NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Insufficient Memory

Insufficient Memory

Postby Legacy Author » Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:24 pm

LOVE Photo Impact, and even though I upgraded to Paint Shop Pro 2018, I still find myself going back to PI. The only problem I have EVER experienced is "Insufficient Memory", even though I have an 8gb 1070 video card and 16gb of RAM.

Is there a patch or does anyone have any suggestions?

I know that other programs have a place where you can set the allocate how much memory a program uses. Is there any setting like this for PI, maybe in the registry?
Legacy Author
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Insufficient Memory

Postby jernatety » Fri Apr 06, 2018 1:55 pm

It's the physical ram and the processor on your computer. Doesn't have anything to do with the video card. I would suggest closing all other open programs when you plan on doing any resource intensive image editing. It's not going to change unless you get a different computer. I have the same problem when I edit on my company issued business class Lenovo laptop. Although it has 16gb of ram and an i5 core processor, it does the same thing. It never does it on my personal HP laptop with 16gb of ram and an i7 dual core processor.
jernatety
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2016 3:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: Insufficient Memory

Postby Legacy Author » Sun Jul 15, 2018 8:12 pm

Task manager only says I'm using 40% of my RAM, though. Are you saying that if I upgrade my RAM, I won't get/will get fewer insufficient memory warnings?
Legacy Author
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Insufficient Memory

Postby lata » Mon Jul 16, 2018 9:04 am

Hi

What version of PI are you using?
I have X3 installed with 16 Gb ram and do not get this error.
I do not think increasing the ram will fix this issue.
What are you actually doing when the error shows?

i assume you have re-installed the program?
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10828
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: Insufficient Memory

Postby Legacy Author » Fri Feb 22, 2019 7:49 pm

It shows in my information to the right. X3. And yes, I even reinstalled Windows and reinstalled it.

What am I doing? Just editing large pictures with multiple objects. The funny thing is that on my last computer, much weaker but still with 16gb of RAM, I never ran out of memory.

I have 16 GB of RAM and it's just frustrating.
Legacy Author
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:17 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP Omen 870-255xt
processor: i7 7700
ram: 16GB
Video Card: nVidia 1070
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 3 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Vizio 43" M-series 4k television
Corel programs: Photo Impact X3, Paint Shop Pro 2018

Re: Insufficient Memory

Postby lata » Sat Feb 23, 2019 10:25 am

Hi
Just trying to edit an image 5472 x 3648
Added a lot of shapes, as I did that I watched Task Manager – Performance to view the ram used
There was no change when adding these objects.
I think the error report may be describing the problem incorrectly.
That is if the program simply stalls and cannot id the problem could return any obscure message
So what do you see viewing Task Manager
What type of images are you using , my test used Jpeg.

Clutching at straws, can you run the program choosing to “Run As Administrator” does that make a difference?
Can you provide a sample?
If you save your work as a UFO, you can upload to a sharing site, one drive google drive, Dropbox etc
I am quite willing to try using your files.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10828
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D


Return to PhotoImpact

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests