NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

x4 capture clip with subtitles from movie DVD

Discuss anything about video editing, HD, codecs, etc......

Moderator: Ron P.

x4 capture clip with subtitles from movie DVD

Postby Glenn in Chile » Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:53 am

I desperately need to capture clips with English audio and Spanish subtitles from an inserted DVD movie. Playing the DVD movie allows me the typical menu options of selecting languages for audio and subtitles, however, I´m unable to configure these selections when I capture a clip with X4. Is this possible?
Glenn in Chile
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:24 am
Location: Chille
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. H61M - C LGA1155
processor: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU 3.00GHz Ivy Bridge
ram: 4.00 GB
Video Card: 1023MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 EVGA
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: SyncMaster on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Corel programs: VS Ultimate X8

Re: x4 capture clip with subtitles from movie DVD

Postby Ron P. » Wed Aug 24, 2011 12:58 pm

Welcome to the forums, :)

No it's not possible. It takes more of a professional program to do this.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12198
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter

Re: x4 capture clip with subtitles from movie DVD

Postby Glenn in Chile » Wed Aug 24, 2011 3:49 pm

Thanks, Ron. Would you know of an alternative option other than using a more professional program - possibly converting the dvd to another format before editing with X4?
Glenn in Chile
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:24 am
Location: Chille
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. H61M - C LGA1155
processor: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU 3.00GHz Ivy Bridge
ram: 4.00 GB
Video Card: 1023MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 EVGA
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: SyncMaster on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Corel programs: VS Ultimate X8

Re: x4 capture clip with subtitles from movie DVD

Postby Ken Berry » Wed Aug 24, 2011 8:52 pm

I think the danger in conversion lies in the possibility that the original substitles are embedded in the original format, and may be lost when it is converted to another format.

You could try a program called Video ReDo which I think might be able to do what you are after. It can certainly extract a video with a particular audio language stream when the original has several alternative language streams embedded (as many commercial DVDs do). So it might be able to do the same with subtitles. However, I have never tried this with Video ReDo so can't say for sure. And I no longer have it on this computer, so can't test it to see...

You can download a trial copy of Video ReDo from its website http://www.videoredo.com/en/index.htm And if it does the job, then the pricing is relatively moderate...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20271
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: x4 capture clip with subtitles from movie DVD

Postby Glenn in Chile » Mon Sep 19, 2011 2:57 am

Ken, thanks for your suggestion. In fact I found a free program called Handbrake that does just the job I need. It takes a bit of getting used to, but it works like a charm. Rgds, Glenn
Glenn in Chile
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:24 am
Location: Chille
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. H61M - C LGA1155
processor: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU 3.00GHz Ivy Bridge
ram: 4.00 GB
Video Card: 1023MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 EVGA
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: SyncMaster on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Corel programs: VS Ultimate X8

Re: x4 capture clip with subtitles from movie DVD

Postby Ken Berry » Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:55 am

How do you handle the fact that Handbrake only outputs in MP4 and MKV formats? If you are going to make another DVD including your footage, I would have thought the two conversions (DVD mpeg-2 > MP4 and then MP4 back to DVD) would have involved some serious loss of quality.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20271
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: x4 capture clip with subtitles from movie DVD

Postby Glenn in Chile » Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:03 pm

Ken Berry wrote:How do you handle the fact that Handbrake only outputs in MP4 and MKV formats? If you are going to make another DVD including your footage, I would have thought the two conversions (DVD mpeg-2 > MP4 and then MP4 back to DVD) would have involved some serious loss of quality.



Hi Ken. Sorry for not replying sooner. Had to put my video project on the back burner for a while and I haven't logged in to the forum. But now I'm back to it, and anxious to get it right. Hopefully with your help I can get it done.

Yes, there is a loss of quality with the double conversion, so it would be great to avoid that if possible. In the meantime, I'm using the mp4 file I get from Handbrake to do my editing in VS X4 during the creative phase. I'm making some educational material, so the quality loss is not a critical factor in the final product, though it would be great to get it right and produce something without the loss.

Another stumbling block I've found is that VS X4 plays some, but not all, of the mp4 files produced by Handbrake stretched out vertically, with black bars on the left and right. This does not happen with all the mp4 files, so I was hoping to find a fix with X4. Any idea? I can put the clip in the overlay track and fit it to the screen, which is a workaround, but I need it to be in the first track so I can add other material to the overlay tracks. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.
Glenn in Chile
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 2:24 am
Location: Chille
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. H61M - C LGA1155
processor: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU 3.00GHz Ivy Bridge
ram: 4.00 GB
Video Card: 1023MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 EVGA
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: SyncMaster on NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Corel programs: VS Ultimate X8


Return to VIDEO & DVD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest