NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

MovieFactory 6 Update patch #2

Moderator: DVDDoug

Postby etech6355 » Mon Oct 01, 2007 4:28 am

Hi,
Here is the software you were interested in.
Make sure to have Patch#2 installed if you buy this and install it.
http://www.ulead.com/dmf/plugin.htm
etech6355
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:24 am
Location: US

Postby Zentron » Sat Oct 06, 2007 12:01 pm

My problem is, not with the link, but the actual installation!

I've tried several times and each time I keep getting the message, "Setup cannot find Ulead MovieFactory 6 installed on your system", which is quite annoying, especially when it clearly is installed... I even moved the patch to the folder where UMF6 is installed to, but still nothing!

I think the problem is the fact that I am not using C: drive to run things, but drive F:.... is there anything I can do to get the patch to reconise my setup?
Zentron
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:57 am
Location: Manchester, UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A78T-E Rev 1.xx
processor: 2.80 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X3 720
ram: 3.75GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3300 Graphics
sound_card: ATI 791A
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.2TB

Postby etech6355 » Sat Oct 06, 2007 3:42 pm

I think the problem is the fact that I am not using C: drive to run things, but drive F:.... is there anything I can do to get the patch to reconise my setup?
Contact tech support, installing on another drive letter should not be a problem at all if the OS is on another drive. I'm not sure about if the OS is on one drive & "Program Files" is on another. On one test machine I have XP installed on D Drive:, 2nd partition of Drive 0 and have had no problems with ulead updates.
Have you tried re-installing the original MF6 program again? Just re-install on top of the existing installation.
It's helps to post what version of MF6 your using and how you obtained it. On a few installations patch#2 doesn't apply.
etech6355
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:24 am
Location: US

Postby Zentron » Sat Oct 06, 2007 8:42 pm

etech6355 wrote:Contact tech support, installing on another drive letter should not be a problem at all if the OS is on another drive. I'm not sure about if the OS is on one drive & "Program Files" is on another. On one test machine I have XP installed on D Drive:, 2nd partition of Drive 0 and have had no problems with ulead updates.
Have you tried re-installing the original MF6 program again? Just re-install on top of the existing installation.
It's helps to post what version of MF6 your using and how you obtained it. On a few installations patch#2 doesn't apply.
I reinstalled, but the patch still isn't working... the same happened with my older MF3 version, but the program itself was working, so I wasn't really bothered with the patch not working. It's just that my version of MF6.0 recently is refusing to burn DVD's properly, conking out either at the point of burning or at 50-70% of the burn process.(my CD writer works fine with Nero, so it's not that at fault) Though that's for another topic!

*Edit*
Oh yah, bought it from the bargin bin at PC World.
Zentron
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:57 am
Location: Manchester, UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A78T-E Rev 1.xx
processor: 2.80 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X3 720
ram: 3.75GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3300 Graphics
sound_card: ATI 791A
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.2TB

Postby etech6355 » Sun Oct 07, 2007 12:06 am

Oh yah, bought it from the bargin bin at PC World.
Not sure if that version would be a Beta Release or similar to a trial release which in either case is non-patchable nor upgradable.
But after you install the proram if the files in the MF6 directory are mostly dated 1/2007 it's a pre-release.
MF6 was released in 2/2007.
If most of your files are dated 1/2007 don't be upset with ulead.
Another version that isn't patchable is the MF for Toshiba.
There may also be some SE (special editions) around that are supplied with cameras or harware devices.
etech6355
 
Posts: 2120
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:24 am
Location: US

Postby Zentron » Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:04 am

etech6355 wrote:
Oh yah, bought it from the bargin bin at PC World.
Not sure if that version would be a Beta Release or similar to a trial release which in either case is non-patchable nor upgradable.
But after you install the proram if the files in the MF6 directory are mostly dated 1/2007 it's a pre-release.
MF6 was released in 2/2007.
If most of your files are dated 1/2007 don't be upset with ulead.
Another version that isn't patchable is the MF for Toshiba.
There may also be some SE (special editions) around that are supplied with cameras or harware devices.
Right, I see! So, best to get a newer disc then :roll:

And I don't get upset so easily :wink:
Zentron
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:57 am
Location: Manchester, UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A78T-E Rev 1.xx
processor: 2.80 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X3 720
ram: 3.75GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3300 Graphics
sound_card: ATI 791A
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.2TB

Postby sjj1805 » Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:19 am

What is shown on your copy where I have highlighted here:
Image

(If you do a screen shot be careful to hide your serial number.)
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby Zentron » Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:36 am

I've uninstalled it... and I can't be bothered going into the loft to get the disc down again, especially at this hour! Though from what was said earlier, I got the beta version(?). I think I'll be checking the products in their bargin bin a little more closely!(this isn't the first time one of their bargin bin items has been iffy)
Zentron
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:57 am
Location: Manchester, UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A78T-E Rev 1.xx
processor: 2.80 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X3 720
ram: 3.75GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3300 Graphics
sound_card: ATI 791A
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.2TB

Postby sjj1805 » Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:43 am

Not just their bargain bins that are iffy.
1. Just over a month ago I bought my wife a laptop. The saleswoman kept going on and on about purchasing a warranty.
"No Thank You"
"It covers this that and the other and makes cups of tea"
"No thank you"
"The first months free"
"Actually the first 12 months are free - that is the manufacturers warranty"
"It only costs ¢G8 per month and if it breaks you get a new one etc.etc."
"No thank you"

A couple of days ago I checked my bank account online and lo and behold PC World had taken a Direct Debit out of my account for ¢G8.
Needless to say I was on the phone to them straight away.

2. A few days ago I needed to change my wireless keyboard and went to PC World. When I got home and booted up my home accounts program to update it with the purchase I realised they had charged me twice and had to return for a refund.
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby Zentron » Sun Oct 07, 2007 1:51 am

sjj1805 wrote:Not just their bargain bins that are iffy.
1. Just over a month ago I bought my wife a laptop. The saleswoman kept going on and on about purchasing a warranty.
"No Thank You"
"It covers this that and the other and makes cups of tea"
"No thank you"
"The first months free"
"Actually the first 12 months are free - that is the manufacturers warranty"
"It only costs ¢G8 per month and if it breaks you get a new one etc.etc."
"No thank you"

A couple of days ago I checked my bank account online and lo and behold PC World had taken a Direct Debit out of my account for ¢G8.
Needless to say I was on the phone to them straight away.

2. A few days ago I needed to change my wireless keyboard and went to PC World. When I got home and booted up my home accounts program to update it with the purchase I realised they had charged me twice and had to return for a refund.
Point well, and truly taken :mrgreen:
Zentron
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:57 am
Location: Manchester, UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC. M4A78T-E Rev 1.xx
processor: 2.80 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X3 720
ram: 3.75GB
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3300 Graphics
sound_card: ATI 791A
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1.2TB

Postby Redester » Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:57 pm

Hi Steve,

Are these patches applicable to MF6 Plus?

Ray :?:
Redester
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 9:36 pm
Location: Merritt Island, FL

Postby sjj1805 » Wed Nov 07, 2007 12:41 am

There are two patches for MovieFactory 6 Plus, both on this page
http://www.ulead.com/tech/dmf/dmf_ftp.htm
sjj1805
 
Posts: 14883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 7:20 am
Location: Birmingham UK
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Equium P200-178
processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core Processor T2080
ram: 2 GB
Video Card: Intel 945 Express
sound_card: Intel GMA 950
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1160 GB

Postby Redester » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:10 am

'Got 'em.

Tks

Ray
Redester
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 9:36 pm
Location: Merritt Island, FL

Postby 000cpc000 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 4:29 am

etech6355 wrote:Hi,
Here is the software you were interested in.
Make sure to have Patch#2 installed if you buy this and install it.
http://www.ulead.com/dmf/plugin.htm

I recently purchased DMF6+ and the HD Power Pack as well, and installed both (no problems) before I read anything about patches. The 'Product Updates on the Web' link under 'Settings and options' brings up the main MDF6 page which I interpreted as no updates being required.

My version shows 6.10.0194.6; do I need either / both of the patches? And if so should I uninstall everything and start fresh DMF6+ > P1 > P2 > HD pack?

Thanks,
Carl
000cpc000
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:46 am
Location: Adelaide

Postby trackfan » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:14 am

I purchased a boxed version of DMF 6+ in October 2008 directly from Corel. I also noticed that two patches and a hot fix were all released in 2007 to improve the performance. Can anyone tell whether these items need to be installed for my version of DMF 6+, or have these items already been updated with later versions of DMF 6+, making these updates unnecessary?
trackfan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 6:12 pm
Location: Baton Rouge

PreviousNext

Return to DVD MovieFactory

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests