Page 1 of 1

VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:49 pm
by jimswinder
Been using Video Studio 2018 for awhile now but this past week it has become extremely slow and freezes up as soon as I open it and try to click on something. Tried upgrading to 2019 but same problem.
Editing a wedding video and I had two different cameras, so one video is in .MTS format and the other I converted to an .avi format.
When I try to click on the .avi video in the Overlay Track, the whole software just freezes up.
I have a newer computer (self built) that I think has the minimum requirements for VS 2018 (see attached pic)
Running Windows 10 with all the latest updates.


Any thoughts?
Windows Updates perhaps?

Re: VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:04 pm
by lata
Hi Jim

I would suspect the AVI videos
AVI is just a wrapper containing the video stream / codec
There are loads of different codecs some VideoStudio will like and others video studio will struggle using.
What happens if you start a new project and only use MTS files
Oh you may also need to remove the AVI from the library.

Why did you feel the need to convert the video to Avi and what were the original format.
You are best to use 2018 to test your video files as 2019 has its own problems.

Re: VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:12 pm
by jimswinder
Original format was Apple .mov...as the that was what the church had an Apple Computer which their cameras fed in to...
the .mov file would not even go into the Overlay Track.

So right after I posted , I started converting the .mov file to an .mts file to see if that helps

Converted it to .avi because I thought that was a more universal file format.

Re: VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:19 am
by jimswinder
Changed the .avi file to an .mts file...no longer is freezing up but in edit mode the videos are very choppy. stops..starts..stops...

I'm beginning to hate this software...

Re: VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 10:50 am
by lata
Hi
You should try installing the Quiocktime codec
There were security issues using the player after Apple stopped QT support but installing the codec on its own is no problem
It may help although many newer mov video may not need the codec
The Youtube video describes the reasons and installation process

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8lDOgqO_fVk&t

If you can share a sample Mov we can try on our pc’s.
You will have to upload to a sharing site google, One Drive etc, provide us with the share link

Re: VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:51 am
by Davidk
Apart from the quicktime codec install, have you enabled smart proxy in the Settings\Preferences\Performance tab?

.mts is a streaming HD filetype: to play this smoothly in the edit mode/preview window, a smart proxy is needed. If a proxy is enabled/present, the clip thumbnail has a small keyboard looking icon in it. Since you already have mts file(s) in your project, you may need to create the proxy file manually after enabling the function in preferences: rt-click the clip in timeline, and from the context list, choose create proxy file. Depending on length of the clip, that may take a while to do. Repeat for every mts and any other HD clip.
Once you have the keyboard icon in the clip thumbnail, play the project: those HD clips should now look smooth.

Re: VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:10 am
by jimswinder
Smart proxy was already enabled and am using it...

Re: VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:05 am
by lata
Hi Jim
Some thoughts…..
After installing the QT Codec If you still need to convert the Mov video you may be best in choosing Mpeg4 rather than Avi
With that in mind another trick that sometimes works is to rename the file to use .mp4 as its extension rather than Mov.

Re: VS 2018 and 2019 Freeze Up Immeaditley

PostPosted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 5:19 pm
by jimswinder
That is what I ended up doing yesterday and it so far, seems to be working ok.