Card: AMD R9-270
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 24MK430
Corel programs: X10.5 Ult., 2018 & 2020 Ult.
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Add multiple text lines

Post by gewb »

Bill Aggie wrote:
Mon Jan 18, 2021 6:18 pm
Oh snap! I think I get it. I make the text block, copy it when I want the 32nd block, then add the next text, keep rehashing the idential text block on the timeline with each one having the prior contents along with the new content? I haven't proven it but I will. Thank you Brian!!!!!!
Correct. Fast and easy to do.
Post Reply