NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

DVDWS2 on a new pc

Moderator: DVDDoug

DVDWS2 on a new pc

Postby SPJ29 » Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:52 pm

I am planning on getting a new PC and it is absolutely crucial that DVDWS2 works on it.


Is there a patch that will allow me to install DVDWS2 on Vista or Windows 7 or will it install happily.
SPJ29
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:41 pm
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD 8 Core
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: NVidia 4GB
sound_card: Creative Sound Blaster
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6 TB

Re: DVDWS2 on a new pc

Postby skier-hughes » Sun Dec 19, 2010 6:07 pm

There isn't a patch.
It might work in simulation xp mode in windows 7. I'm about to try it out and see, but it might be a while - if only Xmas wasn't making so much work!!!!!!
skier-hughes
Microsoft MVP
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte
processor: Intel core 2 6420 2.13GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVidia GForce 8500GT
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 36GB 2TB

Re: DVDWS2 on a new pc

Postby Ron P. » Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:35 pm

If you're new machine is going to use the i7, then I would say you need to pray long and hard for a miracle. Some of the more recent programs, like DVD MF7 which was released before Win7 and the i7 has plenty of issues. We think it has to do with hyperthreading. You need to disable hyperthreading in the BIOS to get VS X3 and DVD MF7 to work.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12197
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter

Re: DVDWS2 on a new pc

Postby teknisyan » Wed Dec 22, 2010 6:58 pm

Hello SPJ29,

Unfornately DVD WorkShop 2 is not compatible to either Windows Vista or Windows 7. If you like to know which corel program are compatible with Windows Vista and Windows 7, please visit http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satellite/ ... 4516325170 for windows 7 and http://www.corel.com/vista for Windows 7.

Even if you use the Windows 7 compatibility mode, we cannot assure that the program will work on Windows 7 or Vista, since the program was not designed for Vista and Windows 7.
Like reading blogs?
About Tech
About Sports
Pnoy.Me - A URL Shortener
Follow me on Facebook & Twitter
User avatar
teknisyan
 
Posts: 2423
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:18 pm
Location: Riyadh, KSA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Sony Corporation VAIO
processor: Intel Corel i5
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
sound_card: Realtek HD Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB

Re: DVDWS2 on a new pc

Postby Ron P. » Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:46 pm

You're correct Abiel, not designed to..... (hum, that's a line out of the Apollo 13 movie..), anyway C3D PS and MSP 8 were not designed to work on Vista, yet I have and use both on Vista. So I think what the OP is looking for is basically someone that has installed it on Win7. However most of us here on the forums, take the position of Apollo 13 Ed Harris' character Gene Crantz, who's line shortly thereafter was "I don't care what it was designed to do..I care about what it can do." :lol: :lol:
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12197
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter

Re: DVDWS2 on a new pc

Postby SPJ29 » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:30 pm

Skier-Hughes please post in the new year, whether you have been successful at installing on W7.

Does anyone know if VIRTUALBOX would be the answer as I'm sure virtualbox must have been updated for vista/w7.
SPJ29
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:41 pm
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: AMD 8 Core
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: NVidia 4GB
sound_card: Creative Sound Blaster
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6 TB

Re: DVDWS2 on a new pc

Postby DVDDoug » Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:14 pm

I am planning on getting a new PC and it is absolutely crucial that DVDWS2 works on it.
You might try installing Win2K or WinXP and setting-up the PC for dual-boot.

But if you're updating your hardware & OS, it's probably time to "move-on"... If you haven't tried Movie Factory in awhile, it's been updated sever times since the "death" of DVD Workshop, and in some ways it has surpassed Workshop. Or, there are other alternatives... I've "upgraded" to DVD-LAb ($100 - $250 USD).
Head over heels,
No time to think.
It's like the whole world's
Out of... sync.

- Head Over Heels, The Go-Gos.
DVDDoug
Moderator
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 12:50 am
Location: Silicon Valley


Return to DVD Workshop

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron