NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby tletter » Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:49 pm

Openshot (freeware NLE video editor) can take this 8504x2160 panoramic photo and easily produce the expected high quality 4K video as output (see https://youtu.be/ZO6DqxrlR3c). It's hard to understand why VS can't do this but it can't since at least X6.

In any event, I'd suggest trying Openshot if you want to produce a video clip using P&Z on a large panoramic photo. Also since Openshot is a full featured NLE video editor, it may be able to overcome other shortcomings in VS.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby asik1 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 8:00 am

tletter wrote:Openshot (freeware NLE video editor) can take this 8504x2160 panoramic photo and easily produce the expected high quality 4K video as output (see https://youtu.be/ZO6DqxrlR3c). It's hard to understand why VS can't do this but it can't since at least X6.

In any event, I'd suggest trying Openshot if you want to produce a video clip using P&Z on a large panoramic photo. Also since Openshot is a full featured NLE video editor, it may be able to overcome other shortcomings in VS.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter

I tested Openshot more than a year ago. and found other things I didn't like.
Why didn't you cropped the upper blue band from the pan?

**You should also take a peek at https://www.shotcut.org/blog/ that has portable version.
User avatar
asik1
 
Posts: 2613
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:07 am
Location: Israel
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: H170M-E D3
processor: i5-6600
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ENGT430
Hard_Drive_Capacity: No hoarder
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 19" + samsung 19"
Corel programs: VS-X9.2

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby tletter » Wed Aug 08, 2018 1:17 pm

asik1 wrote:I tested Openshot more than a year ago. and found other things I didn't like.

Undoubtedly but unfortunately Corel isn't spending much effort on fixing longstanding bugs in VS including those associated with rendering which make rendering hit and miss.

asik1 wrote:Why didn't you cropped the upper blue band from the pan?

I added the border to avoid stretching as the source photo was not 2160 px high.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018, 2019

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby mangurian » Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:30 pm

asik1 wrote:yes, place it as overlay and set it to original size.


I am using VS Ultimate 2018. I placed the photo on the overlay track.
I can't find any place to set it to "original size."

Any help ?

Thanks,
mangurian
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
Location: Connecticut USA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby asik1 » Sat Aug 11, 2018 5:35 pm

mangurian wrote:
asik1 wrote:yes, place it as overlay and set it to original size.


I am using VS Ultimate 2018. I placed the photo on the overlay track.
I can't find any place to set it to "original size."

Any help ?

Thanks,

In my VS X9 it's in mouse right click
User avatar
asik1
 
Posts: 2613
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:07 am
Location: Israel
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: H170M-E D3
processor: i5-6600
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ENGT430
Hard_Drive_Capacity: No hoarder
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Philips 19" + samsung 19"
Corel programs: VS-X9.2

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby lata » Sat Aug 11, 2018 6:28 pm

Mangurian

1 / Insert the image to the overlay track
2 / With the clip selected on the overlay track
3 / Right click the “preview screen” for size / anchor options.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10911
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: pan an image larger than the video dimensions ?

Postby mangurian » Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:13 pm

lata wrote:Mangurian

1 / Insert the image to the overlay track
2 / With the clip selected on the overlay track
3 / Right click the “preview screen” for size / anchor options.



Thanks - got it.
mangurian
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:54 am
Location: Connecticut USA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: MSI IONA 1.0
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i5 650
ram: 8 Gig
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 230
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2 T

PreviousNext

Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dbz2000 and 14 guests