NEW! PhotoMirage

How to get Ulead Cool 3D to work in Vista

A forum dedicated to Vista / Windows 7 related fixes and work rounds in relation to Corel's Intervideo/Ulead range of products.

Moderator: Ken Berry

Postby Danny4 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 5:26 pm

Oh I have my MyBook 1TB for photo, videos, and Project for ulead and Corel.
is it right not need to format my computer? just get my XP CD copy to install it and Visata change to XP?
I am thinking about XP not accept burn DVD only CD. Vista accept to burn DVD.
Danny
User avatar
Danny4
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:05 pm

Postby sjj1805 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 10:58 pm

I also have a Western Digital 1TB external USB Drive!
You cannot install a "Windows" operating system onto a USB drive for technical reasons. (It is possible though to install Non windows Operating systems such as various flavours of Linux.)

No there is no need to format your existing hard drive, what you need to do is see how much hard drive space is available on your existing hard drive.
You then have two options

1. Install a second hard drive
or
2. Split your existing hard drive into 2 partitions.

Option 1 is straightforward - open the case and plug it in.
Option 2 is a matter of resizing the existing hard drive to make it smaller, your files and operating system are safe and remain on the shrunken hard drive and at this point in time your computer starts up as it did before, you just have less free hard drive space available. Next you create a new partition in the empty hard drive space created then you install XP into that new partition. Your computer is then a dual boot computer and you can either start your computer up as you did before in Vista, or you can start it up in XP.

For full details you need to read...
Creating a Dual Boot Vista/XP System
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14922
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby Danny4 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:11 pm

Oh I don't have second hard disk. all right. I don't use Cool 3D now. I wish Corel wil lhave a new Cool 3D 4.0 for Windows 7 in future. Thanks.
Danny
User avatar
Danny4
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:05 pm

Postby sjj1805 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:14 pm

Try installing a copy of XP on a virtual drive on your 1TB Mybook
Get ALL of your older programs to Run with Vista

It is easier to install than it might look in the screen shots.
I have several virtual computers on my 1TB external drive - perhaps some 20 or so in total.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14922
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby Danny4 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:32 pm

Corel product compatibility
Corel is already making news as a leading developer of Windows® 7 software, and we are committed to ensuring that all our core products work on this newest Microsoft® operating system. We continue to work closely with Microsoft to ensure consumers maximize their Windows 7 experience.

The following Corel products work on Windows 7:

CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X4
Corel DESIGNER Technical Suite X4
Digital Studio 2010
Home Office
MovieWriter Pro 2010
MovieWriter Pro Ultimate 2010
Painter 11
Painter Essentials 4
Painter Sketch Pad
Paint it! touch
PaintShop Photo Express 2010
Paint Shop Pro Photo X2 Ultimate
VideoStudio Express 2010
VideoStudio Pro X2
WinDVD 2010
WinDVD Pro 2010
WinZip 14
WordPerfect Office X4
These products have been tested and have no known major issues when running on Windows 7. They will provide a similar experience to the same product running on Windows Vista® or previous operating systems. New Windows 7 features may or may not be supported, depending on the product. Please make sure that you have installed the latest service pack for any product you are running on Windows 7.

How is Corel working to support Windows 7 compatibility going forward?
In addition to making sure our major product lines run on Windows 7, we are also working closely with PC partners to ensure that our latest versions of software are available on Windows 7-equipped PCs.

"Microsoft is proud to recognize Corel as the Global ISV Consumer Partner of the Year [2009]. Corel has delivered a broad and innovative portfolio of consumer software based on Microsoft technologies," said Corinne Sharp, National Director, Partner Channel, Microsoft Canada. "Corel is developing its next generation of creative consumer products for the Windows 7 platform to build on features such as Windows Touch, Jump Lists and Libraries."


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Discover an all-new creative experience with Corel software for Windows 7 and Windows Touch.
Danny
User avatar
Danny4
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:05 pm

Postby sjj1805 » Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:36 pm

No mention of:
DVD Workshop
MediaStudio
PhotoImpact
Cool 3D Production Studio
Cool 3D
Gif Animator
MovieFactory
WinDVD 9

and that's without looking too hard or thinking too long.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14922
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby Danny4 » Sun Oct 25, 2009 3:21 am

If I use Virtual Computer to my Mybook USB, Will it lost my photo, videos, and etc???
Danny
User avatar
Danny4
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:05 pm

Postby sjj1805 » Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:09 am

No.
When you create a virtual PC - on your "real hard drive" - the 1TB MyBook, the Virtual hard drive is just a computer file - bit like a Video file or a large spreadsheet or some other large file.

Virtual PC or Virtual Box are very similar programs, both are free. If you run Virtual PC it then treats that computer file as if it was a hard drive.
No matter what you do when using the virtual computer, nothing on your "real hard drive" gets affected. It is a great way to test things out - so if you find a bit of software you are interested in you can "install it" on your virtual computer to see what it is and what it does. If you like it you might decide to install it on your "real computer."

I am trying to simplify things a little when I say your "real computer" because the virtual computer acts and behaves and is used just like your "real computer".

Go ahead give it a try - you cannot break anything.
Don't be afraid when you create your first virtual hard drive and it asks you to format the hard drive (I remember I was a bit worried the first time.) You are not formatting your "real hard drive" you are formatting the virtual hard drive - the one that is in fact just a computer file.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14922
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby Danny4 » Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:12 pm

Mine is WD MyBook. it does not have open hard drive for put xp cd.
I downloaded Virtual PC and Add Windows XP in my regular hard disk. not WD MyBook because they don't have to open hard drive. then start but they say not support. They say Reboot Mode.
Danny
User avatar
Danny4
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:05 pm

Postby sjj1805 » Mon Oct 26, 2009 12:58 am

Danny4 wrote:Mine is WD MyBook. it does not have open hard drive for put xp cd. :?: :shock: :?:
I downloaded Virtual PC and Add Windows XP in my regular hard disk. not WD MyBook because they don't have to open hard drive. then start but they say not support. They say Reboot Mode.


I think you are getting confused..
Do this.....

1. Hook up your external hard drive.
2. Install Virtual PC
3. Run Virtual PC and then select the option to create a new virtual machine.
4. It asks you where you want to put that virtual machine - create a folder on your external hard drive (VirtualMachines would be a good name!)
5. It asks a few more questions such as what sort of operating system you will be installing on that new virtual machine - select XP from the list of options. It will ask you how much RAM to allocate to that virtual machine - this depends upon how much you can afford to spare.
6. You then start that virtual machine and you initially get a screen like this:
Image
This is because you now need to tell your Virtual Computer to use your CD Drive.
Image

Rather than duplicate my step by step tutorial please view this link:
Get ALL of your older programs to Run with Vista

You can skip the first part (all about where to get a legitimate copy of windows from) and start reading from:

Project - Create a Virtual Windows XP Computer.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14922
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby Danny4 » Mon Oct 26, 2009 7:03 pm

[url]Image[/url]

What do I do? My HP Recovery CD is not working.

My XP home premioum and Visa home preuim. I think it is not work..
Danny
User avatar
Danny4
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:05 pm

Postby Danny4 » Mon Oct 26, 2009 8:00 pm

[url]Image[/url]

What do I do?
Danny
User avatar
Danny4
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 4:05 pm

Postby sjj1805 » Mon Oct 26, 2009 9:25 pm

Tha is because it is not a "XP installation disc" you have a manufacturers restore disc. These only work on your manufacturers computer such as a DELL restore disc will restore a DELL computer back to the way it was when you first bought it. A Hewlett Packard restore disc will restore a Hewlett Packard computer back to the way it was when you first bought it etc.

A virtual PC is like a PC that was self built and so there isn't a recovery disc for it.

You might still be able to create an XP installation disc provided the files exist on either your computers hard drive or you can find them on the recovery disc, they should be in a folder named i386

some links:
Build an XP-SP2 Recovery Disc
Scroll down to: Making a CD for Windows XP, 2000, 2003, and NT
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14922
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Re: How to get Ulead Cool 3D to work in Vista

Postby somneim » Sun Apr 17, 2011 4:30 pm

I would say that it will be better if you install Win 7, it is far more light than vista. I have so much similar problems running programs and applications.
somneim
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:02 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: GM880-7Dh2
processor: AMD x4 Phenom
ram: 8GB
Video Card: GTX460
sound_card: Creative
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips

Previous

Return to Microsoft Vista / Windows 7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest