zText

AfterShot Pro Plugins

Re: zText 2.1.0 Info-Popup freezes ASP

Postby derouyag on Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:43 pm

maggus wrote:
(2) This is more important. Have you ever clicked the help/info button ("?") within zText ?
When I do so I get the popup-window with your infos and donate .... then I cklick close/Ok ... and then ASP is frozen (not taking any CPU, just idle) !
Prozess table (within SystemMonitor) still shows "zFrame 2.1.0" as window title ... but I do not have zFrame installed !
O.K., the text is not the real issue, but ASP needs to be killed afterwards.
In the attached ZIP you´ll find the AspLog as well as my SystemInfo.



Hello,

Works fine on my Windows 7 64bit Ultimate. (zText, zFrame, zShadow, zPerspector, zBlur :-) )

Gordon.
derouyag
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 6:58 pm
operating_system: Windows 7 Ultimate
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
processor: Intel Core2 Quad CPU Q6700 2.66GHz
ram: 8GB
Video Card: NVidia GeForce 8800 GT
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 11TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: HP w2408h (Dual)

Re: zText

Postby maggus on Sat Feb 18, 2012 1:43 pm

tintin wrote:
maggus wrote:(2) YES, tried with zPerspector & zChannelMixer ... same issue of frozen ASP after info <?> popup.

do you have an example that not freezes? zFrame? zShadow?


Hi tin.tin,

bad news .... after I installed zFrame and zShadow I also tested these ... and they freeze the same way as the other zXxx plugins.
And now I also did a test on all the other plugins which provide a popup dialog for <?>/<Info>.
  • Bez 1.0.0
  • ColorEqualizer
  • TypeWriter 0.0.3
  • ZonePreview
  • Black & White
all of them open their popup, and when I close it ASP is still alive !?
One small (but maybe important) difference to the other plugins is that your popup window has NO titlebar/frame/decorations/... but all the others have ?!
From my experience I would say: should not matter ....

I see abs. no logging about the activities regarding the <?> info popup ... maybe it could help to create a debug-version of one of your plugins with detailed logging in these parts ?

cheers
Markus
OpenSuse 11.4 (32bit)
Dell U2410
User avatar
maggus
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:51 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: B
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: zText

Postby dFlyer on Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:48 pm

maggus wrote:
tintin wrote:
maggus wrote:(2) YES, tried with zPerspector & zChannelMixer ... same issue of frozen ASP after info <?> popup.

do you have an example that not freezes? zFrame? zShadow?


Hi tin.tin,

bad news .... after I installed zFrame and zShadow I also tested these ... and they freeze the same way as the other zXxx plugins.
And now I also did a test on all the other plugins which provide a popup dialog for <?>/<Info>.
  • Bez 1.0.0
  • ColorEqualizer
  • TypeWriter 0.0.3
  • ZonePreview
  • Black & White
all of them open their popup, and when I close it ASP is still alive !?
One small (but maybe important) difference to the other plugins is that your popup window has NO titlebar/frame/decorations/... but all the others have ?!
From my experience I would say: should not matter ....

I see abs. no logging about the activities regarding the <?> info popup ... maybe it could help to create a debug-version of one of your plugins with detailed logging in these parts ?

cheers
Markus

Strange, I just tested all your plugins on Ubuntu 11.10 32bit and didn't have any freeze up. They all seem to be working fine.
Thanks.
Gary Garibaldi
Linux since 96
Sony a700
Sony a100
dFlyer
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 3:18 pm
Location: Sevierville, Tennessee
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: N/A
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: zText

Postby FotoLars on Sat Feb 18, 2012 2:54 pm

Hi!

I have encountered the same effect over here as Maggus does, on my Mandriva linux 2011.0, 64-bit edition.
ASP it started with -graphicssystem raster switch, as it really speeds cropping up (with a factor 100 or so...) - but that does not seems to affect the problem described above.

These Info buttons cause an "ASP still alive but unresponsive" condition:
zPerspector
zText
zFrame
zShadow
zChannelMixer

All other plugins which have a ?, Info button, etc, are OK.


Cheers,

Lars Nilsson,
Lund, Sweden
FotoLars
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:58 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: X
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
processor: Intel QuadCore Q6700
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro NVS 295
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 2xDell 30", 5120x1600 (2x2560x1600)

Re: zText

Postby thufor on Sat Feb 18, 2012 4:44 pm

I can reproduce it too on Fedora 16 64bit. Example last log entries when I clicked "?" in zChannelMixer:

51191.340: FIXME: SettingsReceiver::buttonClick
51191.340: Button zcmAbout clicked.
thufor
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:40 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: B
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: zText

Postby ferdinand-paris on Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:32 pm

I don't pretend to understand this fully, but when I was porting Bez to ASP I looked at other plugins (as much as I could) and noticed some variations in how this was done. I made some posts in the 5.1 plugin developers forum about some of them.

1. You want to use QPushButton rather than QToolButton, otherwise it won't look like a button (without using a style sheet).

2. As you need to create your own slot connections for buttons, then you don't need code like this in the .ui:

Code: Select all
  <connection>
   <sender>zcmAbout_button</sender>
   <signal>clicked()</signal>
   <receiver>zChannelMixer_form</receiver>
   <slot>buttonClick()</slot>
   <hints>
    <hint type="sourcelabel">
     <x>267</x>
     <y>14</y>
    </hint>
    <hint type="destinationlabel">
     <x>292</x>
     <y>16</y>
    </hint>
   </hints>
  </connection>


#2 may or may not explain the freezes, but I think it does explain those log entries, which I thought were harmless.

As I said, I don't pretend to understand this fully.

F_P
ferdinand-paris
 
Posts: 186
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2012 4:37 am
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: C
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit
motherboard: GA-X58A-UD3R
processor: 3.20 gigahertz Intel Core i7 960
ram: 4Gb
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GS
sound_card: Realtek High Definition Audio on-board
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 2500 Gb
Monitor/Display Make & Model: Eizo CG222W

Re: zText

Postby thufor on Sat Feb 18, 2012 7:01 pm

I noticed one more thing: the window manager thinks that the "About" window still exists, at least to some degree. KDE window manager still lists the window when Alt+Tab is used to switch windows and even highlights "ghost lines" when the dialog existed. Looks like something is not quite released/destroyed and so flow is not returned to ASP, whereas window has all but disappeared from the screen...?
thufor
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:40 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: B
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit

Re: zText

Postby tintin on Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:52 am

ok,
thanks for all your inputs. i'll try to see what might be done to fix this issue.

br,
tintin
my plugins on the official plugins homepage
If you find my plugins helpful, please make a donation to support further developments - just click here, thank you!
tintin
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:45 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: B

Re: zText

Postby tintin on Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:26 am

hi,

i just had a look to my code and re-arranged some stuff internally regarding the about-dialog.
maggus and FotoLars, could you test if this update still freezes ASP after closing the dialog, please?
zText_2.1.1_WL.zip
WITHOUT WARRANTY - see also DISCLAIMER in ABOUT DIALOG by clicking the '?' in the plugins user interface
(105.69 KiB) Downloaded 125 times

thanks a lot!
tintin
my plugins on the official plugins homepage
If you find my plugins helpful, please make a donation to support further developments - just click here, thank you!
tintin
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:45 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: B

Re: zText

Postby maggus on Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:16 am

Hi tin.tin,

just did a rough test with 2.1.1.
Issue still there !
Not sure if it helps, but here´s the end of the ASP-Log:
Code: Select all
56443.233: Adding master versions
56443.413: Adding master versions
56443.413: Scanning file  "/tmp/_markus_/foto/ASP-Test/raw_2/IMG_0255.CR2"
56443.425: Scanning file  "/tmp/_markus_/foto/ASP-Test/raw_2/IMG_1367.CR2"
56443.427: Scanning file  "/tmp/_markus_/foto/ASP-Test/raw_2/img_0086.cr2"
56444.429: CAQuest: Hotness Change
56444.429: CAQuest: SettingChanged Event
56444.430: Preset Now
56444.430: ----
56444.678: CAQuest: Settings Change
56444.678: CAQuest: SettingChanged Event
56444.678: Preset Now
56444.678: ----
56444.803: Extracting RAW data:  "/tmp/_markus_/foto/ASP-Test/raw_2/img_0086.cr2"
56444.844: Decoding RAW data:  "/tmp/_markus_/foto/ASP-Test/raw_2/img_0086.cr2"
56456.260: CAQuest: Control Change
56456.261: font
56456.349: CAQuest: Settings Change
56456.349: CAQuest: SettingChanged Event
56456.349: Preset Now
56456.350: ----
56472.297: zText about dialog before 'exec'


On the first start of ASP with this version I noticed the effect as afx described here. But was not able to reproduce in subsequent sessions ?!
When I close ASP, delete zText plugin, re-start ASP and install zText again (the former version), let ASP auto-restart, go to zText plugin tab .... then this can be reproduced (tab ist empty, moving mouse around fills with the UI elements). Close ASP, re-start ASP ... everything (except the freeze with the <?> button) is fine.
Strange !

Hellau
Markus
OpenSuse 11.4 (32bit)
Dell U2410
User avatar
maggus
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2012 2:51 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: B
32bit or 64bit: 32 Bit

Re: zText

Postby FotoLars on Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:14 am

Hi!

Yes, the issue is still present in my box, too.
The very end of my log looks exactly the same as maggus has shown.

Cheers,

Lars Nilsson
Lund, Sweden
FotoLars
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:58 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: X
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
processor: Intel QuadCore Q6700
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro NVS 295
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 2xDell 30", 5120x1600 (2x2560x1600)

Re: zText

Postby tintin on Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:54 pm

ok, thanks again.
according the .log file posted the dialog seems to be existing in the background after clicking close/ok. i'll try to set up another version for checking that.
i'm just wondering why this behaves different on different systems :?

br,
tintin
my plugins on the official plugins homepage
If you find my plugins helpful, please make a donation to support further developments - just click here, thank you!
tintin
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:45 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: B

Re: zText

Postby tintin on Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:07 pm

ok, another trial...
could you try this, please?
thanks,
tintin
Attachments
zText_2.1.2_WL.zip
WITHOUT WARRANTY - see also DISCLAIMER in ABOUT DIALOG by clicking the '?' in the plugins user interface
(105.67 KiB) Downloaded 102 times
my plugins on the official plugins homepage
If you find my plugins helpful, please make a donation to support further developments - just click here, thank you!
tintin
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:45 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: B

Re: zText

Postby FotoLars on Sun Feb 19, 2012 5:58 pm

Hi tintin,

Sorry to say so, but the ? button is still not working as expected. The info window pops up, but during closure of the windows the mouse arrow transforms into the dreaded hand which can't do anything.

The text that pops up mentions "zFrame - v2.1.0", not zText...

To get ASP into working order, one has to kill and restart...


Cheers,

Lars Nilsson
Lund, Sweden
FotoLars
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 11:58 am
operating_system: Linux
System_Drive: X
32bit or 64bit: 64 Bit
motherboard: Intel D975XBX2
processor: Intel QuadCore Q6700
ram: 8 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro NVS 295
Hard_Drive_Capacity: 8 TB
Monitor/Display Make & Model: 2xDell 30", 5120x1600 (2x2560x1600)

Re: zText

Postby tintin on Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:21 am

ok,
thanks a lot!
the 'zFrame' is a typo on my side...

one more question... when you click the close-button - does the dialog window disappear, or does it stay?
can you please send me your log-file additionally?

thank you,
tintin
my plugins on the official plugins homepage
If you find my plugins helpful, please make a donation to support further developments - just click here, thank you!
tintin
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 2:45 pm
operating_system: Windows XP Pro
System_Drive: B

PreviousNext

Return to AfterShot Pro Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests