NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Why do I get an error message: insufficient memory...

3D Video Products

Moderator: rwernyei

Why do I get an error message: insufficient memory...

Postby JoJoWasAMan » Thu Mar 18, 2010 9:31 pm

Re: Ulead COOL 3D Production Studio 1.0 International (INT) English

Hi

If I try to creat a 4 second AVI video clip, larger than: 384 x 288pix

I get an error message: insufficient memory...


...yet my PC seems to comply with the spec required for this software.

So how do I cure this problem ?

My PC's spec is:

Windows XP
Pentium 3
550MHz
256 MB Ram
Thanks Mac
JoJoWasAMan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:25 pm

Postby Ron P. » Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:15 pm

Mac,

256Mb RAM is not really enough to run WinXP, let alone any programs like Cool 3D. First thing I would do is invest in more RAM, bumping it up to about 2 gig.

How many HDD's do you have, and the free space on them. Having more than 1 HDD, where the read/write tasks are shared can help.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12197
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter

Postby sjj1805 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:29 pm

I wouldn't even dream of running Windows XP with less than 512MB of RAM
In fact my computers with XP all have 2GB.
Try running this: Free RAM Advisor tool
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby JoJoWasAMan » Fri Mar 19, 2010 12:15 pm

Hi both...
Thanks for your prompt replies.

This PC originally had Window 98.

The max memory is 256.
Currently 1 HDD.

So it looks like this PC will have to assigned to my ever growing stockpile of computer junk...

Unless there's an economical way of increasing the memory beyond the MB max ?

Any ideas ?

SJJ... What does the 'Free RAM Advisor tool' actually do ?
Thanks Mac
JoJoWasAMan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:25 pm

Postby sjj1805 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 7:41 pm

JoJoWasAMan wrote:......
SJJ... What does the 'Free RAM Advisor tool' actually do ?

It checks to see what RAM you already have installed, it checks to see what slots are available on your motherboard and the maximum capacity of those slots. It then tells you (advises!) what you have installed, what you can upgrade to, plus it even gives you various links to suitable RAM you can purchase online.

Having identified your RAM and what you need you can either purchase it directly off their site, or use that information to shop around and purchase it from some where else.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14914
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB


Return to Cool 3D / Cool 3DPS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests