NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Interlacing and pixels

Interlacing and pixels

Postby Gisela Richter » Mon Jan 04, 2010 10:50 am

I'm filming HD with a Canon HV 20. Editing with VS 10. No big problems but minor questions:
Interlacing: For the capture process should I click on "deinterlace"? According to my information deinterlaced is better for showing on the TV screen.
Pixels: non-square should be chosen I believe?
Many thnks for an answer!
Kookaburra
Gisela Richter
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:15 am
Location: France

Interlace and pixels

Postby Ken Veal » Mon Jan 04, 2010 12:02 pm

Yes
Image capture deinterlace and non sq pixels ...............Ken
Ken Veal
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:21 pm
Location: London,England
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: msi mpg z390 gaming edge ac lga 1151 ddr4
processor: 3.60 gigahertz Intel Core i9-9900K
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: EVGA GeForceGTX 760 2GB GDDR5 PCI E 3.0
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1250GB SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VS238H-P 23 inch Widescreen LED
Corel programs: PaintSPro2019Ult.PhotoMirage.VS.2018 Ult

Postby skier-hughes » Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:36 pm

Surely it depends on the type of tv you are showing it on?

A 1080i will be best with an interlaced image, whereas a 720p would be better progressive, for example.
skier-hughes
Microsoft MVP
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte
processor: Intel core 2 6420 2.13GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVidia GForce 8500GT
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 36GB 2TB

Postby erdna » Mon Jan 04, 2010 6:27 pm

All flatpannel TV's display in progressive mode. So deinterlacing (a tricky process) is needed for interlaced footage...Your HV20 has a progressive mode setting, and I would use progressive it when the video doesn't contain fast motion(risk for strong judder). Also still pics out of a progressive mode registered video are way better, especially when you set short shutter times for your video registration.
erdna
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 5:10 pm
Location: Belgium
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigsbyte H81M
processor: I7 4770
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Intel HD4600
sound_card: Intel display audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB 7200rp
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Panasonic TX32cx600e

deinterlacing

Postby Frank Burch » Tue Jan 05, 2010 6:57 pm

The comments on this thread are contradictory. I have tried progrssive mode with my camcorder but found it no better rather less good than 1080i. Now my flat screen demands progressive mode but will make the necessary conversion itself. Nevertheless VS 10 plus offers the choice of deinterlacing the capture. What is this for? Surely for converting HDV? But maybe it's better to let the TV do it?
The question remains open. Can anyone offer further information?
Wombat
Frank Burch
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: France

Postby skier-hughes » Wed Jan 06, 2010 11:20 am

let the tv do it.
skier-hughes
Microsoft MVP
 
Posts: 2688
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 10:09 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 8
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: gigabyte
processor: Intel core 2 6420 2.13GHz
ram: 4GB
Video Card: NVidia GForce 8500GT
sound_card: onboard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 36GB 2TB

Re: deinterlacing

Postby erdna » Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:32 pm

Frank Burch wrote:The comments on this thread are contradictory. I have tried progrssive mode with my camcorder but found it no better rather less good than 1080i. Now my flat screen demands progressive mode but will make the necessary conversion itself. Nevertheless VS 10 plus offers the choice of deinterlacing the capture. What is this for? Surely for converting HDV? But maybe it's better to let the TV do it?
The question remains open. Can anyone offer further information?

Progressive mode quality: In what respect is the p mode less good than the i mode?. There could be two reasons: or, yr camcorder uses "frame mode" scan instead of real proscan, or the progressive mode has been combined with "cinema mode". In both cases the vertical resolution is reduced.
The de-interlacer in VS is, like for most other nle's based on one field. It is a very low performance intrafield de-interlacing method, only to be used for computer viewing.
De-interlacing/rescaling is indeed best done by the flatscreen electronics, but if an high performance player (BD..) and a TV wich accepts 1080p is involved, it is interesting to verifiy which one does the best deinterlacing.
erdna
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 5:10 pm
Location: Belgium
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigsbyte H81M
processor: I7 4770
ram: 16GB DDR3
Video Card: Intel HD4600
sound_card: Intel display audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB 7200rp
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Panasonic TX32cx600e

Erdna

Postby Frank Burch » Wed Jan 06, 2010 4:49 pm

Thanks for the reply. Together with Graham's help the question seems to be settled. I'll just let my Sony Bravia TV do the deinterlacing and not worry about it any further. Your English is so good you must be English speaking.
Wombat
Frank Burch
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: France


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests