NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Lokas 3D shadow

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

Lokas 3D shadow

Postby Norfolkman6 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:36 pm

Has anyone successfully used Lokas 3D shadow in PSP X9?
It appears in my plugin list as "3D Shadow" and I can open it and play around with positioning of the shadow etc. What I cannot do is to transfer it to the text on my worksheet.
Are there any instructions for using this plugin or could someone kindly tell me how to do it?

Thanks,
Geoff.
Norfolkman6
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:20 am
Location: U.K.
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Lenovo LNVNB161216 U3E1
processor: Intel Core i3
ram: 4GB
Video Card: Generic PnP Monitor on Intel HD Graphics 620
sound_card: Speaker HP Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP Monitor on Intel HD Graphics 620
Corel programs: PSP X3 X5 X6 X7 X8 X9 PSP2019

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby JoeB » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:38 pm

A bit more detail about how you are trying to achieve this would be helpful, but I will make an assumption to start with.

If you have laid down your text as vector text, then try duplicating that text layer (just so that you can preserve the vector layer) and then convert that duplicate text layer to a raster layer. The plugin should then apply the shadow. I don't think it can apply the shadow to a vector layer.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2316
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby Norfolkman6 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 6:14 pm

Thank you for the reply.
I am not trying to achieve anything particular at the moment. I came across the plugin by chance and installed it to see how it works.

I have started with a new sheet and typed a few letters. (I've tried Raster & Vector) Then went to Effects/Plugins/Lokas/3D shadow. The plugin opens up and displays the letters together with the shadow. But what do I do then, if I close it, the text on y PSP shett hasn't changed.

I really need instructions on how to use the plugin.

Many thanks
Norfolkman6
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:20 am
Location: U.K.
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Lenovo LNVNB161216 U3E1
processor: Intel Core i3
ram: 4GB
Video Card: Generic PnP Monitor on Intel HD Graphics 620
sound_card: Speaker HP Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP Monitor on Intel HD Graphics 620
Corel programs: PSP X3 X5 X6 X7 X8 X9 PSP2019

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby TimW » Sun Apr 14, 2019 6:25 pm

Is there no option to Apply what it displays ? Or, just simply an OK.
TimW
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS M5A99FX
processor: AMD FX8350 8 core 4.0GHZ
ram: 16GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
sound_card: On Board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 256GB SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 23" Flatron Wide
Corel programs: PSP X8, Knockout 2

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby ehume » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:01 pm

Lokas is handing it out for free. It installed by default in all the PSP xNumber, and allowed for one Custom directory, so I chose PSP 2018 (64-bit). The plugin with its directory installed with no hassle. I then discovered that it needed a transparent layer, so I exported my test image as a PNG. Then I added a layer, but the plugin squawked (note that it had loaded and was interacting with me). So I added another raster layer and added text to that. Then I invoked the plugin.

The plugin seemed to work OK. It was massively flexible in what it did. I picked one of the presets. There was no Save or Preview so I clicked OK. It did nothing to the image!

I did go to the plugins folder, copied the folder, pasted it in the PSP 2018 (32-bit) folder. When I opened the 32-bit PSP 2018, I was able to invoke the plugin.

So, what am I doing wrong that the effects of the plugin will not save?
Had PS3, PSP3; Installed: PSP-4.12, 5.03, 6.02, 7.04 (liked it a lot & used it for years), 8.10, 9.01, 10, 11, x4, x6, x7, x8, x9; now using PSPx10 (PSP 2018; version 20.2.0.1 x64) on Win 10-64; rejected PSP 2019.
User avatar
ehume
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:05 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4H
processor: i7 4770k
ram: 16GB
Video Card: Intel HD4600
sound_card: no_sound_card
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 512GB+4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer KN242HYL
Corel programs: PSP 2018 32b & 64b, AS3 64b, PE5 64b

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby JoeB » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:31 pm

I do not know why you people are having a problem, so will explain how it works for me.

First, the plugin is installed in a sub-folder of C:\Program Files\Lokas 3D Shadow. It consists of 2 8bf files - one for 32bit and one for 64bit programs. I tested it with PSP2019 64bit.

Then I open a new document - doesn't matter if it has a transparent background or a colored one because I'm laying down my text as Vector text which creates a vector text layer above my new open document.

Type some text. Then, in the Layers palette, right-click the vector text layer and click on the Convert to Raster Layer option.

Open the plugin, select the shadow look you wish, then click OK.

My result is attached.
Attachments
Lokas 3D Shadow.gif
Lokas 3D Shadow test image
Lokas 3D Shadow.gif (8.06 KiB) Viewed 332 times
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2316
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby LeviFiction » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:43 pm

Just like JoeB, I tried it on a raster layer and it worked just fine.

Tested:
PSP 2019 - 64 and 32 bit
PSP 2018 - 64 and 32 bit
PSP X9 - 64 and 32 bit
PSP X8 - 64 and 32 bit
PSPP X2.5
PSPP XI
PSP 9
PSP 8
Attachments
Image1.png
LeviFiction
Advisor
 
Posts: 5355
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: PSP: 8, 9, X, XI, X2, X8,X9, 2018, 2019

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby Norfolkman6 » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:44 pm

Thanks JoeB for your help.

That worked fine for me too!

Regards,
Geoff.
Norfolkman6
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 8:20 am
Location: U.K.
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Lenovo LNVNB161216 U3E1
processor: Intel Core i3
ram: 4GB
Video Card: Generic PnP Monitor on Intel HD Graphics 620
sound_card: Speaker HP Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Generic PnP Monitor on Intel HD Graphics 620
Corel programs: PSP X3 X5 X6 X7 X8 X9 PSP2019

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby JoeB » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:49 am

TimW wrote:Is there no option to Apply what it displays ? Or, just simply an OK.


There is no button that says Apply. Just one that says OK, which is fairly common with some plugins and dialogue boxes within PSP and means that you're OK with what the preview is showing and clicking it will apply whatever you have done to your image. I hadn't realized that some people might not know that OK on many dialogues/interfaces means the same thing as Apply.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2316
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Lokas 3D shadow

Postby TimW » Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:07 pm

Thank You JoeB - My point exactly :wink:
I downloaded the plugin & it's quite nice once you figure out what each adjustment does. It would be nice to have an example guide for each of the settings.
TimW
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:53 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS M5A99FX
processor: AMD FX8350 8 core 4.0GHZ
ram: 16GB
Video Card: AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
sound_card: On Board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 256GB SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 23" Flatron Wide
Corel programs: PSP X8, Knockout 2


Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests