NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Videostudio pro x4

Videostudio pro x4

Postby momoe » Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:54 pm

Hi. new to the forum and just downloaded the trial fro vs pro x4. I am trying to create a video slideshow of just images. I got that so far. everything looks good except on playback, the image is only 3x5" or so. I want to have a large image because I am presenting photos to clients. I want to try this out before I buy the program. any help would be great.

Thanks so much
momoe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Quanta 361B 15.2C
processor: 2.20 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
ram: 4gb
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 130M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 320GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ViewSonic 24" HDMI 1080p HD

Re: Videostudio pro x4

Postby Ron P. » Sat Mar 26, 2011 8:00 pm

Welcome to the forums,

Inches have no meaning when it comes to video. Video is measured in Pixels. When you render your project (Share>Create Video File), what settings are you using? Are you wanting to create a video slide-show to be viewed on the internet/your PC, television, and if the latter, standard or high-definition?
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12197
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter

Re: Videostudio pro x4

Postby momoe » Sat Mar 26, 2011 8:28 pm

Yes. Slideshow for tv/net. HD. I'm using hi res images and playback for now is on a 24" viewsonic HD screen. The window is rather small though. I am new to the program so I let it choose to make a complete template for me and I plugged in my images.
momoe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Quanta 361B 15.2C
processor: 2.20 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
ram: 4gb
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 130M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 320GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ViewSonic 24" HDMI 1080p HD

Re: Videostudio pro x4

Postby Trevor Andrew » Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:27 am

Hi

HD video uses 16:9 as its frame ratio.
So if you have an image using 16:9 ratio then it will fill the screen.

My camera produces images at 5184 x 4321px this is 3 x 2 ratio, using these will produce a border.

Some cameras use 4:3. but again trying to fit this into a widescreen will again result in a border.

So if you wish to fill the screen the image has to be the same shape, and that’s 16:9. (for example 2048 x 1152px is 16:9 ratio)

Right click an image in the timeline and select properties, will show the pixel size of your image.

Safe Area or Overscan.
When we view video on a TV set we loose some detail around the edges, this is called “overscan”
Generally we don’t notice the effect when viewing video But when using still images we tend to crop them quite tightly, the overscan effect is more noticeable.

How much, well about 10%, yep that’s a lot.
So if you are intending to re-size the images, take care.

Overscan is not noticeable when viewing the video on the PC monitor, only on a TV set.
Trevor Andrew
 

Re: Videostudio pro x4

Postby BrianCee » Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:37 am

momoe - where are you putting the photos in the timeline ? - are they in the top video track, or one of the overlay tracks ? If in the overlay track have you selected 'fit to screen' as the size option.
BrianCee
 

Re: Videostudio pro x4

Postby momoe » Sun Mar 27, 2011 2:18 pm

Apparently I didn't go far enough in the process. I built it it and hit playback. I decided to do a test and make a disk to see how it looked. I then saw the options to make it 16:9 Thanks for the help
momoe
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 4:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Quanta 361B 15.2C
processor: 2.20 gigahertz Intel Core2 Duo
ram: 4gb
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 130M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 320GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ViewSonic 24" HDMI 1080p HD


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 37 guests