NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Slapierre » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:07 am

So it seems that VS is using the proxy files when rendering videos..

I just deleted my proxy files and re-rendered my video and it came out crystal clear (4k) instead of pixelated.

Anyone else experienced this, any way to correct this issue? I guess I could use the proxy files until final use but it seems a bit messed up.
Slapierre
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:42 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 3.80 AMD
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: GT1060
sound_card: OnBoard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Saint Raym
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ GL2460
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2018

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Jan » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:01 am

Since installing service pack 3 I have got exactly the same problem. All my rendered videos in 4K are terribly pixelated and totally unusable. At least you seem to have found the origin of the problem and a workaround : CVS 2018 sp3 is now using the low definition proxy files for rendering instead of the original 4K files.
Apart from not using proxy files (or deleting them before rendering) I can't see any other solution. How is it possible that Corel didn't notice this major bug when releasing sp3. Hopefully Corel will correct this very very soon!
Jan
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:38 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK MAXIMUS IX HERO
processor: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6.5 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung TV 40" 1920 x 1080
Corel programs: Corel VideoStudio 2018 sp3

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby lata » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:17 am

Jan wrote:Since installing service pack 3 I have got exactly the same problem. All my rendered videos in 4K are terribly pixelated and totally unusable. At least you seem to have found the origin of the problem and a workaround : CVS 2018 sp3 is now using the low definition proxy files for rendering instead of the original 4K files.
Apart from not using proxy files (or deleting them before rendering) I can't see any other solution. How is it possible that Corel didn't notice this major bug when releasing sp3. Hopefully Corel will correct this very very soon!


Hi
I doubt Corel know about this
have you informed Corel Support regarding this issue?

can you give more details
Your project properties
the properties of the video file
and what you select from Share to render the project.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10385
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Jan » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:37 pm

Hi Iata,

my project properties are identical to the original file and I am using the same properties for the rendering.
When using another definition for rendering, for instance 1920x 1080, same problem.

MEDIAINFO of original file :
General
Complete name : C:\Users\Jan\Desktop\2018-07-03 10-43-31.MP4
Format : XAVC
Codec ID : XAVC (XAVC/mp42/iso2)
File size : 87.1 MiB
Duration : 12 s 480 ms
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 58.6 Mb/s
Encoded date : UTC 2018-07-03 08:43:17
Tagged date : UTC 2018-07-03 08:43:17

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L5.1
Format settings : CABAC / 2 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, RefFrames : 2 frames
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 12 s 480 ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 56.1 Mb/s
Maximum bit rate : 60.0 Mb/s
Width : 3 840 pixels
Height : 2 160 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 25.000 FPS
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.270
Stream size : 84.5 MiB (97%)
Encoded date : UTC 2018-07-03 08:43:17
Tagged date : UTC 2018-07-03 08:43:17
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : xvYCC
Matrix coefficients : BT.709

Audio
ID : 2
Format : PCM
Format settings : Big / Signed
Codec ID : twos
Duration : 12 s 480 ms
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 536 kb/s
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Stream size : 2.29 MiB (3%)
Encoded date : UTC 2018-07-03 08:43:17
Tagged date : UTC 2018-07-03 08:43:17

Other
Type : meta
Duration : 12 s 480 ms


The MEDIAINFO from the rendered file is identical to the original :

General
Complete name : C:\Users\Jan\Desktop\Untitled2.mp4
Format : XAVC
Codec ID : XAVC (XAVC/mp42/iso2)
File size : 81.8 MiB
Duration : 12 s 480 ms
Overall bit rate mode : Variable
Overall bit rate : 55.0 Mb/s
Encoded date : UTC 2018-07-19 09:38:05
Tagged date : UTC 2018-07-19 09:38:05

Video
ID : 1
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L5.1
Format settings : CABAC / 2 Ref Frames
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, RefFrames : 2 frames
Format settings, GOP : M=1, N=12
Codec ID : avc1
Codec ID/Info : Advanced Video Coding
Duration : 12 s 480 ms
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 53.4 Mb/s
Maximum bit rate : 60.0 Mb/s
Width : 3 840 pixels
Height : 2 160 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate mode : Constant
Frame rate : 25.000 FPS
Standard : PAL
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Scan type : Progressive
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.258
Stream size : 79.5 MiB (97%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2018-07-19 09:38:05
Tagged date : UTC 2018-07-19 09:38:05
Color range : Limited
Color primaries : BT.709
Transfer characteristics : BT.709
Matrix coefficients : BT.709

Audio
ID : 2
Format : PCM
Format settings : Big / Signed
Codec ID : twos
Duration : 12 s 480 ms
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 1 536 kb/s
Channel(s) : 2 channels
Sampling rate : 48.0 kHz
Bit depth : 16 bits
Stream size : 2.29 MiB (3%)
Language : English
Encoded date : UTC 2018-07-19 09:38:05
Tagged date : UTC 2018-07-19 09:38:05




I still can render the files perfectly with CVS X10 and did as well with CVS 2018 ultimate, but then before installing sp3.

I didn't contact Corel support because from my former experiences I have learned they are not very efficient to correct their bugs and you can spend a lot of time before they even understand the problem. But maybe they are more efficient now?
Jan
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:38 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK MAXIMUS IX HERO
processor: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6.5 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung TV 40" 1920 x 1080
Corel programs: Corel VideoStudio 2018 sp3

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby tletter » Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:24 pm

Jan wrote:Since installing service pack 3 I have got exactly the same problem. All my rendered videos in 4K are terribly pixelated and totally unusable. At least you seem to have found the origin of the problem and a workaround : CVS 2018 sp3 is now using the low definition proxy files for rendering instead of the original 4K files.
Apart from not using proxy files (or deleting them before rendering) I can't see any other solution. How is it possible that Corel didn't notice this major bug when releasing sp3. Hopefully Corel will correct this very very soon!


I'm making a 4K video and have tried the "same as first video clip" option in VS 2018 which sets the following properties for a Panasonic ZS100 4K MP4 clip (130,605 KB):

NTSC drop frame (29.97 fps)
MPEG-4 Files
24 bits, 3840 x 2160, 29.97 fps
Frame-based
H.264 High Profile Video: 105600 Kbps, 16:9
48000 Hz, 16 Bit, Stereo
MPEG AAC Audio: 128 Kbps


Unfortunately the resultant output by VS 2018 is 49,340 KB and it's grainy and low quality (36600 Kbps) so unusable. As suggested, I tried deleting the proxy file and rendering, the resultant output was usable so indeed VS2018 is using the proxy files to render and the output is horrible. VS X8 does not have this obvious problem which is why I now use it to render.

This problem is probably related to the rendering problem identified in viewtopic.php?f=1&t=63989

lata wrote:I doubt Corel know about this

Then perhaps Corel ought to look at how they do regression testing before rolling out major SPs!

lata wrote:have you informed Corel Support regarding this issue?

Too bad Corel doesn't think it worthwhile to monitor issues being reported in this forum as it may provide them important insight into issues associated with their software.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby lata » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:04 pm

Hi
Corel do not visit these forums unless they are provided with details of problems and maybe sent a link to the post -- that means using Corel Support
The more people that do complain the better chance of a fix as Corel will see how widespread the problem is.

I have run a few tests and can confirm the quality issue, I also tried to save a project as backward compatible for X10, unfortunately that also failed to open in X10, yet another issue.
You guys could also try that option, cheers.

And yes I have forwarded my findings to Corel..............

Tletter, your video files are using 100Mb that as you know is above the default max of 65Mb
So introducing 100Mb will only compound the problem.
I assume if you use a lower rate Mpeg4 that you also see this quality problem.
Regards Trevor
User avatar
lata
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10385
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 6:21 am
Location: UK
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC A88XM-A USB 3 1 Rev X.0x
processor: 4.10 gigahertz AMD A10-7890K Radeon R7
ram: 16 gb
Video Card: on board
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 SSD
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG W2242 [Monitor]
Corel programs: Video Studio, PSP, PI X3, MS3D

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby tletter » Thu Jul 19, 2018 4:52 pm

lata wrote:Tletter, your video files are using 100Mb that as you know is above the default max of 65Mb

I assume that you are mixing file size with data rate since the max file size is not 65Mb. In any event, the "same as first video clip" option in VS 2018 sets the data rate as 105600 Kbps and not 65500 Kbps.

lata wrote:I assume if you use a lower rate Mpeg4 that you also see this quality problem.

As explained, the problem is resolved in VS 2018 if the proxy files are deleted. So it's not a data rate issue. Deleting the proxy files is not a practical solution and they need to be recreated to permit realistic editing performance.

lata wrote:So introducing 100Mb will only compound the problem.


X8 does not have a problem rendering these files so the problem is clearly with VS 2018 SP3. Fortunately I still have X8 available for use.

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Jan » Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:42 pm

Just for info, I explained precisely the problem to Corel support and was promptly asked for more information, not as you could have expected about the bug itself which can however easely be reproduced, but about the config of my PC, asking to use their audit program which would give them more insight in my PC and its contents. I politely refused as it has obviously nothing to do with my PC and CVS 2018 which were both working very well before installing their service pack 3. So, at least, they are now aware of this major bug (I love Iata's understatement : "quality issue") they introduced in their software and hopefully they are already working hard to resolve it very fast. In french we say "L'espoir fait vivre"...
Jan
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:38 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK MAXIMUS IX HERO
processor: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6.5 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung TV 40" 1920 x 1080
Corel programs: Corel VideoStudio 2018 sp3

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Slapierre » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:38 pm

I tried restoring the proxy files after rendering a video, so I could still edit with not much problem, they arent linked anymore.

So basically, once you delete/move the proxy files VS don't recognize them back.

I hope they will fix this soon.
Slapierre
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:42 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 3.80 AMD
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: GT1060
sound_card: OnBoard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Saint Raym
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ GL2460
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2018

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Ken Berry » Thu Jul 19, 2018 7:38 pm

Jan wrote:In french we say "L'espoir fait vivre"...


...And we say much the same in English: "We live in hope..."! :wink:
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20268
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby tletter » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:07 pm

Slapierre wrote:So basically, once you delete/move the proxy files VS don't recognize them back.

If you want this to work, then I assume you should save a copy of the VSP before moving the proxy files; move the files; render your project; exit VS; move the files back; and reopen the saved VSP file. This is onerous but should work.

Jan wrote:I explained precisely the problem to Corel support and was promptly asked for more information ... about the config of my PC, asking to use their audit program which would give them more insight in my PC and its contents ... I politely refused

Sounds like standard 1st level support that attempts to point the finger at another program or the OS in hopes that the client will give up in frustration. Sounds like it worked :)

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter
tletter
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 12:23 am
Location: Canada
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: i7-3632QM 2.2 GHz
ram: 16GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Corel programs: X4, X5, X6, X7, X8, X9, X10, 2018

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Jan » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:13 pm

Ken Berry wrote:
Jan wrote:In french we say "L'espoir fait vivre"...


...And we say much the same in English: "We live in hope..."! :wink:

Nice to hear of you again, Ken, after this years...How about your Flemish ?
Jan
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:38 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK MAXIMUS IX HERO
processor: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6.5 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung TV 40" 1920 x 1080
Corel programs: Corel VideoStudio 2018 sp3

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Jan » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:21 pm

tletter wrote:
Slapierre wrote:So basically, once you delete/move the proxy files VS don't recognize them back.

If you want this to work, then I assume you should save a copy of the VSP before moving the proxy files; move the files; render your project; exit VS; move the files back; and reopen the saved VSP file. This is onerous but should work.

Jan wrote:I explained precisely the problem to Corel support and was promptly asked for more information ... about the config of my PC, asking to use their audit program which would give them more insight in my PC and its contents ... I politely refused

Sounds like standard 1st level support that attempts to point the finger at another program or the OS in hopes that the client will give up in frustration. Sounds like it worked :)

tletter
https://www.youtube.com/user/tletter


No, fortunately it didn't. This was my answer to Corel :

"Thanks for your help but my problem has nothing to do with the config of my PC. Try on *any* PC to render a 4K video file with Corel VideoStudio 2018 after updating to Corel’s recent Service Pack 3 and you will assess by yourself that the result is unusable and horrible. Many users are experiencing the same problem since updating to service pack 3. The problem is easy to reproduce on any PC but only Corel can fix it.
It seems like a major bug in Corel’s service pack 3 which is now using the low resolution proxy files instead of the original UHD 4K files to generate the rendered file.
If necessary, please escalate this issue."
Jan
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 4:38 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK MAXIMUS IX HERO
processor: Intel Core i7-7700K 4.20GHz
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: ASUS NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6GB
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 6.5 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung TV 40" 1920 x 1080
Corel programs: Corel VideoStudio 2018 sp3

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Ken Berry » Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:03 pm

Jan wrote:Nice to hear of you again, Ken, after this years...How about your Flemish ?


Niet zo goed! :cry: :oops:
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20268
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: VS Using the proxy file instead of original?

Postby Slapierre » Thu Jul 19, 2018 11:17 pm

tletter wrote:
Slapierre wrote:So basically, once you delete/move the proxy files VS don't recognize them back.

If you want this to work, then I assume you should save a copy of the VSP before moving the proxy files; move the files; render your project; exit VS; move the files back; and reopen the saved VSP file. This is onerous but should work.


Yep indeed but it's too late now haha.

I'll keep faith corel will attend to this before my next project :roll:
Slapierre
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:42 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: 3.80 AMD
ram: 8Gb
Video Card: GT1060
sound_card: OnBoard
Hard_Drive_Capacity: Saint Raym
Monitor/Display Make & Model: BenQ GL2460
Corel programs: Corel Videostudio 2018

Next

Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests