NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

adding stripes to an auto image

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: Kathy_9

adding stripes to an auto image

Postby vintageseabee77 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:59 am

I'm using psp 8 mostly to crop & otherwise adjust images. I need help to add a colored stripe to an auto image. Can someone help me find which tool to use ?
vintageseabee77
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby Ken Berry » Tue Mar 27, 2018 3:01 am

Welcome to the forum.

I'm sure you will soon get a substantive answer to your question. But as a start can you please clarify if you are talking about PSP 8 (which is an old program more than 10 years old) or PSP X8 (which is only about 2 years old)?

I'm also going to move your post to the PaintShop forum, as you will get more answers there.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19957
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby JoeB » Tue Mar 27, 2018 3:57 am

Further to what Ken said, while I think I have a decent idea what you are looking to do it would be more helpful if you attached an example image of the type of stripe or stripes you wish to add. So if you have an image you can attach and post here of a similar striped auto that would make it easier for those trying to help to make that help more relevant to your needs. Also posting an image of the original to which you want to add the stripe would be even more helpful. There is usually good help available here, but we really can't read the minds of posters asking for specific type of help without some good details of what you are starting with and what you want to produce for a final output.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2018 (20.2.0.1 x64)
JoeB
 
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2018, 32 & 64-bit

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby hartpaul » Tue Mar 27, 2018 5:23 am

Just a question to Ken. I see that the OP is new and I understand there are some restrictions on those until they have made a certain number of posts. Does that include posting images?
Also I looked in the Before you Post Read This sticky thread and it mentions there using the Search function on the left whereas it is on the top right along with the Advanced Search. Might need a correction there.
Systems XP, Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 HDD C drive 7200 rpm
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2056
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsusTex P7P55D
processor: IntelCore I 5 2.67 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ T2200HD
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby Ken Berry » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:32 am

I am not aware of any restriction on including photos/attachments in the first two new posts. Just in the last day or so there was a new user whose first post included a photo...

As for the "above left", thank you. That has been there a very long time, though in fact the search function has always been above right. I suspect just a typo on Maureen's part... But thanks to you, I have now corrected it. :oops: :|
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 19957
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby bruce1951 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:08 am

'Simple' solution to adding a stripe.
Load image.
Duplicate image. (Just because you souldn't work on the original layer).
Now you have two layers.
Create a new Raster layer on top.
On the new Raster layer use the FreeHand selection tool to draw a stripe where you want/need it.
Then using the AirBrush tool select colour and spray the stripe. The colour will only be applied to the selected area.
Deselect the FreeHand tool.

Done.

bruce
bruce1951
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:39 am
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8gb

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby vintageseabee77 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 9:46 pm

Ken Berry wrote:Welcome to the forum.

I'm sure you will soon get a substantive answer to your question. But as a start can you please clarify if you are talking about PSP 8 (which is an old program more than 10 years old) or PSP X8 (which is only about 2 years old)?

I'm also going to move your post to the PaintShop forum, as you will get more answers there.


Thanks for the quick reply, Ken & it is PSP X8 I'm using
vintageseabee77
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby vintageseabee77 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:09 pm

JoeB wrote:Further to what Ken said, while I think I have a decent idea what you are looking to do it would be more helpful if you attached an example image of the type of stripe or stripes you wish to add. So if you have an image you can attach and post here of a similar striped auto that would make it easier for those trying to help to make that help more relevant to your needs. Also posting an image of the original to which you want to add the stripe would be even more helpful. There is usually good help available here, but we really can't read the minds of posters asking for specific type of help without some good details of what you are starting with and what you want to produce for a final output.


Here's the car I plan to add a stripe to. I want to outline the roof line from the A pillar back, come around & below the rear window & end it just before the headlight. I'll try what bruce1951 suggests if he or you will explain the term Raster layer & how to get it. I'm assuming it's the term for a new layer/image ?
Attachments
Scott likes it 12-24-'17.jpg
vintageseabee77
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby vintageseabee77 » Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:17 pm

bruce1951 wrote:'Simple' solution to adding a stripe.
Load image.
Duplicate image. (Just because you souldn't work on the original layer).
Now you have two layers.
Create a new Raster layer on top.
On the new Raster layer use the FreeHand selection tool to draw a stripe where you want/need it.
Then using the AirBrush tool select colour and spray the stripe. The colour will only be applied to the selected area.
Deselect the FreeHand tool.
Done.


Sounds esy enough but since I've never done it, I'll ask for step by step instructions for each of your steps. Loading is what I do to crop the image, so if that's # 1, I'm ready for the rest. I'm using PSP x8 & appreciate your help.
vintageseabee77
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 10:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby JoeB » Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:16 am

vintageseabee77 wrote:Here's the car I plan to add a stripe to. I want to outline the roof line from the A pillar back, come around & below the rear window & end it just before the headlight. I'll try what bruce1951 suggests if he or you will explain the term Raster layer & how to get it. I'm assuming it's the term for a new layer/image ?


When you first open an image like a .jpg, .tif, etc., it will show up in the Layers palette named Background. Background doesn't have transparent capabilities. Adding more layers (or duplicating the Backgrund layer) adds them with names like Raster 1, Raster 2, etc. To give the Background layer the ability to be able to move it in the stack, show transparency, etc., you have to right click on the layer and, from the context menu, select Promote to Raster Layer. Use the New Raster Layer option to add a new, blank, transparent layer to the stack (all layers can be dragged into whatever position you want in the stack). Layers can also be added by copying a different, open image and pasting it as a new layer on another image. You can also create a new layer on an image by making a selection around part of the image and then Selections>Promote Selection to Layer, which will put a copy of the selected object on its own layer above the image with the rest of that new layer transparent (the originally selected object is still part of the original image, just hidden by its copy above it).

For more detailed information about layers, go to Help>User Guide (PDF) or just download the pdf manual from the Corel site. In the PDF file go down the menu on the left to Working With Layers and click on that then read all of the information that shows up in the right hand pane. The subject just above that in the PDF manual is Working With Selections. Clicking that will give you information on how to do different selections using the various selection tools and info on how that confines different actions to within the selection(s).

And if you're not familiar with the names and/or locations of the various tools, toolbars and palettes in PSP then you should start with the Workspace Tour near the top of the left menu, which has actual illustrations and descriptions of the different workspaces, toolbars and palettes available.
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2018 (20.2.0.1 x64)
JoeB
 
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2018, 32 & 64-bit

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby bruce1951 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:49 am

OK here's a quick step by step. But I'm sure I'll miss something.

Open your image.
Then layers/Duplicate.
Then layers/New Raster layer. Accept the defaults and click ok.
Then do a Save As. Choose PSPIMAGE. (You need to save your layer so that if you get interrupted you can come back and keep working).



Now the 'magic'.
Make sure you have the new raster layer active. (Make sure it's highlighted in the layers menu).
In the tools on the right hand side, 3rd one down, find and select Freehand Selection Tool.
You should see a pallet open with some options. In Selection Type I prefer Point to Point. Feather and Smooth choose 1. Check Anti Alias.

Now carefully click your way around where you want your stripe, You will make mistakes. The delete key will take you back each step.
Zooming in will help. The more points you put in the smoother your results. You can do it section by section. Double click to close/select the selection.
Do a save.
Now you should see the 'marching ants' around your selection.
If so open the 9th tool on the left and select AirBrush. Then from your colour palette select a colour.
Play with the options at the top for your AirBrush. Hardnees 100%. Steps 1. I like opacity low so you can control the paint. Now spray over your strip/marching ants. Only the selection will get paint. Don't worry about overspray.
Go back to your selection tool. Click anywhere.
You should see your stripe appear. If you are doing it section by section, which I would recommend, you can keep doing your stripe.
Keeping saving.
Once done you can flatten your image ans save as a jpeg.

bruce
bruce1951
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:39 am
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8gb

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby bruce1951 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 2:53 am

5 minutes.
Attachments
Scott likes it 12-24-'17mod01.jpg
bruce1951
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:39 am
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8gb

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby JoeB » Wed Mar 28, 2018 3:58 am

Nicely done, Bruce! Just want to mention a typo in your reply.

You said, near the top: "In the tools on the right hand side, 3rd one down, find and select Freehand Selection Tool." Unless you have modified your layout then the tools bar is on the left, also where you properly said the OP could find the Air Brush. :-)

And a curiosity question. Why do you select the Air Brush rather than Flood Fill? Does it provide better options for how the paint is applied?
Regards,

JoeB
Using PSP 2018 (20.2.0.1 x64)
JoeB
 
Posts: 1908
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:04 pm
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: LENOVO 4524PE4 ThinkCentre M91p
processor: 3.10 gigahertz Intel Quad Core i5-2400
ram: 8 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4.6 TB
Corel programs: PSP 9, X7 to 2018, 32 & 64-bit

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby bruce1951 » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:13 am

Proof reading is not one of my strong points JoeB!!!!! Tools are all on the left of my screen. :oops:

I use the AirBrush because I can control the opacity and location of paint/colour. I would also use a number of Raster Layers for each segment of the stripe. It's just about more control.
Edit- Also with automobiles there is always a certain amount of reflection. Flood fill wouldn't give you the ability to brush/spray over highlights and shadows.

I'm sure there are many ways to get the same results.

bruce
bruce1951
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 2:39 am
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8gb

Re: adding stripes to an auto image

Postby hartpaul » Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:58 am

Also a suggestion - use the Change to Target tool (in the group of tools just below the PaintBrush / Airbrush, and this will maintain detail beneath including reflectivity on the surface of the car.
Systems XP, Win7, Win 8.1,Win 10 Version 1607 Build 14393.2007 HDD C drive 7200 rpm
hartpaul
Advisor
 
Posts: 2056
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2012 3:38 pm
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: AsusTex P7P55D
processor: IntelCore I 5 2.67 Ghz
ram: 8 Gb
Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 460
sound_card: Nvidia High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2000 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ T2200HD
Corel programs: PSP8,X2 to X9,2018

Next

Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kathy_9 and 3 guests