Slow motion cuts out frames

Post Reply
danbob
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:36 am
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Unknown
processor: i7-47HQ 2.5 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 4GB
sound_card: JBL speakers with Dolby Advanced Audio V2
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 512 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 15.6" FHD (1920 x 1080)

Slow motion cuts out frames

Post by danbob »

Happy Holidays,

The x7 software seams to be dropping frames when I render a high frame rate video in slow motion. I need to take high frame rate video's and slow them down so I can see the details of the action; however with some of the frames missing, the rendered videos are choppy. Is there a way to slow down a video without losing any of the frames.

Specifically, I am editing GoPro 3+ MP4 1280x720 119fps videos, and rendering them as MPEG-4 or AVI at about 30fps.

I can tell some of the frames are missing because I open up both the original and slow motion videos right next to each other in Quick Time or Windows Media Player, and then step through both of them one frame at a time. Of course the slow motion video has numerous duplicate frames (this creates the slow motion effect), but the slow motion video is also missing some of the frames that the original video has. The slow motion video seams to skip some of the frames.

I apologize if this is a novice question but I am fairly new to video editing.

Thanks!
asik1
Posts: 3107
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:07 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: H170M-E D3
processor: i5-6600
ram: 8gb
Video Card: GTX1050
Hard_Drive_Capacity: No hoarder
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 19" + samsung 19"
Corel programs: VS-X9.2
Location: Israel

Re: Slow motion cuts out frames

Post by asik1 »

X7 do not support high frame rate as you have.
You better spread the clip to individual frames and import them as a sequence.
danbob
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 3:36 am
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Unknown
processor: i7-47HQ 2.5 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 4GB
sound_card: JBL speakers with Dolby Advanced Audio V2
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 512 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 15.6" FHD (1920 x 1080)

Re: Slow motion cuts out frames

Post by danbob »

Thank you! However, forgive my ignorance, but how do you do that?
User avatar
RobertOZ
Advisor
Posts: 2024
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 12:50 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION 2A86 1.04E01
processor: 2.80 gigahertz Intel Core i7 930
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Radeon HD 5770
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5.5TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 32" IPS LED (Main) HP 23fi IPS LED
Corel programs: VSX4-X10 VS 2018/2019/2020 & MS 3D
Location: Mornington, Vic. Australia

Re: Slow motion cuts out frames

Post by RobertOZ »

Install Free Video to JPG Converter, this converts your video clips to JPG images, which can then be imported into VS

http://www.dvdvideosoft.com/products/dv ... .VJ3Bxv8CU
Dell 7567,Win 10(2004) i7-7700HQ, 16GB DDR4 Ram, Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB GDDR5, drives, 1 TB SSD + 1 TB HDD, Samsung 28" 3840x2160 UHD 4K LED Monitor
PS24 Ultimate, PSP 2020, PhotoMirage, Painter 2020, VS 2018 Ult, VS2021 Ult MultiCam Capture XL
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12606
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Slow motion cuts out frames

Post by lata »

Hi

I have to agree with Robert the Video to Jpeg converter works well.

Once you import the images to the timeline set the duration of all images to 1 frame, then render to Mpeg4

I guess Corel need to looking to High Speed recordings
Regards Trevor
rwernyei
Moderator
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:35 pm

Re: Slow motion cuts out frames

Post by rwernyei »

You do not need a converter, VS can create the image sequence all by itself.

1) Create a New folder anywhere on your desktop, My Documents, etc. to store desired images.
2) Insert Video to Timeline.
3) Share>Create Video File>Custom
4) Create Video File box prompt comes up, Make sure Save in: targeted New folder and select dropdown Save as type:> Ulead Image Sequence (*.uis, *.uisx)
5) Select Options tab>Corel Video Studio tab uncheck boxes Play file, Perform Smart, Perform non-square.
6) Go to General tab match clip properties, example: Frame rate: 60 Frame type: Frame-based Frame size: User-defined W1920 H1080
7) Go to Format tab Image file format: (*BMP)-make sure to change Data type RGB True Color (24-bit), or use (*JPG).
8) Hit OK
9) Enter name in File name: and hit Save.
That's it. Image Sequence created using VS.

Hope this helps.
Robert
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12606
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Slow motion cuts out frames

Post by lata »

Hi Robert

It is true that Video Studio supports UIS, unfortunately you have to set the project properties to match the source videos frame rate in order to rip each frame, that is 119fps, we cannot do that with Video Studio.
The max frame rate is 60fps for Ntsc, and that will only rip every second frame not every frame.

Effectively converting 50% of the frames to an image, and of course loosing 50%

But if we can get the program to support High Frame Rate Editing, then that would/should work for any frame rate.

I used the converter mentioned by RobertOZ last year, so easy, I doubt I will ever use UIS to create slow playback again.
Regards Trevor
rwernyei
Moderator
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:35 pm

Re: Slow motion cuts out frames

Post by rwernyei »

Sorry Trevor,

You're correct. I did not check to see in the custom frame rate that it could not go higher than 60. For some reason, I thought I could in MSP with the advanced encoder enabled to the .ini file. Again, this would be no help to the poster. Thanks.

Edit: Just tried with MSP and it could not be done.
Post Reply