NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

No Canon RAW files showing

AfterShot Pro General Questions & Getting Started Forum

No Canon RAW files showing

Postby yukoner2 » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:49 am

I've just installed After Shot 3. My problem is that it doesn't show any Canon RAW CR2 files from my 77D? It reads Nikon and Sony just fine.
Is there a setting I need to change.
Norm
yukoner2
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 4GB

Re: No Canon RAW files showing

Postby yukoner2 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:20 pm

I gather no-one else has had this problem?
yukoner2
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 4GB

Re: No Canon RAW files showing

Postby RayC » Fri Aug 18, 2017 3:59 am

Well, I have a similar problem, and the answer is... the sound of crickets.

If you go to this link and click on "Canon" to expand the list, you will see that the Canon 77D is not listed as one of the supported Canon models.

Since I asked the same question about support for the new 6d Mark II, and the 77D came out in February, the chances of seeing an update to support my camera seem very slim indeed.

Support for this product is disappointing to say the least. I have ASP 2, and I'm glad I checked first before upgrading to V.3. I may have to break down and buy Adobe Lightroom.
RayC
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P5Q
processor: Intel E8400 Core 2 DUO
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.64 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Viewsonic VG 191B (x2)

Re: No Canon RAW files showing

Postby yukoner2 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:01 am

RayC, I was thinking the same thing. After decades of PSP I may have to move on.
yukoner2
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 4GB

Re: No Canon RAW files showing

Postby RayC » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:14 am

Yukoner, Adobe has a free utility to convert your raw files to .DNG files, which may be compatible with your current software. It's a bit of a drag since you have to run all of your .CR2 files through this converter first, and if you want to keep your original RAW files, you will need twice as much storage because you'll have .CR2 and .DNG. I've tried it, and the .DNG files work with RAW processors that otherwise would not.
RayC
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS P5Q
processor: Intel E8400 Core 2 DUO
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.64 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Viewsonic VG 191B (x2)

Re: No Canon RAW files showing

Postby yukoner2 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:41 am

Thanks, Ray. I'll have a look.
yukoner2
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 4GB

Re: No Canon RAW files showing

Postby Benny » Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:24 pm

Hi, I also have the same problem since buying my 77D. Never thought about the software as my old 1100D worked fine and assumed if one Canon worked so would the rest. I did open a support case with Corel on 15th Aug but imagine this will just appear in the next release. Until then I am just using the Digital Photo Professional 4 that came with the camera. Not as easy to use but does the job without having to convert all the CR2 files.
Benny
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:16 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: No Canon RAW files showing

Postby yukoner2 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:07 pm

Corel's unwillingness, or incapability, to correct this issue is disappointing. I've been using Corel Products since the early '90s and am now considering changing.
yukoner2
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 5:45 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 4GB

Re: No Canon RAW files showing

Postby Chaplain Mark » Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:55 pm

I am finding the same issue, no recognition of CR2 files at all.

I received a free copy of AS Pro 2 with a Wacom tablet purchase, then installed AS Pro 3 after discovering Pro 2 would not read/open CR2 files.

Have submitted a support ticket with Corel regarding the issue; if it turns out AS Pro 3 cannot for sure cannot read my CR2 files, then I will have no use for Corel products in my imaging workflow.
Chaplain Mark
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:42 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit


Return to General Questions & Getting Started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests