How To Create a Watermark

Corel Paint Shop Pro

Moderator: trueblue

How To Create a Watermark

Postby Loy on Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:44 am

I am trying to create a visible watermark to apply to pictures. Does anyone know how to create one to use in Paintshop Pro X4 Ultimate? I know how to apply one but I'm uncertain on how to make the actual watermark.
Loy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:08 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Dell Inc. 0YD479
processor: 1.87 gigahertz Intel Core Duo
ram: 2GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 250GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ATI Mobility Radeon X1400

Re: How To Create a Watermark

Postby LeviFiction on Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:48 pm

A watermark is nothing more than an image that you make.

So make any image you want, use any images or text, whatever it's your watermark, then save it as a PNG (especially if you want transparency on it). You say you know how to apply it but just to make sure there are two common ways.

1) Open the image and copy it onto its own layer on top of the current image and set the transparency and blend mode of the watermark layer to whatever you want it to be.

or

2) Use the Watermark command and follow its settings for applying the watermark.

Very simple. There is really nothing special to watermarks other than the fact that it's something you have made yourself.
LeviFiction
Advisor
 
Posts: 3305
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:07 pm
Location: USA
operating_system: Windows 8 Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. K52F 1.0
processor: 2.53 gigahertz Intel Core i5 M 460
ram: 4GB
Video Card: Intel[R] HD Graphics
sound_card: Conexant SmartAudio HD
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500GB

Re: How To Create a Watermark

Postby Loy on Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:10 pm

Levi,

So I created a 4x6 image and inserted just text to keep it simple. Now to getting the watermark on the picture. Your option 1 below works just fine the only thing is that I have to go back and resize the watermark picture to make it look right on the picture. option 2 below does not work. I can get the file to pull-up just fine and can even see it in the sample window but, I cannot get the thing to show up on the image anywhere and it seems to freeze-up the program because then I can't select OK or Cancel to get out of it. I have to shut the whole program down just to get out of it. Is there something I'm over looking?
Loy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:08 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Dell Inc. 0YD479
processor: 1.87 gigahertz Intel Core Duo
ram: 2GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 250GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ATI Mobility Radeon X1400

Re: How To Create a Watermark

Postby brucet on Tue Jun 05, 2012 1:18 am

I created a watermark. (Text on a transparent background). I saved it as a PSP file. As most of my files are the same pixel size I saved the 'water mark' file at the size I wanted it to be on most of my files.
Then the very last thing I do to is load the 'water mark' file. Copy. Then paste as a new layer on my work file. Then I can adjust the opacity, size and location to suit.
If need be the file can be saved as a PSP file thus retaining the layers or merge the layers and save as a tiff or jpeg. I adjust opacity because each file is different and some files don't need as much opacity.
I find this far more flexible than using PSP's watermark function.

regards
brucet
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:37 am
Location: Australia
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: How To Create a Watermark

Postby Loy on Tue Jun 05, 2012 6:13 pm

Thanks Brucet! I'll give that a try.
Loy
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:08 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: Dell Inc. 0YD479
processor: 1.87 gigahertz Intel Core Duo
ram: 2GB
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 250GB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: ATI Mobility Radeon X1400

Re: How To Create a Watermark

Postby teknisyan on Tue Jun 05, 2012 8:19 pm

You can follow this tutorial that I created for PSP X2... you can still apply it to newer version of PSP.

http://abielonline.blogspot.com/2009/10 ... hotos.html
Like reading blogs?
About Tech
About Sports
Pnoy.Me - A URL Shortener
Follow me on Facebook & Twitter
User avatar
teknisyan
 
Posts: 2424
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 4:18 pm
Location: Riyadh, KSA
operating_system: Windows 7 Home Premium
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Sony Corporation VAIO
processor: Intel Corel i5
ram: 4 GB
Video Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650
sound_card: Realtek HD Audio
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 500 GB


Return to Paint Shop Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 14 guests