NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

Postby Paul33 » Wed May 08, 2019 11:30 am

I do a lot of documentary style videos on my travel and I use a camera that shoots 4K video and ..... I would love to output genuine 4K video to produce some of those super sharp cinematic 4K videos you see on You Tube.

I only have a fairly old graphics card - AMD Radeon HD 6450 - on my Windows 10 PC which is Quad Core with 16GB of RAM.

I don't have money to burn here so is there a decent priced card that will work for me ? Do I actually need one ?

Any help appreciated.
Paul33
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 0A9Ch XU1 PROCESSOR
processor: Intel Xeon E5430 2.66GHz x 4 Quad Core
ram: 16GB
Video Card: 2048MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 6450 C.P. Technology
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ GW2765
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2019 Ultimate

Re: What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

Postby pepegota » Wed May 08, 2019 4:20 pm

You can play 3840x2160, 30P video on your TV. Now you can shoot 4k from both 360 and conventional cameras and play them on a 4K TV.
If you do not have a 4k TV then, it is of no use. Other devices, such as state of the art cell phones, can play 4k also. 5.7k videos will not play
as of now. You will need a lot more HP than you presently have.
pepegota
 
Posts: 800
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:49 pm
Location: USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS Prime H370 - Plus
processor: Intel i7 - 8700
ram: 32 GB
Video Card: Nvidia GT 1030
sound_card: On board sound
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Ben Q, "21" LCD
Corel programs: VS 2018

Re: What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

Postby Paul33 » Wed May 08, 2019 5:29 pm

The "camera" I use is a Google Pixel 3 smartphone most of the time that has a 4K video setting. I do have a 4K TV but my question is what would I need to have onboard to edit and output 4K video from Videostudio as the MP4 settings with higher frame rates say they are not compatible with my PC ...... which I'm assuming means that Videostudio is detecting I have something missing.
Paul33
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 0A9Ch XU1 PROCESSOR
processor: Intel Xeon E5430 2.66GHz x 4 Quad Core
ram: 16GB
Video Card: 2048MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 6450 C.P. Technology
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ GW2765
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2019 Ultimate

Re: What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

Postby tletter » Wed May 08, 2019 7:23 pm

Paul33 wrote:... from Videostudio as the MP4 settings with higher frame rates say they are not compatible with my PC

It'd be helpful if you provide a screen capture showing the MP4 settings and exactly what VS is "saying".

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 433
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019

Re: What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

Postby Paul33 » Wed May 08, 2019 10:22 pm

grab.jpg
Paul33
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 0A9Ch XU1 PROCESSOR
processor: Intel Xeon E5430 2.66GHz x 4 Quad Core
ram: 16GB
Video Card: 2048MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 6450 C.P. Technology
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ GW2765
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2019 Ultimate

Re: What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

Postby Ken Berry » Wed May 08, 2019 10:39 pm

HEVC and 4K are not the same thing. HEVC uses the H.265 codec and can only be used on more up to date equipment (6th generation Intel) than you have. 4K can not only be produced using HEVC, but also using the H.264 codec. Full 4K is 3840 x 2160. I wouldn't have thought you would receive any error messages if you tried producing 4K on your machine. However, you might still have difficulty producing 4K unless you used SmartProxy -- and even then, it would be a very long process which might not necessarily produce stable 4K. You would need to do a bit of experimenting to see if it were successful or not.

But if it's not, it is not something that can be corrected by a new GPU or more RAM (though you have enough of that already). You would need a whole new computer...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20622
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2019; PSP 2019; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

Postby Paul33 » Thu May 09, 2019 9:37 am

Thanks Ken
Paul33
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 11:50 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 0A9Ch XU1 PROCESSOR
processor: Intel Xeon E5430 2.66GHz x 4 Quad Core
ram: 16GB
Video Card: 2048MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 6450 C.P. Technology
sound_card: AMD High Definition Audio Device
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ GW2765
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2019 Ultimate

Re: What Do I Need to Output 4K Video ?

Postby iNate » Thu May 09, 2019 5:29 pm

Paul33 wrote:
grab.jpg

Install this:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/hevc- ... 4wgh0z6vhq

You'll get software support.

It works.

Tested on a Mid-2013 AMD A10 Laptop. Basically no different than Apple's HEVC/HEIF support on Haswell Macs. You will Decode and Encode with the CPU, so it will be very slow.

I'd install it anyways, for the sake of compatibility (just in case), but I recommend you stick to H.264, especially if you don't have QSV. HEVC is a lot more CPU intensive than H.264, because of the ridiculous compression.

It's a good idea to check every now and then on the Windows Store and make sure you download all available Microsoft CODECs. There are quite a few, and most of them are GPU accelerated where supported. VP8/9 is there, as well as AV1 and others. Install them all.

P.S. Also get the HEIF Extensions (have to install the HEVC Extensions first). Adds HEIF/HEIC Support, and allows you to save HEIF/HEIC images from supported applications - like Microsoft Paint ;-) ). I think Corel uses the default Windows CODEC (which isn't the highest quality encoder, frankly) to avoid the licensing costs of HEVC (i.e. having to license MainConcept's Encoder). I'm pretty sure the reason why Microsoft delisted this one and replaced it with a $0.99 CODEC is for similar reasons. People without supported hardware were all just downloading it, which meant they weren't really properly covered for that...
iNate
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 8:58 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS GL503VD
processor: Intel i7-7700HQ
ram: 32GB
Video Card: Nvidia GTX 10xx
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 250+512GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ASUS 15.6" + HP 24" 1080p IPS Displays
Corel programs: PSPX9, VSX9 Pro, VS2018 (Refund), WPOX7


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests