adjusting speed of video captured via "stop motion"

Post Reply
jimmythesquirrel
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

adjusting speed of video captured via "stop motion"

Post by jimmythesquirrel »

Hi, I have searched and found no answer to this question that I could make work.

I have created a video clip via the "stop motion" option under the "capture" tab. I would like to have this clip playback at a slightly slower speed, and cannot figure out how to do this.

When I right-click on the video clip, both the "speed/time-lapse", and the "variable speed" options are grayed out.

If anyone could tell me why these options are grayed out, and what I can do to change this, I would greatly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance!
AussieTX
Posts: 287
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2008 2:44 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigybyte 990FXA-UD3
processor: AMD FX8350
ram: 16 Gig
Video Card: Assus HD 7770 2GB GDDR5
sound_card: On Board Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus 23" IPS + Acer 23" IPS
Location: Denton Texas USA
Contact:

Re: adjusting speed of video captured via "stop motion"

Post by AussieTX »

You could try rendering the clip to a file and then pull that back into the time line and use the speed/time-lapse on the file.
Jack of all trades,
Master of none!
Terfyn
Posts: 795
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2012 9:37 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK P8H61-MX
processor: Intel Corei5-2320
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 210
sound_card: NVIDIA High Def Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer & LG
Corel programs: VS X10 and PSP X8
Location: North Wales

Re: adjusting speed of video captured via "stop motion"

Post by Terfyn »

Another option may be to stretch/compress the clip. click on the end of the clip and, while holding the Shift key down, pull or push the clip end.
I used to be indecisive. Now I'm not so sure.
rwernyei
Moderator
Posts: 445
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 9:35 pm

Re: adjusting speed of video captured via "stop motion"

Post by rwernyei »

Create an .uis and then apply speed changes.

1) File>Insert Media File to Timeline>Insert Video
2) Under Files of type: use dropdown and click on Ulead Image Sequence(*.uis)
3) Click on Options button
4) Under Select (First image file:)find your folder containing your image files and click on the first image file. They must be in numeric order. Example: IMG0001, IMG0002, IMG0003.... IMG0650
5) Total frames: will equal your number of images.
6) Frame rate: you can determine how many images will be used for frames/sec.
7) Image sequence file should have identified the path directory with folder of images with first image and added .uis extension.
8) Click OK
9) Open Video File dialog should be open and find new created .uis file and click on it.
10) Should be added to the timeline, ready for editing. *Note: because you are using an .uis file it will now be treated as a video file on the timeline in which speed and filters can be applied on the whole.

Hope this helps.
Robert
Post Reply