NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

DVD MF6 and W7

Moderator: DVDDoug

DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Fri May 10, 2013 10:17 pm

Hi

I recently installed the MF 6+ on my new W7 / 64bit machine. To my surprise the MF6 works quite well and is much faster then on the old W XP machine. The advantage of the MF6 against the newest VS X6 is that in the MF i can save the project in dwz file,
That is why I prefer for disc burning the MF against the VS X6 DVD burning feature.

Today I discovered a bug.
The subtitles in the DVD stop with the 10th subtitle ( I have over 100 :D ). This is also seen in the preview screen of the MF6 ( I just did not checked thi before, as it was never a problem),
This is happening only when I burn the DVD on the W7 machine.
The same video processed on the W XP machine works well ( also the subtitles)

Is there any patch/fix/upgrade for the MF6+ for W 7 Os?

Thanks!
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby lata » Sat May 11, 2013 12:46 pm

Hi

There is a link at the top of the board for Patches & Updates

I found this related to MF6, however doesn’t seem to mention Windows 7
http://www.corel.com/corel/pages/index. ... id=1300001

Have you tried running the program in XP Compatibility mode?
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10310
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Sat May 11, 2013 4:54 pm

Probably there is something else.

I tried to burn my DVD on the true W XP machine and it showed the same error when the DVD was a little bit overloaded (101min at 4 Mbps).
When I reduced the length (shortened the film by 6min at 4 Mbps) the overall length is now 95 min everything works on the W XP machine. I did not tried yet the W 7 machine.
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby lata » Sun May 12, 2013 9:37 am

Hi
A DVD holds 4.3 Gb of data, your video file should be approx 4 Gb this will allow for .3 Gb for the menu structure.

The data rate controls the size, as a guide
8000kbps will allow for 60 minutes
6000kbps will allow for 90 minutes
4000kbps will allow for 120 minutes

Using Digital Dolby would also help rather than LPMC audio.

There is an icon lower left, project settings Cogwheel, this opens the mpeg conversion panel.
Choose to change Mpeg settings – Customise
Compression tab, reduce the Video Data rate, for 110 minutes try 5000kbps and Digital Dolby

Return to the burner module, the green size bar should be showing green, no yellow and definitely no red.
The details above are from Video Studio, but I believe the same/similar to MF7
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10310
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Sun May 12, 2013 12:52 pm

Hi Trevor,

thank you very much for your help.
Since I use MF several years ago and most of my projects are similar I am quite familiar with these settings. This tme (first time at all) I used the 4 Mbps settings and the overall video length was at the first attempt 101 minutes. Of course the bar was green with a very little yellow extension, but definitively below the 4.7 Gb mark. All my pervous projects were shorter than 60 min. , so I did not used lower video transfer rates.
To my surprise everything went smooth (I did not checked the whole film in the preview window for the subtitles), but on the DVD there were just the first 10 subtitles, the remaning 110 were missing. Then I reduced the film length to 95 minutes ( according also to your sheet the capacity can be up 120 min) and checked the subtitles also in preview window, suddenly everything worked perfect. When I used the 101 min film length also in the preview window the subtitles stop with the 10th sentence.
I still do not know what is the problem, and why exactly at the 10th text title stops. I know now, that there can be a problm with the subtitles, so I have to check them prior to burning.
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby lata » Sun May 12, 2013 1:10 pm

Hi

The green size bar should only show as green, if there is any Yellow then the project is to large, or rather the converted project will be to large.
As mentioned reducing the data rate should address the size.

By the way 8000kpbs is best quality DVD
6000kbps being good quality DVD
4000 kbps is equivalent VHS quality

Using Digital Dolby or Mpeg audio in preference to LPMC will also reduce the overall size of the video file.

Menu types will also affect the size on disc, I assume MF has Smart Scene menus, these use more memory than say Thumbnail menus.

On the final window choose to create a Disc Image or DVD Folder rather than burn a disc, this will create an ISO or TS folder.
No more coasters…….
The ISO and TS folder contain the same files used burned to disc, so checking the process, you can play the file on the pc to test quality and those titles. I use VLC Player

If ok you can either burn the disc using MF or use these files to burn a disc using a third party program.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10310
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Sun May 12, 2013 4:43 pm

Interesting is that the video is correct over the full length, the only problem is with the subtitles. They stop to work. The whole video ( DVD content) is assembled from 4 individual videos, and only the second one has subtitles.
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby lata » Thu May 16, 2013 11:32 am

Hi weaver

Using Video Studio X6

I have for the first time tried using Sub Titles and they seem to work ok.

I created the titles in the timelines 26 in all, saved as Subtitle file

From a new project Opened the burner module
Add media to add my video file
Edit Subtitle to select my saved *.srt file

I burned the project to an Image file to play with VLC player
The Subtitles showed, all as ok.
I then repeated the process using 4 clips, the second having the subtitles applied, this also played ok, I have to say that VLC player always default was Subtitle off, a bit of a pain.

I have not burned a disc.

So what workflow are you using?

My subtitle file is very small, 3 kb can you make one of your *srt files available.
Zip the file and attach to your post, I have never tried to share these files before but should work.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10310
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Thu May 16, 2013 12:57 pm

Hi Trevor

thank you for your kind help.

I attach the portion of my subtitles. They were created and several time edited in VS X6, than exported as Subtitle file (China2.srt, or in German version China.urf).
In the VS X6 preview window is everything perfect, also in the MF6+. In the VS X6 Disc burner, already in the preview window the subtitles are corrupt. (see the print screen)

Eg.

Already the first one:
In the VS X6 (MF6+) it is the correct text:

We are in Rongshan, a suburb of Guangyuan in
canton Sichuan, China


In the VS X6 disc burner module preview looks like this:

We are in Rongshan, a suburb of Guangyuan inc
anton Sichuan, China


(The line end is inc, instead of in, and the second line starts with anton, instead oc canton. It happens on each longer than 1 line subtitle)

When I want to burn my subtitles with the MF6+ installed on the new PC with W7, the preview is OK until the 10th subtitles then it stops.
The same subtitle file works fine on the old W XP computer with the same MF6+.

Here I attached a portion ot the text.

The 10th subtitle does not appear anymore in the Preview window on the MF6+ on the W7 machine.
The overall slope is not critical......

The workflow is always the same (I am doing it since about 5 years)

I edit my videos, convert them for DVD 16:9 and save the video.
I take this video and write the subtitles in full length and then export to get the srt file. Sometimes I use external subtitle editors to create the text, but it is always imported to the VS X6 (earlier to VS X4) to control their position (the time information in external subtitle editor is not always perfect). When everything is OK I save the subtitles usually in new file (to avoid different confusions).
Then I open my DVD burner put the video on the time line, import the corresponding subtitle files, adjust their position an size. Now I check at least the first 5-10 minutes in the preview window and burn to the DVD. (In earlier days I had never such issues except the trial MF7 in 2010, so I never checked my videos in the preview window, and all DVDs were OK.)

Thank you!
Attachments
Subtitle1s.jpg
China2.zip
(930 Bytes) Downloaded 405 times
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby lata » Thu May 16, 2013 4:42 pm

Hi Weaver

There seems to be some confusion with the text editor using Spaces and Carriage Return for a new line.
The problem does show in the burner module so I have not burnt a disc.

If you remove all spaces from the first line, then hit Carriage Return to create the new line the text seems to display correctly.
I have attached the modified subtitle file, can you see if that works ok

my China2.zip
(1.14 KiB) Downloaded 416 times
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10310
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Thu May 16, 2013 6:20 pm

Hi Trevor

Thank you very much, I will check this next week.

Interestingly I do not see those empty spaces and carriage returns in no one of the used programs. The subtitle editor shows every position, I will check the corrected text, if the editor shows any difference.
I appreciate your help!
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Thu May 16, 2013 6:56 pm

lata wrote:If you remove all spaces from the first line, then hit Carriage Return to create the new line the text seems to display correctly.
I have attached the modified subtitle file, can you see if that works ok

my China2.zip


Hi Trevor,

I checked the corrected text and it really works on all platforms, incl. the MF6+ on W7. It does not stop after the 9th subtitle.

Thank you very much. Tomorrow I will try to find a program which can show those spaces and CRs for future troubleshootings.
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Fri May 17, 2013 8:05 am

Hi Trevor

i checked the original and the new text in the Subtitle editor, what shows also those special characters in the text and there is almost no difference. <br/>

The only difference is the my text shows UNICODE UTF-8 encoding (right upper part), while the corrected text shows 1200: Unicode encoding.

It is quite complex task, how to create/edit those files to be sure that they will work. :D
Attachments
Text New.png
Text orig.png
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby weaver » Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:44 pm

lata wrote:Hi Weaver

There seems to be some confusion with the text editor using Spaces and Carriage Return for a new line.
The problem does show in the burner module so I have not burnt a disc.

If you remove all spaces from the first line, then hit Carriage Return to create the new line the text seems to display correctly.
I have attached the modified subtitle file, can you see if that works ok

my China2.zip


Hi Trevor

I sent the files also to Corel, and too my big surprise, they could not repeat the problem. .....

What shall I do?
User avatar
weaver
 
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Austria
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 16GB
sound_card: C.Media
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 20TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: FULL HD
Corel programs: VS S6,8,10 on W XP, VS X4,6,7

Re: DVD MF6 and W7

Postby lata » Wed Jun 05, 2013 2:15 pm

Hi Weaver

Sorry but I seemed to have missed your post on the 17th May containing the images of the Subtitle Editor

I do not have that program but would give it a run if that would help.
Can you give the link for download, I assume it is a free program.??

Using Video Studio, when I cleared the blank spaces the title displayed ok, so we know it does work, surprised that Corel could not replicate the issue, maybe they got the wrong idea, it took a few reads for me to realise that “Inc” was not “incorporated” but “In Canton”. Only to realise after downloading your sample. By the way I changed the “c” to upper case.

So the two samples China 2 and MyChina 2 display the same in the editor, yet in VS only MyChina 2 displays ok?

I wonder if it’s the “/” that VS doesn’t like, maybe the “break” <br> would be sufficient on its own, instead of <br />

I don’t know, would have to play with that program.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10310
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Next

Return to DVD MovieFactory

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest