NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

The parameter is incorrect VS X5

The parameter is incorrect VS X5

Postby SheilaN » Tue May 14, 2013 4:56 am

I am using video studio X5 ultimate. I am importing video footage from a dvd. VSX5 has imported all of the files. When I get to the screen that asks what folder and if I want it inserted in the timeline, I keep getting an error message "The parameter is incorrect." It then goes back to the folder, and sits there and VSX5 is frozen. I have done this many times. What am I doing wrong?

Please help!!
SheilaN
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:55 pm
Location: Ohio USA
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel[R] Core[TM] 2 Duo CPU P7350 2.00GHz
ram: 4GB

Re: The parameter is incorrect VS X5

Postby BrianCee » Tue May 14, 2013 7:49 am

Are you using the "Import Digital Media" option and Is the folder you are selecting a "Video_TS" folder on the DVD ?

have you carefully followed the procedure detailed by Trevor in this very recent topic :-

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=50645


:?:
My VideoStudio demo videos - https://www.youtube.com/user/MrBrianCee
BrianCee
 
Posts: 5479
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 1:04 pm
Location: London England UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 8GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP
Corel programs: VS X4,X5,X6,X7,X8, X9, X10

Re: The parameter is incorrect VS X5

Postby SheilaN » Tue May 14, 2013 4:02 pm

I followed Trevor's deetailed instructions carefully. When it gets to the point of importing the file into the timeline, or even the library, as I was doing before, the error message pops up "the parameter is incorrect." I'm wondering if there is a problem with the dvd. I have done this many times in the past and have never had this problem.

VSX5 has actually imported the files into a video folder on my computer, but when I try to put the files in the library, or timeline, I receive this message. I don't know what to do at this point.
SheilaN
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:55 pm
Location: Ohio USA
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel[R] Core[TM] 2 Duo CPU P7350 2.00GHz
ram: 4GB

Re: The parameter is incorrect VS X5

Postby Ken Berry » Tue May 14, 2013 7:48 pm

Two other things you could try... First, use Windows to copy the DVD to your hard disk, then try importing from that new folder.

Second, if that does not work, then simply change the .vob extension of the vob files in that folder to mpg, and try inserting them in VS. As you probably know, .vob files are just DVD-compatible mpeg-2 with a few extra tags embedded.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20491
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: The parameter is incorrect VS X5

Postby SheilaN » Sun May 19, 2013 8:36 pm

I had to use Prism Video File converter to convert the .vob files to .mpg files. Once I did that, I was able to pull the files into the library.

Thanks Ken for that suggestion.

Sheila
SheilaN
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 7:55 pm
Location: Ohio USA
operating_system: Vista Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel[R] Core[TM] 2 Duo CPU P7350 2.00GHz
ram: 4GB

Re: The parameter is incorrect VS X5

Postby lata » Mon May 20, 2013 8:09 am

Hi Sheila

Can we assume this is the same video file that caused the transition problem in your other post,
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=50707&p=269962#p269962

if so it would again indicate a corrupt Mpeg2 file?
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10665
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: The parameter is incorrect VS X5

Postby Deanerama » Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:51 am

I have the exact same issue with version X9. It will import/convert the DVD, but then it fails on timeline import. Also, for every DVD I converted, the converted files drop a few seconds of video every 30 seconds or so. I did what Sheila suggested above and just purchased the Prism Video File converter. I experienced this behavior with several different DVD so it has nothing to do with corrupted MPEG2 files. Also if the DVD MPEG2 was corrupt, it wouldn't convert flawlessly with Prism.
Deanerama
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:26 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: The parameter is incorrect VS X5

Postby SteveMartinUSA » Fri Oct 12, 2018 4:47 pm

Yep, this happens with certain MOV files off my girlfriend's iPhone, in x10 and again in 2018. I can convert the files using other software and my TV will play those files without any conversion. What's up Corel!
SteveMartinUSA
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:23 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
Corel programs: Corel


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests