NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Tutorial: How to create DVD Workshop 16:9 menus

For MovieFactory, WorkShop, PictureShow

Moderators: lata, Ken Berry

Postby Helge » Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:22 pm

johndvd: The userinterface of pgcedit has changed. Please read my note above (Sun Sep 17, 2006 8:19 pm).
Helge
 
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2006 12:53 pm
Location: Germany

Postby sjj1805 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:53 am

Here I will demonstrate how to quickly prepare a ready made 16.9 DVD Menu for use with the method outlined by Helge. You will need a copy of PhotoImpact to be able to perform this task.

Step 1. Open an existing 16.9 DVD Menu (or you can make a new one from scratch but at this stage use a 16.9 template)

Image

Step 2. On the Toolbar select [Adjust] [Resize]
Image

Step 3. On the Pop Up dialogue Box ensure that you have selected the following:
a. apply to Image & Objects
b. Keep aspect Ration is UNCHECKED.
c. Alter the width to 768 pixels

Image

Step 4. Use [Save As] to create a COPY of your DVD Menu - you do not wish to lose the original (do you?)

Image

You now add this new resized menu to your DVD Workshop Library.
I would suggest you create custom libraries in which to keep them.

Please click your browsers 'back button.'
or if using tabs, please close this tab
Last edited by sjj1805 on Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby sjj1805 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:53 am

Image

Please click your browsers 'back button.'
or if using tabs, please close this tab
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby sjj1805 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:54 am

Image

Please click your browsers 'back button.'
or if using tabs, please close this tab
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby sjj1805 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:54 am

Image

Please click your browsers 'back button.'
or if using tabs, please close this tab
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby sjj1805 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:55 am

Image

GeorgeW wrote:PGCedit changed from the version demonstrated here -- you now have to get into Domain Stream Attributes from the MAIN window.


Please click your browsers 'back button.'
or if using tabs, please close this tab
Last edited by sjj1805 on Tue Apr 03, 2007 2:25 am, edited 2 times in total.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby sjj1805 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:55 am

Image

Please click your browsers 'back button.'
or if using tabs, please close this tab
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby sjj1805 » Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:55 am

Image

[Please click your browsers 'back button.'
or if using tabs, please close this tab
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby tecstar » Wed Jul 18, 2007 8:32 pm

I have created a DVD menu with text buttons and converted it to widescreen. It works ok on a widescreen tv, but not on a 4:3 tv. The menu's look ok but the highlights are screwed up. I guess this is covered in this paragraph:

" "16:9 menus" guide:

You cannot change the aspect ratio of a menu with buttons!

The problem is that the highlight is designed for a specific aspect ratio. Therefore, if you convert a 4:3 menu to 16:9, the highlights of the buttons will not be at the right place any more. Do a test, and play it on your standalone, and you will understand what I mean.

Furthermore, in 16:9, it is necessary to have at least 2 different sets (called groups) of highlights. One group is used for the true 16:9, displayed on a 16:9 TV. Another group is used when the menu is displayed on a 4:3 TV in letterboxed mode, and the third group is for the 4:3 TV in pan&scan mode. (Note that the order of the groups is not relevant, and depends of the way the subpics are muxed.) Most of the time, only one of the two 4:3 display modes is allowed (via domain streams attributes), and therefore only 2 groups are defined, but if both the letterbox and the pan&scan checkboxes are ticked, 3 groups are necessary. In any case, the authoring program will create only one group if it is limited (or is instructed) to create a 4:3 menu."

So can anyone explain how i create another group of highlights that are used when viewed in 4:3?
tecstar
 

Postby sjj1805 » Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:54 pm

Just an idea - haven't tried this but -

Is it feasible to create two sets of menus.
one set for 4.3 viewing, the other set for 16.9 viewing.
You would also require a Root menu with 2 options.
Option 1. view menus in 16.9 - this sends you to the 16.9 set of menus
Option2. view menus in 4.3 - this sends you to the 4.3 set.

I realise it is more work but possibly it is a way of overcoming the problem.
Just to repeat - I haven't tried this and am "thinking out loud."
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Re: Tutorial: How to create DVD Workshop 16:9 menus

Postby thoitrangmanly » Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:53 am

This is very informative. Thank you guys.
User avatar
thoitrangmanly
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:44 am
Location: Hà Nội, Việt Nam
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: B
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asus RZ11
processor: i9 27870
ram: 32GB
Video Card: RTX 2080
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: DELL

Previous

Return to DVD Product Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests