NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Is there any way to improve output quality?

Moderator: Ken Berry

Is there any way to improve output quality?

Postby MikeMoss » Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:47 pm

Hi

I'm new to Motion Studio, I'm using the evaluation version.
I haven't bought the product yet.

Is there a way to improve the output quality of the end product?
I've set the options to "Best" and the size as high as 1920 by 1080 but the final file is very low quality.

I usually work at 1600 by 900 and some times at full HD, but the video looks much more ragged then the animation files that I create.
I could really use this product but I need a better image quality then I'm getting.

I can see that this is probably good enough for online video like YouTube but I'm making files for DVD and computer display.

Thanks for the help.

Mike

I
MikeMoss
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Ada

Re: Is there any way to improve output quality?

Postby Ken Berry » Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:04 pm

I always output from MS3D using full AVI as the format i.e. uncompressed. And as I mostly do high def video these days, I use a size setting of either 1920 x 1080 or 1440 x 1080 as the defaults. The resulting files are large -- usually around 1 GB for a 10 second title. But I figure I have tons of storage space given the cheap price of hard disks these days. And the quality is always crisp and sharp.

I have played around with other output formats, but like you have not been overly impressed with them.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20565
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: Is there any way to improve output quality?

Postby MikeMoss » Wed Feb 06, 2013 8:18 pm

Ken Berry wrote:I always output from MS3D using full AVI as the format i.e. uncompressed. And as I mostly do high def video these days, I use a size setting of either 1920 x 1080 or 1440 x 1080 as the defaults. The resulting files are large -- usually around 1 GB for a 10 second title. But I figure I have tons of storage space given the cheap price of hard disks these days. And the quality is always crisp and sharp.


Hi

How are you doing that, I'm not familiar with the software and I haven't been able to find setting to create a high resolution output.
Like you said when videos before compression can be 80 gigabytes what 1 more for the title.

But I haven't been able to create a file larger then about 700 Mb no matter what settings I use.
I saw that increasing the size of the image didn't change the size of the saved file so I figured out that I wasn't gaining anything.

Thanks for the help.

Mike
MikeMoss
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Ada

Re: Is there any way to improve output quality?

Postby Ken Berry » Wed Feb 06, 2013 9:00 pm

I usually use the 'Export Video Overlay' option under File. There you are offered only AVI and TGA as possible formats. I choose AVI, and the default settings are Frame Based and Uncompressed at the frame size I have chosen (1920 or 1440 by 1080). Give the new file a name and let it convert. But you should be able to get the same result when you select 'Create Video File' instead and choose AVI as the output.

Some fiddling around in VS might be necessary to get any Chroma keying showing the overlaid title correctly. But the output from MS3D should still be excellent, regardless of any later fiddling!
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20565
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: Is there any way to improve output quality?

Postby MikeMoss » Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:07 am

Hi

I finally found the options in the save menu, and I got a crystal clear 1600 by 900 video.

I was also able to create a nVidia 3D Vision compatible stereo video.

It did distort the image putting the two images side by side in the same frame width as the full image should be.
I just thought, maybe if I make the image size twice the normal width it will come out normal ratio.

I'll try that.

Thanks for the help.

Mike
MikeMoss
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2013 6:36 pm
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Ada


Return to Motion Studio 3D

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest