NEW! PaintShop Pro 2019

Conflict of interest

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby wstagner » Wed Feb 28, 2018 12:03 am

Agreed....that's why I prefer win7...I run that on my editing machines. :)

But, whomever broke PD/VS coxistance should fix that ASAP. :?
wstagner
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Illinois, USA.
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby Ken Berry » Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:06 am

I bit the bullet and installed VM, and then Win 10. That was less of a hassle than I had expected. Once VM detected it was running already on Win 10, it did what it called an "Easy Install" on the VM Player. This took only about 20 minutes, which is about 3 hours shorter than a usual install of Win 10. It is now taking its time, however, in downloading and installing Win 10 updates.

Then I will have to learn how to install other programs on it, like PD 16. I have only ever played with VM once before many years ago, and that was when the 'virtual machine' concept was pretty new. I set it up just to see what it did, but then uninstalled it and never touched it again. So here's another learning curve.

And oh oh! First roadblock. It now says it can't install updates because there is no enough RAM. During the installation process I saw it was assigning 1 GB of RAM to the VM and wondered about that. But it never asked me to increase it, or indeed had any obvious way of doing so. (EDIT: found it!)
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20634
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2019; PSP 2019; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby wstagner » Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:42 am

I'm a vmware expert so feel free to ask questions.
I've assigned 3gb memory to my VMs. If there's insufficient physical ram it will page to disk.
wstagner
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Illinois, USA.
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby Ken Berry » Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:00 am

Thanks Walt. I increased the RAM, and found how to install programs (easy!) And now I have PD 16 happily working again... on the same computer as, but in a different virtual reality to, VS 2018... :lol: 8)

So at least I now have a go-to for comparisons between the two programs -- though like you and all the others, I'm hoping for a quick fix from either CyberLink or Corel or both! :roll:
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20634
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2019; PSP 2019; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby wstagner » Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:16 am

VMs are GRRRATE for testing, among other things.
I've even installed 32 bit versions of Win7 and Win10 so I can run a few "old" 16 bit programs that won't run in 64 bit o/s because MS left out the 16 bit subsystem.
wstagner
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Illinois, USA.
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby bjtap » Wed Feb 28, 2018 4:42 am

Maybe, just maybe I discovered a 'fix' for this problem.
I installed Videostudio 2018 FIRST, and then Power Director 16 after. It seems to have worked for me.
Note: I had just done a reset of Windows 10 so maybe that had something to do with it, but as of this post both programs are loading and working.
Barry
bjtap
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP 843B U3E1
processor: Intel Core i7 3.20GHz Coffee Lake 14nm Tec
ram: 12 GB
Video Card: Intel UHD Graphics 630 HP
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: over 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer LCD Monitor P201W
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2019 PaintShop Pro 2019

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby wstagner » Wed Feb 28, 2018 5:20 am

You see? That's another value of VMs. You could test stuff like this w/o disturbing your "working" system.
What do you mean "reset Windows 10"...you reinstalled it?

I too had PD15 installed before installing vs2018 on my Windoze 7 system, and after installing vs2018 is when it quit workin.

My win10 vm has only pd15 installed and it works fine. I suppose I could now install vs2018 in the vm and see if pd15 still works, but I think you're onto something here.

The thread about this topic in the Cyberlink forum is here: https://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/65431.page for those who are interested.

Thanks to all of those who are participating here. Is greatly appreciated. 8)
wstagner
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Illinois, USA.
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby Desertsweeper » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:26 am

Can someone who has this problem clear-and-save their Event Viewer App Log, restart the computer, try to Launch PowerDirector, observe the error and see if there is any error rported in the Event Viewer app log. If so post it here
Desertsweeper
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 9:35 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUS x99 WS10
processor: Intel Core i7-6850K
ram: 32GB
Video Card: nVidia Quadro P1000
sound_card: Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB NVMe
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 3 x ASUS 27" QHD Displays
Corel programs: VS 2018 Ultimate and Graphics X7

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby shinkaro » Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:43 am

To get an event in event viewer it is necessary to disable the cyberlink boomerang functionality.

The cyberlink boomerang functionality provides an xml crash report. I've added that here and also the event viewer event 1000 that is created after disabling the boomerang feature.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?>
<CrashInformation VERSION="5.0">
<ID Value="5E7385F5-E678-4ECF-9200-EE6DD7E482ED"/>
<UUID Value="S-1-5-21-3302290359-113264068-3804966454-1000-4B937C62-9CAD-4F2B-AEC6-A89BA35823AE"/>
<SR Value="VDE171213-07"/>
<ProductName Value="PowerDirector"/>
<AppName Value="PDR.exe"/>
<AppVersion Value="16.0.2524.0"/>
<VersionName Value="16.0"/>
<VersionType Value="Ultimate"/>
<Is64BitOS Value="1"/>
<OSName Value="Windows 10 Pro Build 16299"/>
<GDICount Value="28"/><VMSize Value="337 MB"/>
<RAMSize Value="16334 MB"/>
<VGAName Value="NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070" DriverVersion="23.21.13.9077"/>
<CPUName Value="Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz"/>
<ModName Value="PDR.exe"/><ModVersion Value="16.0.2524.0"/>
<ExceptionCode Value="0xC0000005"/><Offset Value="0x00000000001F54E3"/>
<SessionTime Value="8"/>
<MTBF Value="8"/>
<AbnormalTermCount Value="0"/>
<AppLanguage Value="ENU"/>
<ForceUpload Value="0"/>
<ProcessID Value="760"/>
<ThreadID Value="8024"/>
</CrashInformation>

Faulting application name: PDR.exe, version: 16.0.2524.0, time stamp: 0x5a68035a
Faulting module name: PDR.exe, version: 16.0.2524.0, time stamp: 0x5a68035a
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000001f54e3
Faulting process id: 0x3448
Faulting application start time: 0x01d3ab888b8fbecf
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDirector16\PDR.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDirector16\PDR.exe
Report Id: 1b683e85-706e-442c-a63a-eaf6bce87a1e
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID

<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<system>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2018-02-22T02:55:12.350429400Z" />
<EventRecordID>17283</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>4770K</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>PDR.exe</Data>
<Data>16.0.2524.0</Data>
<Data>5a68035a</Data>
<Data>PDR.exe</Data>
<Data>16.0.2524.0</Data>
<Data>5a68035a</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00000000001f54e3</Data>
<Data>3448</Data>
<Data>01d3ab888b8fbecf</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDirector16\PDR.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDirector16\PDR.exe</Data>
<Data>1b683e85-706e-442c-a63a-eaf6bce87a1e</Data>
<Data />
<Data />
</EventData>
</Event>
shinkaro
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 11:29 am
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
processor: Intel 4770K
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
sound_card: Onboard Realtek
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: LG 23in LCD
Corel programs: VideoStudio, Paintshop Pro

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby bjtap » Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:36 am

Here is a reply directly from Cyberlink:

Hi Barry,

Thank you for you reply.

With reference to your query, after investigating, the issue also happens when using software developing tool “Graph Editor” without PowerDirector installed. To avoid the error of Corel Video Studio Ultimate 2018 affects PowerDirector users, we have found a solution to workaround the issue. The solution would be implemented in the next patch.

It is suggested to follow the steps below to replace the module manually as the temp solution.

1. Depend on your OS version, download the file CLDVinf.ax from one of the links below. If your Windows is 64bit version, download the 64bit version module. If your Windows is 32bit version, download the 32bit version module. Extract the downloaded file CLDVinf.zip, you can find the module CLDVinf.ax.

64bit: http://download.cyberlink.com/ftpdload/ ... LDVinf.zip
32bit: http://download.cyberlink.com/ftpdload/ ... LDVinf.zip

2. Browse the below folder on your PC

C:Program Files\CyberLink\PowerDirector16\runtime\recordingPack

3. Find the file CLDVinf.ax in the folder and rename the file as the backup.
4. Copy the downloaded CLDVinf.ax to the same folder.
5. Launch PowerDirector to check again.
bjtap
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP 843B U3E1
processor: Intel Core i7 3.20GHz Coffee Lake 14nm Tec
ram: 12 GB
Video Card: Intel UHD Graphics 630 HP
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: over 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer LCD Monitor P201W
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2019 PaintShop Pro 2019

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby Ken Berry » Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:43 am

Well that was a quick and easy solution! And it works!! At least for PD 16. Presumably you would have to add the same file to PD 15 to get that to work too.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20634
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2019; PSP 2019; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby bjtap » Fri Mar 02, 2018 12:47 am

Hey Ken,
What took you so long to try out the solution???
(sarcasm here)
bjtap
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP 843B U3E1
processor: Intel Core i7 3.20GHz Coffee Lake 14nm Tec
ram: 12 GB
Video Card: Intel UHD Graphics 630 HP
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: over 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer LCD Monitor P201W
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2019 PaintShop Pro 2019

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby wstagner » Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:07 am

Same location for Win7 or is this just win10?
wstagner
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:29 pm
Location: Illinois, USA.
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Gigabyte Ga-p43-es3g
processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66 GHz
ram: 8gb
Video Card: ATI Radion HD4300 4500 series
sound_card: ATI High Definition Realtek ALC888 codec
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Asus VH242H 24" 1920x1024 screen.

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby bjtap » Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:09 am

I don't know because I told Cyberlink support I had Windows 10 and I assume they replied with that in mind. Now I assume you have Windows 7 and can only suggest you try to find that location or do a search for that file's location.
bjtap
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 4:33 pm
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: HP 843B U3E1
processor: Intel Core i7 3.20GHz Coffee Lake 14nm Tec
ram: 12 GB
Video Card: Intel UHD Graphics 630 HP
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: over 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Acer LCD Monitor P201W
Corel programs: VideoStudio 2019 PaintShop Pro 2019

Re: Conflict of interest

Postby Ken Berry » Fri Mar 02, 2018 3:02 am

I can't believe it would be anywhere else but in the same folders in Program Files under Win 7.

Anyway, I have just opened another computer which had PD 15 on it. I used the file posted above in the same folder under PD 15. And now PD 15 also works.
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20634
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 16 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 32" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2019; PSP 2019; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

PreviousNext

Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests