Pan without Zoom

Moderator: Ken Berry

Post Reply
MLSM
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:41 am

Pan without Zoom

Post by MLSM »

I have just upgraded to VS 2021 Ultimate & am frustrated at not being able to pan a still photo without zoom. For example, in creating a video of party clips, etc., I like to lead in with a shot of the invitation. I use animation to bring the invitation in, then I like to zoom the still to where the words on the invitation take up the entire screen & then pan down to the bottom without changing the zoom percentage of that clip. This was easy in my Pro 10X, but I'm stymied at not being able to pan without zooming in 2021 Ultimate. All help will be appreciated.
gewb
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:29 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI X470 Gaming Plus
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
ram: 16GB
Video Card: AMD R9-270
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 24MK430
Corel programs: 2018, 2020 & 2021 Ult.
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Pan without Zoom

Post by gewb »

Customize Motion is the tool you want to use.
gewb
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:29 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI X470 Gaming Plus
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
ram: 16GB
Video Card: AMD R9-270
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 24MK430
Corel programs: 2018, 2020 & 2021 Ult.
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Pan without Zoom

Post by gewb »

Okay, revised version is up.

Here is a short live screen capture of the procedure. Download from my Box folder (83mb).

I created the motion ahead of time by inserting key frames where an event begins or ends and I included brief holds. Note the parameters that I entered values are for my image, yours may be different.

https://app.box.com/s/w3tsabszippqz1dkphlzeia7wsomsg6e
Last edited by gewb on Wed Jul 21, 2021 8:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
tletter
Posts: 972
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019
Location: Canada

Re: Pan without Zoom

Post by tletter »

MLSM wrote: I have just upgraded to VS 2021 Ultimate & am frustrated at not being able to pan a still photo without zoom.
In older versions of VS, one can do what you want to do using the Pan & Zoom feature by adding key frames. Does the Pan & Zoom feature in VS2021 no longer support adding key frames?

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
MLSM
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 12:41 am

Re: Pan without Zoom

Post by MLSM »

Super info & demonstration, gewb.
gewb
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 3:29 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI X470 Gaming Plus
processor: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
ram: 16GB
Video Card: AMD R9-270
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 24MK430
Corel programs: 2018, 2020 & 2021 Ult.
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Pan without Zoom

Post by gewb »

MLSM wrote:
Wed Jul 21, 2021 11:34 pm
Super info & demonstration, gewb.
Thanks. Keep in mind you could use other effects to bring the imaging into frame and out of frame with Custom Motion inbetween. You could also use CM to do spins, etc.
User avatar
Davidk
Posts: 1858
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:08 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte H97M-D3H
processor: Intel core i3 3_7ghz dual core processor
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: on-motherboard Intel HD 4400 graphics chipset
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 5_8Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP E240c video conferencing monitor
Corel programs: VideoStudio: 5 old versions + 2021
Location: Brisbane Australia

Re: Pan without Zoom

Post by Davidk »

re tletter's comment about keyframes in 2021 P&Z; yes, it does.
with the P&Z panel open on the clip, move the time marker to a duration desired; the various panels below the left-hand window light up, one is a + symbol. Click that and a keyframe appears where the time marker is.
Post Reply