NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Highest quality 1080p output ?

Highest quality 1080p output ?

Postby mangurian » Fri Aug 10, 2018 11:09 pm

I am panning across a 6000x4000 photo using a 1080 window.
When I render the video, I want the highest quality 1080p video I can get.

I don't know which codec to use - H.264, Mpeg-4, WMV or what.

Hi mangurian

To reduce duplications I decided moved this post to merge with this similar topic

Trevor Admin
mangurian
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
Location: Connecticut USA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T

I can't figure out why VS falls apart

Postby mangurian » Sat Aug 11, 2018 3:34 pm

I load a 6000x4000 pixel image and do pans using a 1080p sized window.
I render at MP4 1080p and the result is great. (link below)

I then load a 12000x4000 tiff image and do the same thing.
The result look lousy, even in the preview. (link below)

6000x4000 : https://youtu.be/adqAKKMCbX4

12000x4000 : https://youtu.be/DA6MvNtpdtI
mangurian
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
Location: Connecticut USA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby tletter » Sat Aug 11, 2018 4:33 pm

tletter
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018

Re: I can't figure out why VS falls apart

Postby lata » Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:01 pm

Hi mangurian

Video Studio does not manage high resolution images that well
When we add an image to the timeline it will only display the image using the timelines resolution.
The standard widescreen resolution being 1920 x 1080.
We can use 4K settings, but only if we intend to render to 4K

Your image of 6000 x 4000 can only show as 1920 x 1080, that of course does reduce the quality.
If you use an image editor to crop / resize /resample your image to 1920 x 1080 then the full quality of that image will be used on the timeline, although I would consider 4K sizes as a max.

When we feel the results are not as good as we expect we consider increasing the resolution of our images, that surly should increase quality.
However your 12000 x 4000 can only be displayed as 1920 x 1080 on the timeline.
The pixels dropped reduces the quality, and there are a lot more pixels dropped.
Now 12000px image looks worse that the 6000px.

Introduce a zoom into your image and the quality reduces further.

Clear as mud

Were your images taken with a camera to create those sizes, or have you used an image editor to increase the resolution of the original image?
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10225
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby lata » Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:16 pm

tletter wrote:https://forum.corel.com/EN/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=64068&start=28

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter


Mangurian was the original poster there..............
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10225
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lata, limajor and 17 guests