Page 1 of 1

Crop Tool - "Last Applied" does not work

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2019 2:19 am
by Bareboats
After editing a couple thousand photos and cropping them, the crop tool has gone gollywonkers. The "Last Applied" option no longer works and it is slowing me down ... A LOT!

When I select "Last Applied", it stays on Free Form. I then have to use the handle to select the size I need because when I try to put the pixel number in the dimensions box, it just immediately goes back to where it was. As I'm sure many of you know, the handle is not all that accurate and I end up having to fiddle with it until I get it back to where I need it. It's really frustrating.

Are there any fixes? I have tried resetting all tools but that didn't work either. I still have about a thousand more photos to edit. :|

Re: Crop Tool - "Last Applied" does not work

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2019 2:52 am
by ehume
Try saving your workspace as a named workspace, THEN use File > Preferences > Reset Preferences. Then restore your named workspace. If you go this route, do not neglect to do all three steps.

Re: Crop Tool - "Last Applied" does not work

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2019 6:08 am
by hartpaul
Also set up a preset corresponding with the dimensions you want and when it changes (I noticed it changing sometimes back in PSP X2) you just use that preset again (making sure you have Maintain Aspect Ratio clicked).

Re: Crop Tool - "Last Applied" does not work

PostPosted: Sun May 05, 2019 12:08 pm
by Bareboats
Thanks so much to both of you. I've successfully managed to do both ... at least I "think" I was successful.

I'm not sure about the aspect ratio though. When I resized the photo, the aspect ratio was of course on ... but I didn't find a way to make sure it was still on when I set the preset size for the crop. I hope it is on. :(

You've saved me a lot of frustration with this fix.

One other thing that is taking time I don't have ... is that after adding type (my copyright) and then trying to locate the type where I want it to go ... it will "most of the time" stay on the vector ... but often changes to raster and I have to click on the vector again. Many times, I have to do this several times before it will stay on vector.

I found that if I go to the rectangle tool and click on vector and then back to the move tool, that somehow fixes the problem. Am I using the tool incorrectly? I suspect I am. :oops:

Re: Crop Tool - "Last Applied" does not work

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 8:02 pm
by MarkZ
Bareboats wrote:One other thing that is taking time I don't have ... is that after adding type (my copyright) and then trying to locate the type where I want it to go ... it will "most of the time" stay on the vector ... but often changes to raster and I have to click on the vector again. Many times, I have to do this several times before it will stay on vector.

I found that if I go to the rectangle tool and click on vector and then back to the move tool, that somehow fixes the problem. Am I using the tool incorrectly? I suspect I am. :oops:

I interpret your note to say that after applying text you want to move the text to a different spot on your image and when you try to do that you sometimes inadvertently click outside the vector area and make the underlying raster layer active. Yes, this is frustrating and I've done it many times.

Use the layers palette to help with selecting the text vector. In the attachment the layer with "Chris's cat" is blue indicating that it is the active layer and a box appears around the text. Use the pick tool (second tool in the tools palette, white arrow pointing up and to the left) rather than the move tool for moving the text. When the pick is hovering in the center of the text box the icon changes from a single arrow to four arrows in a cross; this indicates you can click on the text and drag it to where you want. If you miss, click on the vector layer again to select it and repeat the process. You should be able to accomplish your move fairly quickly using this process.


PSP2019-14.jpg
Text vector layer active

Re: Crop Tool - "Last Applied" does not work

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 1:36 am
by JoeB
Or, alternatively, if you have the Move tool active just hold down the Shift key then you can click and hold anywhere in the image and drag the vector layer. The Shift key with the Move tool will make the move tool lock onto whichever layer is active (highlighted in blue) in the layer's palette, even if that layer is hidden behind another layer.

Re: Crop Tool - "Last Applied" does not work

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 10:31 pm
by MarkZ
JoeB, thanks, very useful tip.