NEW! Corel PaintShop Pro 2018

disk full, now X4 won't start

disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby hobiedude » Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:28 am

I think X4 is somehow creating temp files that gradually fill up the hard drive. Actually not so gradual: approx 3 GB in only a couple hours of editting.
X4 crashed this evening, then wouldn't start again. I noticed the HD was full. I deleted 3 GB worth of microsoft stuff I wouldn't be using. X4 would then start, and I continued on editting, till it crashed again. Now the HD is full again, so I assume there is 3GB worth of stuff created since the last crash.

Has anyone else had this prob? What is the solution? I have a 60 GB main HD where windows lives, and another 1000GB drive where all my videos live.

I am many hours into a project and am hoping to continue where I left off...

SO the question is: are there files created by X4 that can be safely deleted, even before the end of the project?

Thanks
Bill
hobiedude
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:10 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1060 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung

Re: disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby Ron P. » Sun Aug 28, 2011 11:21 am

Welcome to the forums, :)

Check in the Preferences dialog (Settings>Preferences, just press F6 on your keyboard), to see if you're using Smart Proxy. If so this could be what's happening. VS will create Proxy files to be used while editing. This is for slower machines, while trying to edit the more demanding hi-def files. If your computer is powerful enough, you may not need to use Smart Proxy.


Moving this to the VideoStudio Forum.
Ron Petersen, Web Board Administrator
User avatar
Ron P.
Site Admin
 
Posts: 12198
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 12:45 am
Location: Kansas, USA
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Hewlett-Packard 2AF3 1.0
processor: 3.40 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4770
ram: 16GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645
sound_card: NVIDIA High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 4TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 1-HP 27" IPS, 1-Sanyo 21" TV/Monitor
Corel programs: VS5,8.9,10-X5,PSP9-X8,CDGS-9,X4,Painter

Re: disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby Trevor Andrew » Sun Aug 28, 2011 11:59 am

Hi

Operating systems do use a lot of memory, 60 Gb for the C:Drive may be on the small size???

In addition the Smart Proxy folder is by default on the C:Drive
View Settings – Smart Proxy Manager – Settings…here you can allocate the 1000Gb drive to as your Proxy Folder location.

Working FolderThis is also on the C:drive but can be re-allocated to the 1000Gb drive

There is also a separate Working Folder as part of the Burner Module ( Share Create Disc)
Yes you guessed it………..and this one may have large temporary files when creating the disc.
Trevor Andrew
 

Re: disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby hobiedude » Sun Aug 28, 2011 3:38 pm

Thanks for the quick replies!

Is there a way to manually find and delete the proxy files, without starting X4?
Because I still need to clear up enough disk space so the X4 will start,
then I can go to the setting>preferences> to change to the 1000 GB disk for the proxy files.

Thanks
Bill
hobiedude
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:10 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1060 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung

Re: disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby Trevor Andrew » Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:36 pm

Hi Bill

I use XP, the proxy files are here, I assume W7 uses a similar location……..
C:\Documents and Settings\User Name\My Documents\Corel VideoStudio Pro\14.0\SmartProxy

The proxy files will have an extension as *.UPX

You should also empty your “Re-Cycle bin”

Even so a 60 Gb limit for your C: Drive seems small to me.
Trevor Andrew
 

Re: disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby hobiedude » Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:22 am

Thanks for the post Trevor. I'll look for those files.
I have Windows 7, though, and the file structure doesn't look the same as your example.

In the meantime, it just keeps getting weirder...

This morning, after looking all through my c: drive, I noticed that I now had 3GB of free disk space. This is where I had 145k (yes thats k) last night. I swear I ddin't delete a thing, and suddenly I have this big space. So X4 started ok, and I went to preferences> and turned off the proxy file thing, and set the working folder to a folder on the E: drive, the 1000GB one. I thought I solved it and have been happily editting for an hour or two, and now I went to save and I can't access the C: because it is full. aaaahhh!
deep breaths, and I'll look again later...

Thnaks again,
Bill

p.s., Hey, Corel: I vote for a program that has way less features, but is bulletproof and well tested...
hobiedude
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:10 am
operating_system: Windows 7 Professional
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
ram: 4 GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 1060 GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Samsung

Re: disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby Ken Berry » Mon Aug 29, 2011 12:36 am

I have Windows 7, though, and the file structure doesn't look the same as your example.

In Win 7, the proxy files are in exactly the same place Trevor indicated: Documents > Corel Video Studio Pro > 14.0 > Proxy Files.

And for the record, proxy files are automatically erased when you turn off your computer and reboot. At least they are supposed to be...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20029
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17

Re: disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby Trevor Andrew » Mon Aug 29, 2011 10:24 am

Hi Ken

All my proxy files remain intact until I remove them either manually via internet explorer or via the Proxy Manager.

Bill
I do no know how much spare capacity you need to run the operating system effectively,
But 3Gb spare capacity on your C:Drive just doesn’t seem enough to me.
I am no expert and hopefully others will comment on this matter?
Trevor Andrew
 

Re: disk full, now X4 won't start

Postby Ken Berry » Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:45 am

All my proxy files remain intact until I remove them either manually via internet explorer or via the Proxy Manager.


I confess I don't know personally as I simply don't use proxy files. But we have had users complaining that they lose their proxy files each time they reboot and have to start all over again each time...
Ken Berry
User avatar
Ken Berry
Site Admin
 
Posts: 20029
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2004 9:36 pm
Location: Levin, New Zealand
operating_system: Windows 10
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel NUC7i7BNB J31145-306
processor: Core i7-7567U + 32 GB Optane
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: Intel Iris Plus 650
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Kogan 28" 4K 3840 x 2160
Corel programs: VS 2018; PSP 2018; MS3D; ASP 3; DRAW 17


Return to VideoStudio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests