NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Borders

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

Borders

Postby Billynz55 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:11 am

I am a new user. Have experimented with add borders. Now I would like to delete/remove some from my photos. Need help with this. Some are pretty awful. Thanks.
Billynz55
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:49 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: RD2 Whanga
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: Paintshop Pro 2018 trial

Re: Borders

Postby hartpaul » Thu Aug 02, 2018 10:45 am

Easy. You delete the image and re do again from the original.
or the saved copy before you added a border.
You did work on a copy didn't you???

If unfortunately, it is the only copy of the image that you have (Always back up, always work on a copy) then the only way you can remove a simple border is to crop the image so the border is no longer there.
If most unfortunately, you used one of those complicated borders (Picture Frames - getting in before you experimented with them) that intrude on your original image then you can never get back the information that was wiped out when the border replaced that edge information.
Systems available Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 1809 Build 17763.615
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2542
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsusTex P7P55D
processor: IntelCore I 5 2.67 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019

Re: Borders

Postby JoeB » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:03 pm

And not only should you be working on a copy of the image while keeping the original, you should be working on layers on the copy and saving the image first in .pspimage format so that you have all of the layers, selections, etc., intact for future use if you want to change things or delete some additions you made originally.

When I open an image the first thing I do is promote it to a regular raster layer and duplicate that layer. That way I'm starting by working on a duplicate copy of the original. If I save that - as well as any changes I make - as a .pspimage then not only is the original .jpg/png/tif or whatever still not touched but I have a copy of it, untouched, as the bottom layer in the stack below the layers on which I did my manipulations.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Borders

Postby LeviFiction » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:19 pm

Add Borders flattens the image. Which reminds me I was working on an alternative to that. I should get back to that.
LeviFiction
Advisor
 
Posts: 5410
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: PSP: 8, 9, X, XI, X2, X8,X9, 2018, 2019

Re: Borders

Postby JoeB » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:23 pm

LeviFiction wrote:Add Borders flattens the image. Which reminds me I was working on an alternative to that. I should get back to that.


I didn't realize that. And it's a pretty silly way to implement that feature IMHO. Yes, an alternative would be a great idea!
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit

Re: Borders

Postby hartpaul » Fri Aug 03, 2018 12:35 am

Perhaps a wish list for 2020. Picture frames does not merge the files and adds the frame as a new layer (just learned that by testing it so my warning about using frames was wrong) .

Make 'Add Borders' add the borders on a new raster layer and have that as an option as the auto merge does save a couple of steps as you manually merge it.
Systems available Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 & version 1809 Build 17763.615
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2542
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsusTex P7P55D
processor: IntelCore I 5 2.67 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: AOC
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018,2019

Re: Borders

Postby Billynz55 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:33 am

Thank you all. I was hoping for a more elegant fix. Did the revert to original. And duh..... I didn't keep a copy so all editing was lost. Had thought a complete history was saved. But if image is flattened that wouldn't be useful. Thought about cropping and will go that route. Yes a change to how Borders are implemented is essential. Using the trial version and until this was in no doubt about buying. Thanks again. Billy.
Billynz55
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:49 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Hard_Drive_Capacity: RD2 Whanga
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: Paintshop Pro 2018 trial

Re: Borders

Postby JoeB » Fri Aug 03, 2018 2:33 am

hartpaul wrote:Perhaps a wish list for 2020. Picture frames does not merge the files and adds the frame as a new layer (just learned that by testing it so my warning about using frames was wrong) .

Make 'Add Borders' add the borders on a new raster layer and have that as an option as the auto merge does save a couple of steps as you manually merge it.


I believe that there are a couple of older scripts that can add borders on new raster layers - maybe one by Suzshook - but I'll have to search for them when I get a bit of time. Kinda busy with a video project at the moment. :-(
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2019 64bit
JoeB
 
Posts: 2363
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2019, 32 & 64-bit


Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests