NEW! PhotoMirage

Is there image stabilization?

Is there image stabilization?

Postby Cyberherbalist » Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:15 pm

I have drone footage that is rather shaky due to winds, and my amateurish attempts to control the drone. I have heard that some video editing software have tools that can stabilize these images. I can't find anything in VideoStudio documentation or the menu that says if it can be done, so I have to ask here. I know that YouTube can do it, but my upload speed is snailish, and I'd rather use VideoStudio if I can. I have VS 2018 Ultimate.

Can one stabilize video in VS? If so, how? Here's a test clip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKgqb7-YD-8

I tried to include this clip using the BBCode [youtube][/youtube], but couldn't make it work. How is it done?
Last edited by Cyberherbalist on Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cyberherbalist
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:43 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby bifer » Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:54 pm

Apply the FX filter Mercalli 2.0 and then experiment a bit with the different values ... Remember before you can see the result VS2018 is analyzing the footage ...
bifer
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 1:07 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-4720 HQ 2.60 GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M + Intel HD4600
Hard_Drive_Capacity: SSD 1+2TB
Corel programs: ASP3, PSP2018 + VS2018 Ultimate

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby Cyberherbalist » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:08 pm

I hate to look ignorant, but I am ignorant so it's the truth. I see the FX in the Edit menu, but there's no Mercalli 2.0 there. I've found a YouTube video from Corel that says how to use Mercalli, but the only proDAD FX item I have is Adorage. There's apparently 4 others, but I don't have them.

This is Video Studio 2018 Ultimate.
Cyberherbalist
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:43 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby lata » Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:32 pm

Hi
First reset the program by renaming the folder 21.0 to 21.0_old
Run video studio will generate a new folder
C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Roaming\Ulead Systems\Corel VideoStudio Pro (x64)\21.0

If that does not work…

Locate your download installation files, by default would be on your desktop in a folder called Video Studio 2018. There will be a \64bit\BonusFeature

Do you see that folder?
Open the folder and double click setup_Bonus.exe
That will run the installer again to install the Ultimate package, prodad stuff.

Any improvements?
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10125
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby tletter » Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:50 pm

Cyberherbalist wrote:Can one stabilize video in VS? If so, how? Here's a test clip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKgqb7-YD-8

This clip has a jello-like movement in addition to shake. Mercalli 2.0 will not remove video jello. In any event, once you have Mercalli 2.0 installed, you'll have to try each of the four 'Virtual Stabi-Cams' and adjust the available parameters to see which works best for your source videos.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby Cyberherbalist » Tue Jul 10, 2018 11:58 pm

lata wrote:Hi
First reset the program by renaming the folder 21.0 to 21.0_old
Run video studio will generate a new folder
C:\Users\UserName\AppData\Roaming\Ulead Systems\Corel VideoStudio Pro (x64)\21.0


No, this didn't work

lata wrote:If that does not work…

Locate your download installation files, by default would be on your desktop in a folder called Video Studio 2018. There will be a \64bit\BonusFeature

Do you see that folder?
Open the folder and double click setup_Bonus.exe
That will run the installer again to install the Ultimate package, prodad stuff.

Any improvements?


I found a folder called C:\Program Files\Corel\Corel VideoStudio 2018
but there was no subfolder named \64bit\BonusFeature, and no file named setup_Bonus.exe.

Would the download installation files be located in the Download folder? If so, they have been deleted for space considerations. If this is where the installation files are supposed to be, I may have to download the application again. Might this be the case?
Cyberherbalist
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:43 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby Ken Berry » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:33 am

Normally the download process creates a folder on your desktop (labelled VideoStudio 2018) which contains all the necessary files. But by the sounds of it you might have cleaned any such folder in the same way you say you would have if it were in the Download folder. So yes, you would need to download the package again.

Personally, I not only leave the folder either on the desktop or move it to the Download folder, and I also copy it to an external hard drive for extra security, and include the SN with it too.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20138
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby Cyberherbalist » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:04 pm

Thanks for everyone's contribution to this thread! Since my installation seemed to need refreshing, but I needed to redownload the installation, I went to Corel customer support and got some assistance from them. Turns out that I still had Corel VideoStudio X10 installed on my system and this might have caused the problem. The support person advised me to uninstall both versions and reinstall fresh. So, I am about to do this.

Aren't computers fun? :-)
Cyberherbalist
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:43 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby lata » Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:51 pm

Hi
You can download copies of the installation files at any time.
Run the Web Installer, choose a new Download Location
Deselect ---"Do not download installed modules again”
Choose “Download only”

let us know which files are available for you to download, thanks.

When you come to installing simply run the Web Installer again.

Not heard of X10 affecting 2018 in this way, we were thinking you had simply not installed the Bonus Features
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10125
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby tletter » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:09 pm

Cyberherbalist wrote:Turns out that I still had Corel VideoStudio X10 installed on my system and this might have caused the problem.

Well the bad news for you is that Mercalli 2.0 is in the Ultimate version of both X10 and 2018. Hence upgrading to Ultimate 2018 will not upgrade this filter so you can test its effect by running Ultimate X10.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby Cyberherbalist » Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:41 pm

lata wrote:Hi
You can download copies of the installation files at any time.
Run the Web Installer, choose a new Download Location
Deselect ---"Do not download installed modules again”
Choose “Download only”

let us know which files are available for you to download, thanks.

When you come to installing simply run the Web Installer again.

Not heard of X10 affecting 2018 in this way, we were thinking you had simply not installed the Bonus Features


Had a very interesting experience with the re-installation.

The reinstallation succeeded -- finally -- but the first time I installed and ran VideoStudio it failed. I ran the installation again, over the top of the existing installation, and it succeeded. Although the Home screen is strangely blank when the application runs.

Here's what happened:

I uninstalled both X10 and 2018, and then used the cleanup tools to clean up the old installations. Then I downloaded the download installer, and ran it. The download seemed to go well, but when I tried to start VS 2018 Ultimate it only got as far as the splash screen. The splash screen showed itself for the usual amount of time, but once that was done it went away and nothing was happening. It was as if the program hadn't been started. I tried a few times, and got the same result. Since I am a retired computer programmer, I know to check the system Event Log to see what might have happened. The log showed that the application had started, but a failure occurred. The failure entry didn't tell me anything (it just gave an error code that didn't mean anything to me). Although I can tell that the exception occurred in the dynamic link library "ntdll.dll".

After I ran the installation again, I was able to get VideoStudio working, and all the features that were missing before were now available. The odd thing about it was the Home tab when the program opened. Here is what it looks like with the program running and the Home tab active:

VideoStudioBlankHome.png
Cyberherbalist
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:43 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby lata » Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:21 pm

Hi

It has been posted on the forum regarding the white screen, but that seemed to fix itself after a re-boot.
are you still having a problem.
Reset the program by renaming the 21.0 folder
more info here
http://lata.me.uk/corel/reset/reset.htm

When you installed from the web installer did that download a service pack, SP 3 is now available, I was just wondering if that was provided or the older SP2

I am doing a cleanup of my pc and at the moment do not have VS installed
I will be installing 2018, soon, so will take note of install process
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10125
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby Cyberherbalist » Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:25 pm

lata wrote:Hi

It has been posted on the forum regarding the white screen, but that seemed to fix itself after a re-boot.
are you still having a problem.
Reset the program by renaming the 21.0 folder
more info here
http://lata.me.uk/corel/reset/reset.htm

When you installed from the web installer did that download a service pack, SP 3 is now available, I was just wondering if that was provided or the older SP2

I am doing a cleanup of my pc and at the moment do not have VS installed
I will be installing 2018, soon, so will take note of install process


Everything seems to be OK now. The white screen fixed itself after I stopped VS2018 and restarted it. I didn't have to reboot the machine.

I don't recall if SP2 or SP3 was downloaded, sorry! The version running is 21.3.0.141 if that helps.
Cyberherbalist
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:43 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel

Re: Is there image stabilization?

Postby Ken Berry » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:50 pm

That's the latest version number, and the 3 indicates that SP3 was installed.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20138
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests