NEW! PhotoMirage

connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Discuss anything about video editing, HD, codecs, etc......

Moderator: Ron P.

connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby Ken Veal » Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:56 am

I am looking for a new HD camcorder that I can connect to my desktop preferably via a HDMI connection (have not found one yet with USB 3 output).I have an
Asrock Socket AM3+ 970 Extreme4 5200MT/S Motherboard and a
Asus HD 7770 2GB AMD Radeon Graphics Card .As far as I know the m/board has no HDMI port, the graphics card does .Does this mean I will have to use an HDMI card on the PC?
Ken Veal
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: London,England
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asrock 970 Extreme ATX AM3+
processor: AMD-FX-6300 3.5 Ghz 6 Core
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: EVGA GeForceGTX 760 2GB GDDR5 PCI E 3.0
sound_card: Creative Soundblaster ZX
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 750 GB SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VS238H-P 23 inch Widescreen LED
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018 Ultimate

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby Ken Berry » Tue Mar 11, 2014 7:28 pm

Since the graphics card is connected to the M/B, I don't see that there is a problem. My "ancient" Canon HV20 HDV camcorder has mini HDMI out and my HP laptop has a standard HDMI port. My GoPro Hero 3 Black has micro HDMI. Both connect just fine with the computer -- though of course require different cables (neither supplied with the camera, and not particularly cheap to buy, though I find a place like Jaycar offering possibly the best prices unless you buy on line from places like Amazon.)
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20130
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby Ken Veal » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:21 am

I wonder if, as some camcorders record video to (usually) an SD card , the card could be used to import the video on it the the PC.This could be done via a card reader with a usb connection or would this be either not viable or much too slow.My PC has usb 3 but have not seen this on any camcorders.Would wireless also be a possibility?I take it capturing into VS is not a problem
Ken Veal
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: London,England
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asrock 970 Extreme ATX AM3+
processor: AMD-FX-6300 3.5 Ghz 6 Core
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: EVGA GeForceGTX 760 2GB GDDR5 PCI E 3.0
sound_card: Creative Soundblaster ZX
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 750 GB SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VS238H-P 23 inch Widescreen LED
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018 Ultimate

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby canuck » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:34 am

Actually reading from the SD card via a USB card reader is the best way of transferring the photos/video to your PC.
canuck
 
Posts: 1685
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:28 pm
Location: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby Ken Veal » Wed Mar 12, 2014 12:52 am

So would you import it into a hard drive folder then into VS (how?) or straight into VS ?
Ken Veal
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: London,England
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asrock 970 Extreme ATX AM3+
processor: AMD-FX-6300 3.5 Ghz 6 Core
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: EVGA GeForceGTX 760 2GB GDDR5 PCI E 3.0
sound_card: Creative Soundblaster ZX
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 750 GB SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VS238H-P 23 inch Widescreen LED
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018 Ultimate

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby canuck » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:42 am

To your hard drive of course and then you can add it into VS, otherwise you would have to have the SD card connected every time you work on the project.
canuck
 
Posts: 1685
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:28 pm
Location: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
operating_system: Windows 8.1
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby Ken Veal » Wed Mar 12, 2014 10:50 am

Capturing camcorder video (DV Tape) via fire wire directly into VS is obviously a different methodology and when completed the camcorder does not have to be connected to edit the project.Clearly I am a novice in this field, but
I don't understand why a card would have to be connected to edit a project after its video has been imported directly into VS and not a hard drive folder.
Ken Veal
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: London,England
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asrock 970 Extreme ATX AM3+
processor: AMD-FX-6300 3.5 Ghz 6 Core
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: EVGA GeForceGTX 760 2GB GDDR5 PCI E 3.0
sound_card: Creative Soundblaster ZX
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 750 GB SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VS238H-P 23 inch Widescreen LED
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018 Ultimate

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby BrianCee » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:06 am

Using VideoStudio you do not actually import the actual video clips into VideoStudio - it is not the actual files which you are editing - in fact VideoStudio never ever alters your original videos - it works entirely on thumbnails which are simply short cuts to your video - or if you have done some cutting when editing the short cut just points to that particular section of the original file. Your original videos remain untouched and can be used again for a totally different project should you so wish and will not show what you did with them in the first project.

So at any time you can delete *videos* from your project or library without affecting the actual video file - that is always untouched in the folder on your HDD - it does not delete when you delete a file in the library - unless you actually instruct it to do so by holding down shift as you hit the delete key.

So at all times VideoStudio needs to access the actual file to update the short cut with the actions you have taken - so if you do not transfer a copy of the video file to your hard drive but 'import' the videos into VideoStudio from the SD card once you remove the SD card VideoStudio cannot access the actual files and cannot update the short cut and will throw up an error.

You can simply copy the files from your SD card to the HDD using a USB card reader - or as I have a built in card reader in the PC - it does hot have to be USB3 - even for HD because the files do not transfer across as videos - as did tape - in real time - they transfer as computer files as quickly as any data file would - so a 1Gb video file transfers just as a 1Gb data file or image would.

I always just put the SD card in the reader slot and copy all the files to a folder which I give the project name - then use that as my working folder throughout - importing files to the library and then saving all work in that project back to that folder
My VideoStudio demo videos - https://www.youtube.com/user/MrBrianCee
BrianCee
 
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
Location: London England UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby Ken Veal » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:31 am

OK, thanks for the info.I have misunderstood the situation here because I thought that any file in VS was also in the working folder on the hard drive that the project needs to link to.
Ken Veal
 
Posts: 1497
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: London,England
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Asrock 970 Extreme ATX AM3+
processor: AMD-FX-6300 3.5 Ghz 6 Core
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: EVGA GeForceGTX 760 2GB GDDR5 PCI E 3.0
sound_card: Creative Soundblaster ZX
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 750 GB SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VS238H-P 23 inch Widescreen LED
Corel programs: Paint Shop Pro 2018 Ultimate

Re: connecting camcorder to desktop PC via HDMI

Postby BrianCee » Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:05 pm

Only if you specifically put it there - back when you transferred a DV tape a file was created in a folder which then linked to VS - but with digital it is a bit different in that you need to put the file in a folder and then link (Import/Insert) the shortcut to your library or timeline.
My VideoStudio demo videos - https://www.youtube.com/user/MrBrianCee
BrianCee
 
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
Location: London England UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10


Return to VIDEO & DVD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests