NEW! PhotoMirage

Video Studio ProX4 - I'm exhausted trying!

Discuss anything about video editing, HD, codecs, etc......

Moderator: Ron P.

Video Studio ProX4 - I'm exhausted trying!

Postby davidovich33 » Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:03 pm

Hi everyone, I would really appreciate some help. Have newish Panasonic HDC SD900 camcorder and have tried and used fully the Pansonic-provided software for editing, HD Writer AE 3.0 which works but is very basic, similarly Microsoft Live Movie Maker. Wanted to try Corel Studio ProX4 so downloaded free trial of this software from Corel.com. Ok so far! However, everytime I start off, click Capture, then Capture Video I get "either no video capture driver is installed in this system or no device is connected". I havent changed anything since using the other editing progs and I connect my camcorder via usb as usual. Have read all the relevant instructions, viewed various sites on the web, and checked out the requirements. e.g. motherboard, processor etc. op system which seem cmpatible. Where am I going wrong/what do I need to check? Advice would be much appreciated, thank you.
davidovich33
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:43 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Ultra Durable GA H61M D2H
processor: Intel Core TM i5 2300
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce GT520
sound_card: RealTek HD
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 931 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung 21"

Re: Video Studio ProX4 - I'm exhausted trying!

Postby BrianCee » Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:19 pm

hello David - Welcome

the answer to your problem is here :- viewtopic.php?f=1&t=45681


different camera but same solution.
My VideoStudio demo videos - https://www.youtube.com/user/MrBrianCee
BrianCee
 
Posts: 5406
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
Location: London England UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10

Re: Video Studio ProX4 - I'm exhausted trying!

Postby davidovich33 » Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:41 am

Hi again
Thank you for your prompt reply Brian. OK, have now tried choosing Capture, followed by Import from Digital Media and am then given choice of F or C drive. Whichever I choose it says "there is no valid content". When I go into Windows Explorer I can clearly see the file with my downloaded video files from the camcorder. I still dont quite understand why I can use my other editing software, HD Writer and Live Movie Maker, on this computer and with this camcorder via the usb F drive, but not VidStudio.
Would it be easier if I had an IEEE-1394 connection - I dont have one but used to have one on my previous computer?
Thank you once again, in anticipation!
davidovich33
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:43 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Ultra Durable GA H61M D2H
processor: Intel Core TM i5 2300
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce GT520
sound_card: RealTek HD
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 931 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung 21"

Re: Video Studio ProX4 - I'm exhausted trying!

Postby lata » Thu Mar 08, 2012 7:05 am

Hi David

Your camera records video to a hard drive within the camera.
Connect the camera via USB to your computer and the camera should be recognised as a removable drive when viewing the Computer (Windows Explorer)

Transfer your video files to the PC in the same way as you would for images. Drag and Drop
Once you have the files on the computer,
Open Video Studio, right click the timeline and select Insert Video
Browse your computer for your video files.

Otherwise use the HD Writer AE 3.0 to import the files to your computer, then insert to the timelines.

The capture option is generally used for capturing tape based or analogue video
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10109
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: Video Studio ProX4 - I'm exhausted trying!

Postby davidovich33 » Fri Mar 09, 2012 4:44 am

Many thanks! At last I've got it, have actually imported my video!

One more question - whilst I can minimise the Video Studio window, I cant see how to just reduce the window smaller to enable me to open another window alongside to drag and drop for example. Must be a simple answer I' sure but could someone please enlighten me! Many thanks yet again.
davidovich33
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:43 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Ultra Durable GA H61M D2H
processor: Intel Core TM i5 2300
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce GT520
sound_card: RealTek HD
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 931 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung 21"

Re: Video Studio ProX4 - I'm exhausted trying!

Postby lata » Fri Mar 09, 2012 5:00 am

Hi David

Sorry but the simple answer is you can’t.
X4 does not allow you to reduce the size of the window.
You can completely minimise the program or full view

Video Studio X5 is capable of reducing the working window size.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10109
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D


Return to VIDEO & DVD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron