NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby Nrde » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:05 pm

I tried to search for similar issue but I did not find any. Also I have tried to find a possible setting that might affect this behaviour.

PSP2019

I have 2 images with same dimensions (2048x2048) and I want to copy a layer from file 1 as a layer into file 2.

- The images have the same dimensions and as I make the selection with ctrl-a I have the "ants" indicating the whole area/layer has been selected.
- I then ctrl-c the selection and open/switch to file 2
- I select edit->pas as new layer

result: the selection from file is is pasted in a new layer centered. If the only item in the page happens to be lower right corner for example, I really want it to be pasted to lower right corner also.

expected result: the selection is pasted to the same position it is in file 1

Why does it matter. For example when skinning liveries the positioning of graphic elements needs to be pixel perfect. Photoshop, Paint.net and gimp work just fine, but I at least used to like PSP more.
Nrde
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:35 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: PSP, painter essentials, photomirage

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby JoeB » Fri Jan 18, 2019 2:14 am

When you use Paste as New Layer then PSP will always paste the non-transparent part of the image centered on the new image.

However, if you are selecting the whole layer that has transparency with a non-transparent object and want to paste it in the same position as a layer on another image that is THE SAME PIXEL SIZE AND THE SAME PPI (PIXELS PER INCH) RESOLUTION, then after you have used Ctrl+A and Ctrl_C and switched to the second image you should first create a new blank layer on that image, then do another Ctrl+A on that image, and then do Ctrl+Shift+L (Paste Into Selection), then Select None to remove the selection (I added the last step after reading Hartpaul's post further down the thread!). This will place the object in the same position in which is was in the original image, because it will paste the whole copied layer, including the transparent portions, into the selection.

If this is something that you do a lot then you can save a couple of clicks (or save a bunch of keystrokes) by recording a short script that, when you have switched to the second image, can create the new blank layer, select all, paste into selection and Select None to remove the selection. Then bind the script to an icon and place it on a convenient toolbar so that when you have switched to the second image you just have to click the icon to complete the actions. It would make the operation on the second image a one-click solution.
Last edited by JoeB on Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2315
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby Nrde » Fri Jan 18, 2019 10:29 am

JoeB wrote:When you use Paste as New Layer then PSP will always paste the non-transparent part of the image centered on the new image.


This seems to be kind of odd default, as other programs do preserve the transparent area. Surely if I wanted to paste only the non transparent part I could select only that to begin with. This is probably not the place to suggest features, but I think that if there was a setting or modifier it would be best of both worlds.

after you have used Ctrl+A and Ctrl_C and switched to the second image you should first create a new blank layer on that image, then do another Ctrl+A on that image, and then do Ctrl+Shift+L (Paste Into Selection). This will place the object in the same position in which is was in the original image, because it will paste the whole copied layer, including the transparent portions, into the selection.


Thank you for this solution, I tried something similar but it just felt clunky. Didn't occur to me that I could script it.
Nrde
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:35 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: PSP, painter essentials, photomirage

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby JoeB » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:21 pm

Nrde wrote:Thank you for this solution, I tried something similar but it just felt clunky. Didn't occur to me that I could script it.


Glad it helped. PSP's ability to be endlessly customized, and easy creation of bound scripts to be able to consolidate repetitive actions into one-click actions are, IMHO, the two major features that make PSP such a great program. It pays, when you regularly do repetitive things with your images, to consider whether or not those actions are amenable to being scripted. Most things are. :-)

And to make it easy to access such scripts that you use a lot, just consider creating a custom toolbar to hold those bound script icons.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2315
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby hartpaul » Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:20 am

Another way:
I work in windowed mode so I can see more than one image in the workspace. I also do a copy and paste as new layer by dragging the layer thumb of one image onto the other image in the workspace
This what you are experiencing:
01NormalCopyPaste.jpg


The pasted object is placed in the centre. You want to maintain all objects in the pasted image in the same alignment as the original.
This shows how this can be done:
02CopyMaintainPosition.jpg
Systems XP, Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 1803 Build 17134.285
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsusTex P7P55D
processor: IntelCore I 5 2.67 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby Nrde » Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:26 am

Thanks hartpaul,

this is a similar kind of workaround I used also (a frame), but it's still a workaround :) I'm still puzzled Corel chose copying to work like this and why I did not pay attention to it before...
Nrde
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:35 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: PSP, painter essentials, photomirage

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby JoeB » Sat Jan 19, 2019 1:28 am

Seems like a lot more work than the one-click script idea. :-)
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2315
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby hartpaul » Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:21 am

Yes it is Joe, But if you only need it once then that is a way. It is based on working with film where we used registration marks to make sure transparencies aligned when making posterised slides.
The paste in centre is the way it has always been done in PSP and has been useful for making collages or even where you needed to have an image exactly in the centre.
Again perhaps something that Corel could include in a later version- the ability to have the pasted image centred or maintain alignment checkbox.
Last edited by hartpaul on Sat Jan 19, 2019 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Systems XP, Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 1803 Build 17134.285
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsusTex P7P55D
processor: IntelCore I 5 2.67 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby Jean-Luc » Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:50 pm

JoeB wrote:However, if you are selecting the whole layer that has transparency with a non-transparent object and want to paste it in the same position as a layer on another image that is THE SAME PIXEL SIZE AND THE SAME PPI (PIXELS PER INCH) RESOLUTION, then after you have used Ctrl+A and Ctrl_C and switched to the second image you should first create a new blank layer on that image, then do another Ctrl+A on that image, and then do Ctrl+Shift+L (Paste Into Selection). This will place the object in the same position in which is was in the original image, because it will paste the whole copied layer, including the transparent portions, into the selection.

Hi JoeB,
it doesn't work on my side. Pasting in the target selection fills the selection. I'm missing something ?
http://www.350trucs.com
Installed PSP Ultimate: X7, X8, X9, 2018 and 2019.
Jean-Luc
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:50 pm
Location: Belgium (French speaking)
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Computer N751J
processor: Intel i7-4710 HQ 2.50GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
Corel programs: PSP X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby Jean-Luc » Sat Jan 19, 2019 2:53 pm

Tested again and it seems you miss one step : Lock transparency. When done, pasting in target selection works as you said. :)
http://www.350trucs.com
Installed PSP Ultimate: X7, X8, X9, 2018 and 2019.
Jean-Luc
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:50 pm
Location: Belgium (French speaking)
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Computer N751J
processor: Intel i7-4710 HQ 2.50GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
Corel programs: PSP X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby hartpaul » Sat Jan 19, 2019 4:54 pm

Works OK for me without a Lock Transparency

Two images A and B containing an object surrounded by transparency . You wish to copy A to B and maintain size and location.

1. Image A active : Control A or Selections > Select All,
Right click > Copy or Edit > Copy

2. Image B active . New Layer > Transparent.
Control A or Selection > Select All
Right click > Paste into Selection
Selections > Select None
All done
Systems XP, Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 1803 Build 17134.285
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsusTex P7P55D
processor: IntelCore I 5 2.67 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby Jean-Luc » Sat Jan 19, 2019 5:35 pm

Tested one more time.
You are right but I had something wrong when testing and the only way to achieve the task was to Lock Transparency.
If I can reproduce the problem, will tell.
:)
http://www.350trucs.com
Installed PSP Ultimate: X7, X8, X9, 2018 and 2019.
Jean-Luc
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 10:50 pm
Location: Belgium (French speaking)
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Computer N751J
processor: Intel i7-4710 HQ 2.50GHz
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 Tb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M
Corel programs: PSP X7, X8, X9, 2018, 2019

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby JoeB » Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:29 pm

@hartpaul,

I have edited my post with the suggestion of creating a script to add the last command you suggested - i.e., Select None. Should have thought of that, and thanks for the reminder!
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2315
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby dangelic0 » Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:32 pm

Thank you thank you thank you. This thread saved me a lot of time (after I wasted some and before I thought to check here)
Dean
dangelic0
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2011 4:07 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Dell Inc. 0J584C
processor: 2.50 gigahertz Intel Core2 Quad
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 960GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: DELL SP2309W

Re: Copy pasting area with transparency into new layer buggy

Postby Pregily » Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:23 pm

JoeB wrote:However, if you are selecting the whole layer that has transparency with a non-transparent object and want to paste it in the same position as a layer on another image that is THE SAME PIXEL SIZE AND THE SAME PPI (PIXELS PER INCH) RESOLUTION, then after you have used Ctrl+A and Ctrl_C and switched to the second image you should first create a new blank layer on that image, then do another Ctrl+A on that image, and then do Ctrl+Shift+L (Paste Into Selection), then Select None to remove the selection (I added the last step after reading Hartpaul's post further down the thread!).


Thanks for help, finally got it, after long time with Google and Youtube...
Pregily
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 1:12 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Next

Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests