Image overly background question...

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
whyme4000
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:57 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus M4A77D
processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.40 gigahertz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device - on board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 15inch NEC LCD1512 / Gateway 15inch FPD1520

Image overly background question...

Post by whyme4000 »

Hey everyone,

I need some assistance with something that I am trying to do. I did a search, but I am having difficulty figuring out how to word what I need assistance with so I am not finding anything.

First off I am using VideoStudio X4.

I have a picture that I am wanting to overlay on top of a video clip. The picture is on a white background. I want to make the background disappear, but have the image show at its normal quality. (basically I have a image of a halo that I want to put over someones head, but the white in the image is obviously taking space in the video clip.

I was able to do this in Cypbelink Power Director but cant seem to find a way in video Studio.

I played around with "Mask and Chroma Key", but that just makes the entire image transparent, and I am only looking to make the background transparent.

I hope I explained this well enough, could someone let me know if this is possible, I have to imagine it is, but just not sure how to go about it.

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12792
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Image overly background question...

Post by lata »

Hi

Using an image editor create a png type image. You can create the image with a transparent background.
Place the image on the overlay track
Regards Trevor
whyme4000
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 4:57 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus M4A77D
processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.40 gigahertz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device - on board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 15inch NEC LCD1512 / Gateway 15inch FPD1520

Re: Image overly background question...

Post by whyme4000 »

My problem is I tried doing it in photoshop cs5 and am having issues, as I can select the outside of the image with quick select but cant select the white background inside the halo.

I tried just saving it as a .png however that didn't work (as I figured it wouldn't).

I guess there is no way to do it inside the actual videostudio program?
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
Posts: 12792
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X 0x
processor: 4 10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: CVSX10, 18, 19, 20, PSP, PI, MS3D
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Image overly background question...

Post by lata »

Hi

Press the Shift key whilst using the Magic Wand and you should be able to make multiple selections.
Make sure you are working with a “layer” then hit the delete button, should clear the selection. Save as PNG

Are you able to send a sample?
Regards Trevor
Post Reply